#BOOKBLOGWRIMO – Day Fourteen

bannerfans_13959955

11/14 – YOUR RATINGS SYSTEM

It couldn’t be any easier. It’s your normal everyday 5 out of 5 point system.

I’m a very quantitative person. I respond more to numbered ratings than pictorial charts or a wordy explanation as to why this book is good or bad. If I’m out and about at a bookstore and trying to decide on a book, I don’t have the time (or data and battery) to read the whole review. A numbered system is the shortest tl;dr review possible.

But I do give a bit of thought into it. I very rarely give a 1-star if I can help it. Unless it’s really awful and I can’t even finish it. And that one point is for the effort. I feel bad when I give something a negative review so even if the effort does deserve a negative, I think of it as the only good thing about that book. At the end of the day, s/he had the balls to publish something and I don’t. Heh.

I’m more generous with 5- and 4-star ratings. If I didn’t hate anything in the book, it’s a quick 4. If I loved it so darn much that I need to rush to the blog and write about it, it’s definitely a 5. Come to think of it, I think about 3-star ratings the most. I mull over the book more rather than relying on my immediate reactions. These books are those “just okay” or “nothing special” ones. Two stars are often the ones I don’t really care about.

So if you’re like me and you rely on the percentage on Rotten Tomatoes for your next movie date, numbered rating systems are for you. tl;dr – I really don’t care about my OWN ratings system. They’re immaterial to ME because I already read the work. However, I hope it is helpful to y’all. Because I know other people’s number ratings help ME.

2 thoughts on “#BOOKBLOGWRIMO – Day Fourteen

  1. Like you I find the middle of the road ratings the most difficult, I give mainly 4 & 5 stars and because of this giving a 3 in my mind means it was OK but it isn’t one I’d feel I had to discuss with others. 2 stars means it had something objectionable to me, usually inaccurate historical novels or two-dimensional characters. It is always interesting see how others rank their books.

    Like

  2. Pingback: #BookBlogWriMo2014 | Reading Good Books

Thoughts?

