#BookBlogWriMo2014 – Day One

bannerfans_13959955

So it begins! Who’s excited? This girl. 😉

Where did October go? It flew by so fast. How was your Halloween? Who were you? LOL. I didn’t go all out because my brother and I went to the LA Convention Center to pick up our passes for… Comikaze Expo 2014! My brother and I are attending today and Sunday. I might post about it on my other blog once I’ve recovered. I was wearing my Hawkeye jacket though. 😉

Anyway, it’s BookBlogWriMo time. Click on the banner above for more information. I’m not taking part of this year’s NaNoWriMo; I won 2010 but never again lol. It took too much time and effort. But with this book blogging challenge, I get to take ideas off pre-listed prompts so that I can pre-schedule posts and have more time for other things. I won’t be abandoning my regular weeklies and reviews though. But do expect a daily offering under the BookBlogWriMo tag and category. I will update the introductory post as these ones come up. And the next ones won’t have a long and winding intro like this one. So without more ado, let’s begin!

11/1 – HISTORY OF YOUR BLOG.

Throwback! Here’s my first ever post on this humble book blog => Sticky postie!

Yay, three years ago. I wasn’t a blogging newbie but that was my first time doing a niche blog. Hopefully, if anything, the content and ideas improved since then LOL. It was around that time when my reading picked up and as much as I loved GoodReads, I had so much to say apart from “formal” and “structured” reviews – like discussions on bookish things, habits, reader’s guides, etc. – that I figured blogging is the way to go. But I didn’t want to put it in with my “anything goes” blog that is hosted on Blogger. I used WP.com before and I liked how user-friendly and visually appealing the free themes are.

I ended up with a lame (or at least that’s what I think of it) name for my lovely blog because I was sitting there, staring at WordPress.com and trying to think of a clever name but I had none. I had ideas as to what to put into the blog but no name. A friend once described me as “someone who reads good books” because most of the titles I recommended to her, she ended up liking them.

When I started, I only wanted an outlet for my book reviews outside GoodReads as well as my own space in the interwebs for bookish ideas. I had no huge aspirations; I didn’t want to be some authority on books or whatnot… although the thought of popularity is (still) welcome. I just want to share. To share what I like, what I think of books, my ideas, and to join the book loving community on the Internet. I don’t encounter a lot of book lovers in real life so I’m glad that I have this place to curl up and read a good book.

I did set up a Facebook page for this blog. But like I said above, I don’t care about the number of hits and followers I get. At the end of the day, I’m glad if one person found his/herself on my blog, read and post or two, and hopefully, find it entertaining and/or helpful. I’ve gotten messages from random readers thanking me for the recommendation, that my post urged them to check out a book that eventually became their favorite.  That makes it worth it for me. For that, I thank you.

4 thoughts on “#BookBlogWriMo2014 – Day One

  1. Pingback: #BookBlogWriMo2014 | Reading Good Books

  2. As to your name you have two keywords, so that’s pretty awesome. I’m with you in that I don’t have huge aspirations. It’s pretty amazing when even one stranger is interested in what you have to say. I also don’t have a lot of bookish friends, so book blogging is great.

    I love your header quote, BTW.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Pingback: CHANGE. | Reading Good Books

Thoughts?

