WRAP-UP | MAY 2017

It’s June 1. It’s less than 30 days until Anime Expo 2017!

(And yes, that is the thing with the most importance to me right now.)

I participated in one readathon this month. It’s pretty chill. Just read as many graphic novel/comic/manga as you like. And I had the perfect ones to marathon. I’m interested in joining a couple of readathons in June so we’ll see if I actually do it.

Because of this readathon, I can honestly say that this is a very good reading month. I went back to listening to audio books, did not think that reading manga is in any way cheating my GoodReads goal, started two series that I’ve been meaning to read for years, and received two unsolicited ARCs.

I’m so excited for my reading in June. I’m currently in between books (not really; I’m listening to Digital Fortress by Dan Brown) but I’m looking to continuing these trilogies that I started or going ahead and reading A Court of Mist and Fury by Sarah J. Maas before anything else. I have been reading other books but this one is always – ALWAYS – at the back of my mind. I feel like I’m going to slump if I don’t get this out of the way asap. But finishing series is a very good feeling. I would like to feel that way for longer.

TOTAL BOOKS READ: 15.

  • A Silent Voice, Volumes 0-7 by Yoshitoki Ooima. I read the whole thing. I was trying to pace it; I read the standalone (Volume 0, 5 stars) and the first volume (5 stars) at the beginning of the month. Then I read Volume 2 (4 stars) and 3 (3 stars) in between books. Then in the readathon, I blew through Volumes 4 (3 stars), 5, 6, and 7 (4 stars). I liked it but I wasn’t in love with it like I was with Orange. But this definitely hit me in the feelz, where it hurts. It’s about a deaf girl who was bullied in elementary school. Five years later, she reunites with her bullies. Are they still the same? How much have they changed? Over all, it’s a 4-star series. I can’t wait to watch the animated movie.
  • Loop by Koji Suzuki. The third and final book in the Ring trilogy. Technically, there’s one more, Birthday, but that’s a collection of short stories. I believe this book was the basis of the “newest” movie in the franchise called Rings. I haven’t seen it but I may want to. This takes everything that happened in the first two books, puts them in a blender, and fucks it all up. I have to say that this is my least favorite and it was a struggle to get through. I still liked it. But not as much as Spiral. 3/5 stars.
  • The Kill Switch by James Rollins and Grant Blackwood. I read this on audio. Yes, I took a break from audio books last month but I enjoyed it too much so I went back to it. And of course, my author of choice is James Rollins. This is one of his collaboration projects and oh boy, I loved this. I want more Tucker Wayne and Kane. I didn’t know what to expect with this but it had all the James Rollins elements that I love – adventure, espionage, danger – with a canine companion. I LOVE that the narrator, Scott Aiello, used a different voice for the scenes told in Kane’s POV. I want more of these books! 4/5 stars.
  • Dark Matter by Blake Crouch. I have a full review of this book so I won’t talk about it much. This was my Blogging for Books pick.  4/5 stars.
  • War Hawk by James Rollins and Grant Blackwood. I just couldn’t stay away. And it hurts that there’s not a third book yet in this ‘verse. I want more, dammit. I think I may have enjoyed this more than the first one. This has a little bit of romance and this felt more fast-paced. 4/5 stars.
  • Daughter of Smoke and Bone by Laini Taylor. Finally. I remember receiving a chapter sampler when this first came out. I never read it but I remember the cover and it had something to do with teeth. But that was during the time I wasn’t reading much YA. I definitely enjoyed this, the first half more than the latter part. Laini Taylor’s writing is rather dense and lyrical but so easy to read. However, this did take me a long-ish time to read. Not because it was boring… I just didn’t feel the urge to pick it up. Eh, I finished it. I have the rest of the books in the series. This will get done. 4/5 stars.
  • Uzumaki (Deluxe Edition) by Junji Ito. Wowza. Holy crap this manga series. This combines three volumes in one and I think this is the way to read this manga series. You will never look at snails the same way ever again. It is about a town being overrun by spirals. You got to see this. The art style is just… amazing. 5/5 stars. Hell, the art alone is 5-star material!
  • The Winner’s Curse by Marie Rutkoski. I wanted to read this since I heard that this is about a piano-playing heroine. Yeah, I realize now that that’s the least of it but it got me to read it, right? Let me just say that Arin is now my new book boyfriend. (Please don’t make me regret saying this, next books lol.) I’m interested to see where this story is going and how it’s going to be resolved. And more Arin. 4/5 stars.

STATS:

  • 4264 pages
  • 9 manga and 2 audio books

I was determined to not buy that many books this month but I still managed to buy 12. I swear, I will be better in June. I got to save all the monies possible for Anime Expo spending!

  • The Fact of the Body: A Murder and A Memoir by Alexandria Marzano-Lesnevich. ARC from the publisher. Upon reading up on this, I’m excited to eventually get to this. True Crime is one of my favorite genres and I really need to read more from it.
  • A Court of Mist and Fury by Sarah J. Maas. Target. I waited for the paperback release to match my copy of ACOTAR. But you’ll see later that this was all for naught lol.
  • The Essex Serpent by Sarah Perry. ARC from the publisher.
  • The Sleeping Giant by Sylvain Neuvel. ARC from Goodwill. I already have an ARC of this from the One Dollar Bookstore but that’s the trade paperback size. This is actually mass paperback size but I’m a sucker for ARCs.
  • Uzumaki (Deluxe Edition) by Junji Ito. Kinokuniya Bookstore Los Angeles. I cannot wait to get my hands on Tomie and Gyo next.
  • The King’s Traitor by Jeff Wheeler. Kindle book with Audio. Amazon. I have the books that came before this and for $3.99 for everything? Yes, please.
  • Battle Royale: Angels’ Border by Koushin Takami. Better World Books. This depicts a scene in the novel. I planned to read this for the readathon but after Uzumaki, I needed something less gory.
  • The Da Vinci Code by Dan Brown. Better World Books. The YA version. I was interested to see how it counts as YA. I may have to re-read the original one.
  • Chain Mail: Addicted to You by Hiroshi Ishizaki. Better World Books. I don’t know; I read the synopsis and I wanted to get it.
  • City of Stairs by Robert Jackson Bennett. Better World Books. I got an ARC of the 3rd book and ordered the 2nd book off Book Outlet… last month-ish? Now, I have book one.
  • A Court of Wings and Ruin by Sarah J. Maas. Target special edition. Yeah, I know. I’m a sucker for “special editions”. This one came with an embossed signature on the naked cover.
  • Night Film by Marisha Pessl. Goodwill. Signed. I already had a hardcover of this but when I saw this one signed at Goodwill for less than $2? Yes. Even thought it’s slightly water damaged.

What an eventful month! I hope June will be the same. It has some big shelves to fill.

Thoughts?

