MUSING MONDAYS | Books vs Chocolates

My last Musing Monday post was in January. Whut?

musing

  • I’m currently reading…
  • Up next I think I’ll read…
  • I bought the following book(s) in the past week…
  • I’m super excited to tell you about (book/author/bookish-news)…
  • I’m really upset by (book/author/bookish-news)…
  • I can’t wait to get a copy of…
  • I wish I could read ___, but…
  • I blogged about ____ this past week…

My June reading isn’t going as well as other months. I’ve only finished an audio book so far. And because of last month’s comic book readathon, I’m all manga’d out at the moment. With Anime Expo anticipation and preparation, I’d much rather catch up on anime than read. Or read Yuri!!! ON ICE fan fiction. But I did some reading yesterday. That’s good, right?

I’m currently have less than 200 pages to go on my current read, A Court of Mist and Fury by Sarah J. Maas. I gave the first book 3 stars and everyone says that the 2nd book is way better than that. I have yet to see that, to be perfectly honest. There’s something about SJM’s writing that does not click with me. I find it bland and one dimensional. Azriel, however, I need a whole book about him. I keep reading him with the face of Otabek Altin of Yuri!!! ON ICE in my head.  I may go ahead and read A Court of Wings and Ruin right after just to get it over with.

I pre-ordered a signed copy of Our Dark Duet by Victoria Schwab! I thought I would have to wait until after release to get a signed copy but thanks to Parnassus Books, I’m getting my personalized and signed copy in the mail. Like I said, I want all my VE Schwab books signed. I’m holding on to The Archived and The Unbound to be signed in person eventually.

I am currently listening to The Scorpio Races by Maggie Stiefvater. Hoopla has all of her books, including The Raven Cycle but I’m stubborn and want to read them in book form. I’m very picky with audio book narrators. I seem to prefer male voices over females. And if the book doesn’t hook me within the first 30 minutes, I quit. This one so far is keeping my interest so we’ll see.

I wasn’t planning to buy any books this month at all. I wanted to save all my $$ for Anime Expo. But when I dropped by Vroman’s Bookstore, I saw a whole shelf of signed books and I was gone. I bought three books, one of them I already owned:

  • Blood for Blood by Ryan Graudin – I pre-ordered this when this came out and it became one of my favorites. When I saw a signed copy, I just had to get it.
  • Strange the Dreamer by Laini Taylor – I checked and it was an actual signature, not the printed ones that came in subscription boxes.
  • Warren the 13th and the Whispering Woods by Tania del Rio – I wasn’t able to come at her signing last week but thankfully, there were signed copies available.

For this week’s random question: Which would you rather live without? Books or chocolate.

Easy. Chocolate. I don’t like chocolate. Not even chocolate ice cream.

 

One thought on “MUSING MONDAYS | Books vs Chocolates

Thoughts?

