#comicbooksunday | Readathon

It’s been a while since I participated in a readathon. And with the long weekend coming up, this is the perfect time to do it!

I recently watched Julie from Pages and Pens unbox this month’s OwlCrate and while I don’t personally subscribe to any book boxes, I love watching them. She happened to mention a 24-hour readathon happening over the weekend hosted by Elliot Brooks and ThatBookie. It’s the Comic Book Readathon. (Click for Facebook group.)

It’s going to be on Sunday, May 28th. All day.

The title might say “comic book” but I will be reading manga. I’ve seen other announcement videos call it “graphic novel readathon” and they did say we can read manga as well. As you know, I am a manga girl. I much prefer reading right to left than left to right. And they’re very easy reads. I could go through 4-5 volumes in one sitting. But I don’t always do that. I feel a bit guilty when I do because it feels like I’m merely padding my GoodReads goal. I have so many unread books but here I am reading 120-page volumes that are mostly pictures.

However, I really do enjoy it. Maybe not as much as I love anime but it’s up there. It’s the only time when I don’t mind reading the source material after watching it on screen – and vice-versa. So here are my picks for this readathon:

  • A Silent Voice by Yoshitoki Ooima. Volumes 4-7. I want to finish this series. It’s beautiful. Not Orange level but beautiful.
  • Uzumaki by Junji Ito. I have the whole omnibus! I may be picking up another one this Friday. I also am very interested in reading Tomie.
  • Battle Royale: Angels’ Border by Koushun Takami. I’m not 100% on this but I have it on hand and I absolutely love Battle Royale. 

Again, May 28th, Sunday, 24 hours. Use the hashtag #comicbooksunday if you’re participating through Twitter and/or Instagram. Do share your TBRs below. I’m always open to new-to-me titles. 🙂

2 thoughts on “#comicbooksunday | Readathon

  1. Pingback: #GetGraphic | Readathon + TBR (10/6 through 10/8) | Shelf Pickings

Thoughts?

