TOP TEN TUESDAYS | Manga and Anime

Because “book-to-movie” topics are done to death. Yeah, I’m a rebel like that.

TopTenTues

This week’s Top Ten Tuesday , is a Movie Freebie.

Heh. Look at it this way… anime series might have a live action adaptation. And there are such things as anime movies and OVAs. Whatever, this is just an excuse to list my current favorite anime. If you happen to find yourself reading this post, do try reading one manga or watching an episode. You’re welcome.

Lately, I’ve been exploring the world of sequential art. I’ve read comics in passing, those in newpapers and single chapters. I grew up with cousins who have stacks of Spider-Man and Superman lying around their houses. And I would read anything, even the back of a shampoo bottle. I fell in love with Saga but I can’t seem to find another graphic novel that holds my attention for more than three pages. Manga, however, I love it.

Manga is basically a Japanese comic book. Westernized, the spine might be on the left but you still have to read each page from right to left. It still throws me off whenever I try to read a graphic novel after a manga. XD Artwork is beautiful but definitely simpler than your usual superhero graphic novel. Greyscale, fewer panels per page, etc. I’ve been reading a lot of light-hearted manga and I’m really enjoying myself.

Also, a lot of these manga are adapted to anime. The print translated into moving pictures with voices. If you know me at all, you know I love anime. (If you have a Crunchyroll subscription, can you tell me how it is? I’m planning to get one. I love Hulu Plus but sometimes, I’m curious about the English dubs.) I love voice actors both Japanese and English. And don’t get me started on live action adaptations. I’ve seen awful ones (Black Butler) and examples of perfection (Rurouni Kenshin trilogy). So you see, it does tie in to movies afterall!

And it’s not just manga on this list. There are some that are originally light novels or full novels. As you know, I have quite a few Japanese literature in my possession. One day, I’ll talk all about them. But for now, on with my anime recommendations.

  1. Another by Yukito Ayatsuji (novel). I read this not too long ago. I actually watched the anime first, as with every single title on this list. And it is as creepy as the anime. There’s a live action adaptation that I have yet to watch. This is about a sickly city boy who moves to his late mother’s hometown because his dad is overseas. He joins class 3-3 late in the year. Then suddenly, his classmates and/or their relatives die off one by one. Is he the cause of this or is it a mere coincidence? Sa-ka-ki-ba-ra-kun.
  2. Fullmetal Alchemist by Hiromu Arakawa (manga). And if you want to watch the anime that is more faithful to the manga, go watch Fullmetal Alchemist Brotherhood. Although I do recommend watching both adaptations, Brotherhood being the second one. You’ll be a better person after that. This anime spoiled me for every other anime out there. I’ve started reading the manga and if Brotherhood is anything to go by, then I’m sure I’m going to enjoy it also. It’s about two brothers who are adept in “alchemy”. One brother, Edward, is the youngest state alchemist and his younger brother, Alphonse, is… a suit of armor. Equivalent exchange!
  3. Your Lie In April by Naoshi Arakawa (manga). I love musical anime and this is definitely one of my favorites. I have the manga waiting for me but from what I hear, it’s as good as the anime adaptation. This, too, has a live action adaptation although they changed a lot of it. The opening themes have become my very favorite feel-good songs. This is a story about a piano prodigy who has lost his way. A talented violinist breaks him out of his shell, not only musically, but also life in general. I ugly cried. I sure did.
  4. Gekkan Shoujo, Nozaki-kun by Izumi Tsubaki (manga). Oh man. This is my current obsession. I just finished the 4th volume which is where the 12-episode anime ended. It is about a high school student mangaka (manga writer) and his schoolmates-slash-assistants. This is a four-panel manga and it is so much fun. As in laugh-out-loud fun!
  5. One Punch Man by One (webcomic/manga). Speaking of laugh out loud… I’m currently watching this and within five minutes of the first episode, I had to pause it and literally roll on my bed laughing. Yup. And then I checked out the webcomic original and I will for sure hunt down the manga version of it. This is about Saitama who is a hero as a hobby and he defeats monsters with, well… one punch. 😉
  6. Spice and Wolf by Isuna Hasekura (light novel). This has 17 volumes. And I only read one. I enjoyed the anime but I’m not sure I’m okay reading about economics and marketing in my leisure reading. But I did enjoy the first volume. I let my brother spoil the ending to me and it’s different from the anime. And I think it may just be enough for me to power through the other volumes. This features Kraft Lawrence, a young traveling merchant, and his adventures with a harvest spirit, Holo the Wolf.
  7. Heaven’s Memo Pad by Hikaru Sugii (light novel). My brother owns all the volumes in the original Japanese and is reading them in Japanese. I’m putting it here because he said he loves it and the anime is a surprise to us. I saw this title while browsing Fry’s Electronics and decided to pick it up. I honestly do not get the title but this is about a detective agency made up of NEETs – “not in education, employment, or training” – and is headed by a hikikomori named Alice.
  8. Mars by Fuyumi Soryo (manga). This is a bit different. I have not seen the anime but I fell in love with the Taiwanese adaptation. If I think about it, this is my very first manga ever. I have a couple of volumes when I was in high school but never the whole set. Collection goals, anyone? It’s a romance story between an artistic girl caught between twins.
  9. Antique Bakery by Fumi Yoshinaga (manga). This is another laugh-out-loud read. I’ve only read the first volume but it’s only 4 in total (I think) so I’m definitely reading more of it. It has every adaptation: a hilarious anime, a Japanese drama, and a Korean movie adaptation. The Korean movie was my introduction to the story but I’m definitely in love with the anime too. This is about four guys running a bakeshop. That’s all I’m saying. 😉
  10. For this last item, I’m going to name some of my favorite anime that I’ve watched but have not read the source material. Don’t worry, I’ll be quick:
    • K-On! I love it so much, I sang one of the songs at Anime Expo Open Mic 2016.
    • Soul EaterI do have some of the manga but I’ve yet to find time to read it. But I know I love the anime.
    • Kids on the Slope. If anyone asks me for a slice-of-life anime, this is the first thing that comes to mind. It’s musical too.
    • Yuyu HakushoThis is arguably my favorite anime ever. I do have a source for the manga but I’m hesitant to read it. I love the anime so much so what if the manga taints that? Or is better? Oh no. XD
    • Rurouni Kenshin. Okay, I lied. I’ve read two (?) volumes but the anime and the live action adaptations are made of sheer perfection, I’d rather watch those. But I’m not ruling out reading the manga. Kyoto Arc ftw!

So that is my gratuitous anime and manga recommendations list. Let me know if you’ve read/watched any of these and as usual, I’m very open to suggestions!

3 thoughts on “TOP TEN TUESDAYS | Manga and Anime

    • Please do! It’s a long series but it’s so worth the time. And if you’re interested in the anime, that’s one of the few shows that I didn’t mind dubbed in English.

      Like

  1. Pingback: #T5W | Favorite Non-Written Novels | Shelf Pickings

Thoughts?

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.