2018 PopSugar Reading Challenge

It’s making a comeback! I’m doing the PopSugar Reading Challenge again this year. Last year was a bit too crazy for me so I picked something else. This year, I saw this reading challenge master list. I looked through each of them and PopSugar’s seemed most interested to me. Sure, I also wanted to beat the backlist and finish series and read more diversely. I can also do those while mainly following these categories.

This year’s challenge consists of 40 main prompts. If you’re feeling confident, there are ten “advanced” categories. I’m only doing the main 40. That’s challenging enough for me.

As mentioned in my 2018 Reading Resolutions post, I will try my damn hardest to stick with the choices that I mention in this post. Now, I’m not saying that I will not change it when (1) I feel like it or (2) if I read another book that fits the bill. I will still do that. But I will be trying to construct my TBR to include books mentioned here. We have a whole year of new releases and who knows what else could happen. Also, I’m leaving some blank and will fill up as I encounter books that satisfy that category.

Basically, I’m just making excuses for myself. LMAO.

Honestly though, I am determined to broaden my horizons reading-wise this year and read not just the more popular, newest releases, or the cult YA favorites. Think of this as having a “reason” to finally get to these books. Same as with Tome Topple, an “excuse” to read books with 500+ pages, this challenge will be all about reading things I won’t normally think of when building a TBR.

I hope that makes sense. I know I’m blabbering. I apologize. I’m at work. I don’t drink coffee anymore. LOL.

Let’s get to the titles, shall we?

  • A book made into a movie you’ve already seen: Your Name. by Makoto Shinkai. I watched this for the first time last Christmas but I’ve seen the novelization at my local Kinokuniya bookstore for months. Now I have a reason to pick it up.
  • True crime. His Bloody Project by Graeme Macrae Burnet. I have this on my TBR for quite some time. I actually started this on audio but it didn’t hook me. I’m thinking this is better to be read instead of listening to it.
  • The next book in a series you started. Cress by Marissa Meyer. 
  • A book involving a heist. I hope to get to Six of Crows this year.
  • Nordic noir.
  • A novel based on a real person.
  • A book set in a country that fascinates you. Japan. I have a lot of Japanese fiction to choose from.
  • A book with a time of day in the title. Dusk or Dark or Dawn or Day by Seanan McGuire. A short read too.
  • A book about a villain or antihero. Vengeful by VE Schwab.
  • A book about death or grief.
  • A book with your favorite color in the title. Orange Vol 6. This is a must-have for every #TeamSuwa member.
  • A book with alliteration in the title. The Lady’s Guide to Petticoats and Piracy by Mackenzi Lee.
  • A book about time travel. Invictus by Ryan Graudin. 
  • A book with a weather element in the title. Prisoner of Night and Fog by Anne Blankman.
  • A book set at sea. Into the Drowning Deep by Mira Grant.
  • A book with an animal in the title. Either Parasite Eve by Hideaki Sena or A Natural History of Dragons by Marie Brennan.
  • A book set on a different planet. Iron Gold by Pierce Brown. Mars.
  • A book with song lyrics in the title. Suffer the Children by Craig di Louie. It’s a Tears for Fears song.
  • A book about or set on Halloween.
  • A book with characters who are twins. Takuma and Kazuma Mamizuka from Gakuen Babysitters.
  • A book with a female author who uses a male pseudonym. (Unfortunately, I know that I do not enjoy Robert Galbraith.)
  • A book with an LGBTQ+ protagonist. Status Update by Annabeth Albert.
  • A book that is also a stage play or musical. Haikyuu by Haruichi Furudate. If you haven’t seen the stage play, you haven’t seen perfection yet.
  • A book by an author of a different ethnicity than you. This can be anyone except Rin Chupeco. 😉
  • A book about feminism.
  • A book about mental health.
  • A book you borrowed or that was given to you as a gift.
  • A book by two authors. Good Boy by Sarina Bowen and Elle Kennedy
  • A book about or involving a sport. Stay by Sarina Bowen and Elle Kennedy, hockey.
  • A book by a local author. Pasadena, CA authors!
  • A book mentioned in another book.
  • A book from a celebrity book club.
  • A childhood classic you’ve never read.
  • A book that’s published in 2018. Birthday Girl by Penelope Douglas.
  • A past Goodreads Choice Awards winner. I don’t particularly like any of them, apart from those I already read. The Martian by Andy Weir, probably.
  • A book set in the decade you were born. 80s!
  • A book you meant to read in 2017 but didn’t get to. And I Darken by Kiersten White.
  • A book with an ugly cover. Hello, New Adult!
  • A book that involves a bookstore or library. The Library of Souls by Richard Denney.
  • Your favorite prompt from the 2015, 2016, or 2017 POPSUGAR Reading Challenges.

I am very open to suggestions and recommendations. I don’t read a lot of YA contemporaries – to be honest, I don’t like to – but recommendations are welcome. I’d like to at least try them.

Good luck with your own reading challenges. Let’s make 2018 an awesome reading year.

 

One thought on “2018 PopSugar Reading Challenge

Thoughts?

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.