#T5W | Slytherin Pride!

This week, we are talking about Books for your Hogwarts House.

I remember when Pottermore was in its beta stages, I received an invite to try out the sorting hat section. I’ve taken many of those fan made sorting quizzes and I was sorted into Gryffindor consistently. I was happy about that – being in the same house as the main protagonists of the books, not to mention Oliver Wood. But when I took the Pottermore quiz once, twice, three times… I was always sorted into SlytherinI never looked back ever since.

(My Pottermore handle is PhoenixSword207. I don’t go there often but if you so desire to add me as a Housemate or friend, feel free to do so.)

My hair may be red but my Quidditch robe and shirt underneath represent my House!

Slytherins are defined by the following traits:

  • Resourcefulness
  • Cunning
  • Cleverness
  • Strong sense of fraternity
  • Ambition
  • Self-Preservation
  • Determination

The books that I’m going to mention have characters that personify some or all of those qualities. In Harry Potter, a lot of people associate Slytherins as dark, bad, evil… misunderstood is more likely the case. Everyone needs a villain, right? And that’s okay. We’ll take it. But also do realize that Slytherins are good people too. We are as friendly as your nearest Hufflepuff, as loyal as the next Gryffindor, and as motivated as any Ravenclaw. 😉


A Court of Mist and Fury by Sarah J. Maas. I’m currently reading this and when I heard of this week’s topic, I immediately thought of this book. It’s not that any of them are terribly resourceful or determined but a good lot of them are cunning and ambitious. The Fae has this general thought of “I’m better that all of you” towards the mortals. Think of the pure blood/half blood/muggle born dynamic.

Vicious by VE Schwab. Talk about a book about anti-heroes. There’s no clear cut good guy in this book. Victor and Eli both have their devious sides but they’re very smart and cunning. This book has a rather dark vibe. It makes me think of long dark alleyways, trench coats, and stormy nights.

Dark Matter by Blake Crouch. Determination is the word for this book. And a little bit of self-preservation. This is about a man just living his life and then suddenly, he gets abducted and thrust into a world so very foreign to him. This book talks about his struggles and journey back to his own reality.

The Winner’s Curse by Marie Rutkoski. Arin is very resourceful. Kestrel is very clever. They both had their shining moments in this book.

Graceling by Kristin Cashore. Katsa’s “grace” is looked upon by many as something evil. But she goes on with her head held high and in the end, she survives is all with her quick wit and abilities.


I know I’m reaching a bit on some of these but I’m happy with these recommendations.

How about you? What’s your Hogwarts House?

6 thoughts on “#T5W | Slytherin Pride!

Thoughts?

