#BookBlogWriMo2014

In 2010, I participated and “won” NaNoWriMo or the National Novel Writing Month. It is held every November where people who sign up for the challenge have to write at least 50,000 words. And not just any random words; write your own novel. A handful of books we know and love today are fruits of this very activity. Two of my absolute favorites are Water for Elephants by Sara Gruen and Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern. My entry was fan fiction. Yeah, whatever, I was so proud of it. It was in the Generation Kill genre and was very loosely based off Jane Eyre. Those two books, I read once every year so I’d like to think I know both of them inside and out. It was a very ambitious move on my part and in fairness, I did reach and pass 50,000 words. The thing is… three years later… it’s still not done. I got stuck literally after I reached 51,000 words. I was nearing the end of the story when I got a major case of Writer’s Block. Sigh. Sure, it’s a long-standing WIP but the main thing is, I conquered 50k and that was before November ended. I did attempt it another year, 2011 but I realized that my idea for that year would not reach the target word count. And I just did not have time to sit down and write at the end of a long day. I haven’t been writing fiction since. I’ve stuck with reading and this blogging thing… which is why this is a perfect idea! Let’s hear it from the creator herself, Brittany:

What is #BookBlogWriMo?

Basically, it’s a lax version of NaNoWriMo for book bloggers. I created prompts for each day, discussing different topics around books, blogging, and books + blogging. There’s no word count requirement, no daily writing requirement, very little requirements in general. Just post the posts on the day they should be posted! Your answers to the prompts can be as short or long as you like. I know that even though I came up with the topics, I know I’m not going to have a lot to say for some of them. Those posts will probably be a measly 250 words. Other days have topics I’m really passionate about, and those might end up being 1,000+ words. You can also write them whenever you want to. Hell, I’ve already started outlining some since I know November is going to be a busy month. You can write seven posts each Saturday. Hell, you can write all 30 posts tomorrow. As long as they’re posted on the right day, it’s all good.

Here’s the oh-so-fun schedule!

BookBlogWriMo Schedule

Visit BOOK BUMBLINGS to join the fun!

Just looking at this list makes me so excited! As you know, I love lists and surveys and memes. You can say they’re blog fillers but I don’t care. I blog faster than I can read and I’m not always inspired to write about something I either loved or hated. As much as I would love to participate in this year’s NaNoWriMo, it’s just impossible with my current schedule. Inspiration is not there at all; I’ll leave that to you, inspired ones. However, this challenge, I can do. I urge you to do the same. Let’s make a community out of it. I’m really thankful to those who read, like, and comment on my humble blog and I am curious to see your answers as well. Like that little button on the sidebar, I promise to comment if I have something to say. 🙂 What I’ll do is I’ll post the schedule in text after the jump. As I put up a post, I’ll update that list with links so you can keep up with the fun. I will also have a Category and Tag specifically for my entries, like with my Weeklies. If you decide to do this as well, please sign up at Book Bumblings and if you like, kindly leave a link to your blog here so I can keep up with you too. I’m looking forward to seeing your posts!

 Week 1

Week 2

Week 3

Week 4

Week 5

  • 11/29 – The Future of Your Blog Where do you think you’re going? Get in touch with your inner Miss Cleo.
  • 11/30 – #BookBlogWriMo Wrap Up Tell us what you thought of this “challenge!” It will be helpful in future planning. It’s also another chance to give your BookBlogWriMo posts some extra inbound links, and show some love to posts from other participants.

37 thoughts on “#BookBlogWriMo2014

  1. I am literally so excited to do this! I’ve already written the first week down in my notebook so later on I can get to work on them. I can’t wait to read your posts! 🙂 Love your blog, by the way! Very cute 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: #BookBlogWriMo Challenge |

  3. Pingback: #BookBlogWriMo2014 – Day One | Reading Good Books

  4. Pingback: #BookBlogWriMo2014 – Day Two | Reading Good Books

  5. Pingback: #BookBlogWriMo2014 – Day Three | Reading Good Books

  6. Pingback: #BookBlogWriMo2014 – Day Four | Reading Good Books

  7. Pingback: #BookBlogWriMo – Day Five | Reading Good Books

  8. Pingback: #BookBlogWriMo – Day Seven | Reading Good Books

  9. Pingback: #BOOKBLOGWRIMO2014 – Day Eight | Reading Good Books

  10. Pingback: #BOOKBLOGWRIMO2014 – Day Nine #blogflow | Reading Good Books

  11. Pingback: #BOOKBLOGWRIMO2014 – Day Ten | Reading Good Books

  12. Pingback: #BOOKBLOGWRIMO – Day Eleven #Top10Tuesday | Reading Good Books

  13. Pingback: #BOOKBLOGWRIMO – Day Twelve | Reading Good Books

  14. Pingback: #BOOKBLOGWRIMO – Day Thirteen | Reading Good Books

  15. Pingback: #BOOKBLOGWRIMO – Day Fourteen | Reading Good Books

  16. Pingback: #BOOKBLOGWRIMO – DAY FIFTEEN | Reading Good Books

  17. Pingback: #BOOKBLOGWRIMO – DAY SIXTEEN | Reading Good Books

  18. Pingback: #BOOKBLOGWRIMO – DAY SEVENTEEN | Reading Good Books

  19. Pingback: #BOOKBLOGWRIMO – DAY EIGHTEEN | Reading Good Books

  20. Pingback: #BOOKBLOGWRIMO – DAY TWENTY #TBT | Reading Good Books

  21. Pingback: #BOOKBLOGWRIMO – DAY TWENTY-ONE #FlashbackFriday | Reading Good Books

  22. Pingback: #BOOKBLOGWRIMO – DAY TWENTY-TWO #ShowMeYourShelves | Reading Good Books

  23. Pingback: #BOOKBLOGWRIMO – DAY TWENTY-THREE | Reading Good Books

  24. Pingback: #BOOKBLOGWRIMO – DAY TWENTY-FOUR | Reading Good Books

  25. Pingback: #BOOKBLOGWRIMO – DAY TWENTY-FIVE | Reading Good Books

  26. Pingback: #BOOKBLOGWRIMO – DAY TWENTY-SIX | Reading Good Books

  27. Pingback: #BOOKBLOGWRIMO – DAY TWENTY-SEVEN | Reading Good Books

  28. Pingback: #BOOKBLOGWRIMO – DAY TWENTY-EIGHT | Reading Good Books

  29. Pingback: #BOOKBLOGWRIMO – DAY TWENTY-NINE | Reading Good Books

  30. Pingback: #BOOKBLOGWRIMO – DAY THIRTY | Reading Good Books

  31. Pingback: Day Thirty of #BookBlogWriMo | Read? Read.

Thoughts?

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.