TOP TEN TUESDAYS | As if I need to start another one

It seems that every book that is coming out in recent years is a part of a trilogy or series. Books have that annoying cliffhanger at the end where you have to wait a year or so to find out what happens. Some books are okay as stand alone titles but noooo… le author needs to be on that already overflowing trilogy bandwagon. At first, it was exciting. Right towards the end of the Harry Potter books and movies, it was something to look forward to. In came The Hunger Games, Divergent, and the first wave of dystopian YA fiction. Like a lot of you, I was intrigued and started on a good number of them. I’ve finished less than half of what I’ve started – see my rough listOh well. After a while though, it got a little tiring. Is there a stand alone left in this literary world?

But I have to admit, I just can’t get away from trilogies and series. Often, the first books are great. And they have to be in order for the audience to stay with the whole thing. Then the final book comes along. And it’s a total disappointment. But you cannot… not read the final book, right? I’m a sucker. Oh well, I’m not alone.

This week’s Top Ten Tuesday , we’re listing down the Top New Series I Want To Start (New..let’s say within the last year or two).

I’m not updated with the YA scene as many of you are so I’m ditching the “within the last year or two” bit. I’ll try to pick from non-YA books as well… if I can remember some. 😉  YA is a genre that one will most likely judge the book by its cover and if I went with that, I’ll list each and every book I see on the YA shelf. But no, I’ll be a bit smarter about this. I hope.

1. The Game Trilogy by Anders de la Motte.
I’m cheating a bit here because I’ve already read the first book. I’m liking it a lot. Swedish thrillers are great and I would love to read more. I have the second and third books waiting for me. It’s a different concept and I’m hoping that the next books will be as engaging as the first one.

2. Mortality Doctrine by James Dashner.
The Maze Runner is one of those trilogies where the story goes terribly downhill after the awesome opener. At least that’s what my brother told me (I haven’t read the next two books). Anyway, I saw this book at the James Dashner signing and the word “gamer” was in the blurb. I was instantly intrigued. I’ve yet to pick up a copy but I definitely have my eye on it.

3. Phaedre’s Trilogy by Jacqueline Carey.
You might know it as Kushiel’s Dart. I actually started reading it some months ago but when I saw how looooong each book was, I put it aside… in favor of another brick, Outlander. This was in a lot of year-end lists in 2013 that’s why I placed it on my TBR. My brother soldiered through it already and gave his stamp of approval.

4. The Dark Tower by Stephen King.
Yes, this is a confession. I am a Stephen King fan. But I have NOT read any Dark Tower books. I have, however, read The Little Sisters of Eluria. And I am familiar with the whole ‘verse that connects with other King books. I’ve always wanted to read this series. I just need the push.

5. Barsoom by Edgar Rice Burroughs.
Movie goers would know this as John Carter. I’ve been wanting to read this series ever since the movie came out. I was told it is leaps and bounds better than the film. I read a couple of pages and it looks like I will like it a lot.

6. Mara Dyer by Michelle Hodkin.
Everyone is raving about this book. EVERYONE. Plus it has a pretty cover. I admit, I haven’t even read what this is about but I’m not immune to peer pressure. After all, I finally gave in and read The Fault in Our Stars to disappointing results. This may not have the same level of hype so I’m keeping my options open.

7. Miss Marple by Agatha Christie.
I have the ITV series lying around somewhere. I haven’t actually read a whole Agatha Christie book; just bits and pieces back in our old high school library when I was hiding out during graduation practice. Mystery is my comfort genre and it seems that a lot of AG books are easy reads. I have no idea why I still haven’t picked one up. Maybe I should after posting this.

8. The Young Elites by Marie Lu.
I know she has another trilogy and that one was highly recommended by my cousin. However, when I looked that up, I was sidetracked by this “first in series” book. This one seemed more interesting to me. I might still go out and pick up the other series but I’ll definitely get to this first.

9. The Madman’s Daughter by Megan Shepherd.
Again with the pretty cover art and rave reviews from every reviewer and blogger that I trust. And it’s a very intriguing title as well.

10. Yu Yu Hakusho by Yoshihiro Togashi.
I watched the animated series and the full-length movies so many times that it’s a huge part of my childhood. However, I’ve not read the manga series. Yet. I have all of them. I have the readers capable of displaying them. But I’m still working through Rurouni Kenshin and The Walking Dead. It’s going to take some time but I’ll get to it eventually.

I’m not really good at reading a series in one go. I mean, for Outlander, I did barrel through the first four books but now, I’m barely halfway through the 5th one and I’ve been on that for almost a month. Same with A Song of Ice and Fire – I read books 1 to 3 back-to-back-to-back but I got tired halfway through the 4th. I still finished it but not as fast as the others. The halfway point is always tricky. Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix took me the longest to finish (2 whole days) and is my least favored from the bunch. But my favorite books in The Hunger Games trilogy and LOTR are the second ones.

Sometimes I want to read a standalone but I find myself coming back to series books. I guess it’s a good thing, too, if they make movies out of them. More stuff to look forward to and celebrities to fawn over. These are the times when I wish I read faster so I can go through more of these series.

3 thoughts on “TOP TEN TUESDAYS | As if I need to start another one

Thoughts?

