WRAP-UP | AUGUST 2017

September is my birthday month! Expect quite a few book hauls (or just one big haul wrap-up at the end of the month).

How was your August reading? I think I went into a slump this month because I kicked off August with Tome Topple and boy, that kind of burnt me out. Although, I did manage to read three books that are over 600 pages. Two of them were within the readathon duration and one was in my TBR but I read it afterwards. I planned to fill the month with manga but… Haikyuu happened. I binge watched all 60 episodes in five days. No regrets.

But it did effectively put me into a reading slump. Also, I realized that I read faster on my Kindle than any other format. It’s that “time remaining” thing on the bottom. My Samsung Nook has a similar option that it counts the pages left in the chapter. Not quite the same but effective nonetheless. I will still have the book on hand so I can annotate it. I just find it easier to read on the tablet.

I wish I have more to show you reading-wise but hey, at least I found new favorite anime characters and Japanese voice actors.

TOTAL BOOKS READ: 6.

  • The Well of Ascension by Brandon Sanderson. Wow. Holy crap. What a monster of a book. It started off kind of slow but the plot twists will unknowingly creep up on you. I love all of the characters. I could not help but root for everyone. I will definitely have the 3rd one lined up towards the end of the year. 5/5 stars.
  • Tomie Deluxe Edition by Junji Ito. I expected to like this more than I actually did. The premise is that a girl, Tomie, has the power to allure men so much that they would want to kill her and tear her apart. Then those parts regenerate to more Tomies thus spreading horror. I did like it but after a while, the story got very repetitive. If I read this bit by bit, I think I would have enjoyed it more. 4/5 stars.
  • Black Butler Volume 11 by Yana Toboso. I finally reached the start of the Book of Atlantic arc! The previous volumes reminded me so much of And Then There Were None. I liked it but it was too wordy for my taste. I would love to see that animated though. 3/5 stars.
  • Girls und Panzer Volume 3. Katyusha-sama is my girl! I enjoyed this volume a lot. And I appreciated the anime episode more after reading this. They added so much but kept the a lot of the source material also. So they really did skip the Anzio match even in the manga. Interesting. 4/5 stars.
  • A Court of Wings and Ruin by Sarah J. Maas. As “trashy” as this trilogy was, I kind of loved this. I think it’s my favorite out of all three books. I don’t know… the writing was still flat and the main characters were still dull. But the side characters, especially my love Azriel Altin, brownie points if you get that reference. I still don’t like Nesta. As for Elain, bless you, my girl. I want both of your potential love interests. I’m not very bothered by the “mate” situation but yes, it was kind of awkward and ridiculous. It was definitely overused. Still, I actually liked this book. 4/5 stars.
  • A Madness so Discreet by Mindy McGinnis. Audio book. I’ve been meaning to get a copy of this but when I found that the audio book was on Hoopla Digital, I decided to borrow it from there. What a well-written story. I fell in love with the writing. The narration was very good as well. I would still like to read this in the future and revisit this in book format. 5/5 stars.

STATS:

  • 2988 pages
  • 3 manga and 1 audio book

As for book buying, I was very good. I only bought four – two are the same book just different formats.

  • The Hollow Crown by Jeff Wheeler. Audio and Kindle book. The 4th book in the Kingfountain series. I haven’t even started this but I have 4 books in both Kindle edition and audio. I mean, if they’re available for $1.99 for each format, why not?
  • The Thief’s Daughter by Jeff Wheeler. Audio book from Amazon. See above.
  • Iron to Iron by Ryan Graudin. Kindle. Read it. Loved it.

So I’m almost done with the first season of My Hero Academia. It’s giving me some Onepunch-Man vibes and I’m liking it a lot. And I’m currently continuing with The Remnant Chronicles by Mary E. Pearson. I am meeting Marie Lu on the 22nd for the Warcross signing. I would like to start her The Young Elites series this month… maybe finish it even. This will be my 2nd time meeting Marie Lu this year and I’m looking to have my copies of Legend (former library copy) and Prodigy (ARC!) signed also. After that, all my Marie Lu books are signed!

And since we’re on the topic of TBRs, I need to read and review Arena by Holly Jennings. I planned to read this in July when I got it but hey, I wasn’t in the mood. Hopefully, I am now.

I also want to read some of the New Adult books that I acquired or already have on my Kindle. They usually go by fast; a lot of them are less than 300 pages and seriously, they’re not that profound anyway LMAO.

Provided I don’t get distracted by anime and anisong concerts again this month… we’ll see. 😉

Thoughts?

