WISHLIST TAG

Book Outlet is having a $5 off coupon today until the 14th so I figured, this is as good a time as any to post this tag. The code is TAKE5OFF, no minimum purchase – but you have to spend $35 to get free shipping. But hey, $5 off is pretty much free shipping because that’s the flat rate price for any purchase below $35. Anyway, on with the post!


I’m not so good with wishlists. I have them but no one really buys me stuff off of those wish lists. Besides, I put them there so I can buy them myself at a later date. Usually, I’m the only one who knows where to get that item the cheapest – or where to get it at all.

I hope one day my friends and/or family would think of checking out my wishlist. Not that I really care. Like I said, I can take care of it. It just gives me a bit of anxiety… what if they’ll think me strange once they see what’s on there. My wishlists tend to be so niche-y and highly specific. It’s the collector in me.

Pick the two books you most want to purchase/receive at this moment.

I saw Flame in the Mist by Renee Ahdieh at Target the other day and the dedication had “엄마” on it or something. And immediately, I became more interested that I already was. Also, I literally just purchased The Heart of Betrayal by Mary E. Pearson. I used the Book Outlet code above. I needed a hardback edition to complete my set (I bought books 1 and 3 hardback last week, also from Book Outlet). The book itself was $4.29. With the code, it’s essentially free… with $5 shipping.


Pick a book that you have wanted for the longest time.

Here’s the only wishlist that I actually care about — my Jane Eyre list. Especially the Fine edition.


Pick a sequel or companion story that you want to own.

I tend to complete series before even starting them. XD I’m currently trying out NA fiction where everything is a companion story. But I mostly get those on ebook or audio. So I guess, The Burning World by Isaac Marion, the sequel to Warm Bodies. I’ve been wanting to buy it since it came out but for some reason, I just never picked it up.


Pick an entire series (or boxed set) that you want to get your hands on.

I am notorious for acquiring an entire series before even reading the first book. I want to be able to have the option to marathon a book series – even though most of the time, I don’t do that. But lately, I’ve been thinking about finally jumping on the wagon of the Lunar Chronicles by Marissa Meyer. Time and time again, I would ask my brother, “Is it worth it to read Cinder?” And every time, he would reply, “I liked it. I don’t know if you would.” I probably ask him this at least twice a year. Probably when Winter is released in paperback. We’ll see.


Pick a book from a favorite author of yours that you want to own.

I’m “current” with a lot of my favorite authors. At least, those books that I know will interest me.


Pick a popular book that you want on your shelves.

I was at Target this afternoon and I finally physically touched a copy of Heartless by Marissa Meyer. I’m sure you already know how gorgeous the naked book is, right? While my heart also wants the UK edition, I want that naked book on my shelf. I think I may also want A Court of Thorns and Roses and A Court of Mist and Fury in hardcover. I have A Court of Wings and Ruin in the Target hardcover special. I did wait for the paperback release of ACOMAF but I think I’ll be keeping this trilogy on my shelves and they don’t match. Sigh. Years ago, this wouldn’t have bothered me. XD


Pick a book that you just recently decided that you wished to own.

A good chunk of my “to-read” list on GoodReads are books that I already own but have not read. But on my last Kinokuniya run, I saw a couple of Japanese fiction books that interested me a lot; the latest being Orbital Cloud by Taiyo Fujii. I would also like a physical copy of Schoolgirl by Osamu Dazai.


Pick a book that is either in the mail or you are going to purchase next.

I am going to pre-order Warcross by Marie Lu soon. Mainly because the pre-order promo comes with a short story… Day’s POV of the ending of Champion. I am NOT ready for that. And also, Marie Lu is in my auto-buy list. But I’m waiting for her book tour schedule to see if she’s either stopping by somewhere near to me or if not, I’ll pre-order a signed copy from one of the stops.


Pick a hidden gem novel that you would like to read.

… how would I know that it’s a hidden gem when I haven’t read it or heard about it yet? 😉 So… I don’t know. What do you recommend?


Finally, pick a new release you really want to have.

I’m not much into new releases. I do have quite a few because there was a time when there were so many author events in a span of a few weeks and there were pre-order swag that I wanted. I’m not really updated when it comes to new releases either. But I’d probably would want a copy of The Last of August by Brittany Cavallaro, the sequel to A Study in Charlotte. Preferably signed. 😉

***********

See, when it comes to books, I’m easy. If it’s signed, I’ll be interested. If it’s way discounted, I may pick it up. I’m a sucker for free Kindle books even though I’m never going to read them.

My anime-related wishlist is far longer than this one, trust me. An anime tag would look so much messier and all over the place. XD Hmm, maybe I’ll do that too… as a hint to my friends and family. That is, if I don’t buy them all first.

 

Thoughts?

