#T5W | Bookshelf Collectibles

This week is a freebie so we’ll be talking about our favorite bookshelf collectibles.

I call it “shelf clutter”. XD The KonMari method cannot exist in my fangirl world. EVERYTHING in my collection sparks joy.

However, I’m not much into the bookish fandom. 90% of my “bookshelf collectible” is from the anime fandom. Yes, I do have special edition and signed books but that’s about it. Compared to my anime stuff, it’s merely a speck of dust lol.

My short answer to this week’s topic is to just visit my MYFIGURECOLLECTION account and my INSTAGRAM feed. And yet, that’s not my complete collection. Most of it yes, but not all. Yes, I know… I need help. (I don’t want help LOL.)

But to break it down, here are the 5 main categories of my shelf clutter:

  • Signed books.
    I’m trying to curb my book buying by only purchasing signed books. And only by authors that I actually like. I have a couple from Pierce Brown, VE Schwab, Marie Lu, and James Rollins. Some of them are even personalized. I do buy signed copies online and from bookstores but that’s about it.
  • Blu-rays and DVDs.
    Complete boxed sets of anime, official stage play recordings, and live concerts. Oh man, they are expensive. Sigh. But I want them. They make me happy. I’ve pirated enough times in my younger years and I’m atoning that now.
  • Nendoroids and scale figures.
    This hobby. THIS. HOBBY. I first said I’ll only collect Haikyuu and Yuri On Ice figures. Lies. I’m too much of a sucker for cute stuff and good anime to stick to that. Also, scale figures. Haikyuu, I’m telling you. I’m NOT a fan of Funko Pop but I made an exception with My Hero Academia. Yes, I also have the two Nendoroids and a couple of Banpresto figures but I wanted that glow-in-the-dark All Might and the Toshinori Yagi one. Until they make an Iida Nendoroid, it stays. Plus my Uraraka is the SDCC exclusive. I also have a Tommy Pickles Nendoroid… signed by EG Daily. You can’t say I slack on collecting just because I don’t like the medium. 😉
  • Charms and pins.
    I’m more obsessed with those can badge covers actually LOL. I recently rediscovered my love for pin badges and I’m happy to have quite a collection of both fanmade and official ones. Same with rubber and acrylic straps. I love decorating my bags with them; yes, even the expensive ones. I did buy cheapo bags from AliExpress just so I can put pin holes in them.
  • GUNPLA.
    For those not in the know, it stands for Gundam Plastic (models). They’re basically robots that you have to assemble. They originate from the Mobile Suit Gundam franchise and once you start, good luck stopping yourself from buying and assembling kits. My brother and I have quite a few already put together and yet so many still left untouched. It’s so relaxing, yet time consuming. But hey, isn’t that why we have audio books?

There you go. I admit it does look excessive and yes, it is. But it sparks joy in my life and the collector in me is happy when I find something special in a price that I agree with. I’ve gotten $2 signed books at thrift shops, hard-to-find figures for a steal, super cute fanmade merch in a bundle.

If ever I get my own house, all these will have their own room. XD

Thoughts?

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.