#TomeTopple Round 4 | Readathon Wrap-up

I would have you know that I did absolutely ZERO reading over the weekend. Instead, I binge watched Haikyu!! I polished off half the season 1, all of season 2, and almost half of season 3. I have no regrets… other than why haven’t I watched it sooner. I’m such a sucker for good sports anime and this is definitely one of them. My seiyuu otaku self is the happiest it has been. I love my some voice actors.

But I did finish my main goals for Tome Topple Round 4. There were 4 books in my TBR, 2 priority reads and 2 backups. My priority titles satisfied 4 of the 5 challenges. I skipped “Buddy Reading a Tome” because I just don’t buddy read. I don’t like it and I don’t have time for it, realistically.

I completed 5 out of the 14 Instagram challenges. I could’ve done more but my Instagram account is not specifically a Bookstagram so I didn’t want 5 posts in a row to be about books. And some categories either didn’t apply to me or didn’t appeal to me at all. But I did have fun finding creative ways to take pictures of my books with the most minimal preparation and props.

My bookmark for the whole weekend said — “I like BIG BOOKS and I cannot lie” — which I thought was appropriate for the readathon. I quite prefer those bookmarks with the tassel on top. I tried those magnetic bookmarks I didn’t like the way the closed book looked with a large bump on top. The magnetic bookmark was just too big.

But I digress.

The Well of Ascension by Brandon Sanderson was my first read of the fortnight. I read it both as a book and as an ebook. I had to go out of the house during that first weekend and I did realize that I read slightly faster on my Kindle. My copy of the book, albeit pretty, acts like a mass market paperback. And it’s huge so I didn’t want to risk breaking the spine.

Needless to say, I loved it. I loved the many twists, the political intrigue, the war planning… and the characters! I love them all. This is marketed as an adult fantasy fiction but it is so easy to read and it’s so much fun. The Mistborn trilogy is a very good gateway to adult fantasy if you’re coming from YA. I had so much fun with this. I even was dream casting the characters with anime characters instead of real-life people. There was no way I’m giving this less than 5 out of 5 stars.

At 781 pages, this is my longest read to date. The Final Empire is my 1st read of 2017. And by the looks of things, The Hero of Ages could close out the year. This satisfies 2 challenges: “Read a tome that is part of a series” and “Read an adult novel”.

My next read was Tomie by Junji Ito. This is the deluxe collection where all the chapters are collected into a 752-page tome. I finished this in a few hours. I loved Uzumaki and I had high hopes for this. But I wasn’t all that impressed. I did give it 4 stars but I’m kind of leaning towards a 3 to 3.5 to be honest. While the premise was good, it became a bit repetitive as it went on. I was thinking that if I didn’t consume this in one go, I would have a better experience with it.

It’s a story about a girl named Tomie who is so beautiful, she enchants every male that lays eyes on her so much that they are driven to kill and and cut her to pieces. Those pieces then grow and become more Tomie and then spread the “virus” to the rest of Japan. You can imagine how many times that main story line can be recycled before it becomes redundant. The art style is pretty creepy; that much you can expect from Junji Ito. I still prefer Uzumaki but Tomie isn’t so bad.

This satisfies two more challenges: “Read a graphic novel” and “Read more than 1 tome”. If I call it right here, then I read 1533 pages between two books.

But I started reading another book on the final days of the readathon. A Court of Wings & Ruin by Sarah J. Maas. I figured this was an easier read than Our Dark Duet by Victoria Schwab. I clocked in about 172 pages by August 17th. I wasn’t forcing to finish it but at least I was able to get 25% of the way through.

With that, it brings my total to 1705 pages across 2.25 books. Not bad for my first showing!

I don’t have a TBR for the next round yet but I’m definitely taking part as well. I learned a lot of things during this readathon. It might have “readathon” in name – such as a marathon, a race to accomplish something. But Tome Topple is not about finishing as many books as possible. A 700-page book can have you reading the whole two weeks. Reading 200 pages in one sitting means nothing if you’re reading a 1200-page tome. Reading a big book does take time.

Pacing is key. No one is actually chasing you. Do not compare yourself to others participating with you. We all have different activities in life outside reading. Maybe you’re just unlucky that things went to shit during those two weeks and you couldn’t do as well as you hoped. Or maybe you’re not as fast a reader than the next person. THAT. IS. PERFECTLY. OKAY. If by the end of the readathon you’ve only read one book, pat yourself on the back. You did it! That’s one less tome, one less intimidating read on your TBR.

Although… it kind of sent me to a sort of slump. When I finished both priority books, I was so ready to read a trashy NA novel. But then I never got to it. I thought of pushing myself for one more book, thus ACOWAR but I was just a bit burnt out in the end that I did things other than reading. (Or maybe it’s Tomie‘s fault… Hmmm.) Now that I started ACOWAR, I’m stuck with it. I need to finish that before I can move on to other books. And so far, I’ve only completed 3 books this month. THREE. I might pad that number with manga. 😉

Overall, I enjoyed this readathon. I wasn’t able to participate in any sprints because I’m at work or asleep whenever they are on. By the time I get home and start reading, no one’s holding one. But I did answer Twitter questions as I saw them on my timeline. The hashtag #tometopple on social media was fun to check out too. Congrats to all the hosts and participants and see you all next round!

 

 

4 thoughts on “#TomeTopple Round 4 | Readathon Wrap-up

  1. Pingback: WRAP-UP | AUGUST 2017 | Shelf Pickings

Thoughts?

