#T5W | Summer 2017 Reads

This week, we are talking about Summer Reads.

Here is my list last year: Summer 2016. While my sentiments about seasonal reading still remains the same, my choices will be different. I do understand wanting to read a certain book or genre that is influenced by the weather outside. Even a book cover can (be) inspire(d) by the seasons. And some books are marketed and released to appeal to a certain overall mood for that season. Contemporaries tend to be more popular during spring and summer while darker reads such as horror and mystery make a comeback during fall and winter.

Personally, my kind of “summer read” is adventure stories. Fantasy stories whether they be light or high or epic. Long books. Finished series to binge read. Something to take me away from reality. I don’t really go anywhere for summer due to my dislike of scorching heat and glaring sunlight so books are my way to go. And I’m lazier in the summer. It’s too hot to move. LOL.

James Rollins books. You’re probably sick of me mentioning this author every so often. What can I say? He’s my favorite and I’ve grown comfortable with how he writes sci-fi mystery thrillers. I’m listening to one of his works right now, War Hawk, which he co-wrote with Grant Blackwood. Kane is my new favorite dog. I’ve read a good chunk of Rollins’ backlist and I’m actually looking forward to re-reading those that I’ve only listened to on audio. I’m sure I have copies of it lying around my room somewhere. I know for sure I have copies from Sandstorm to The Devil Colony in the Sigma Force series. I don’t mind them as mass market paperbacks, strangely enough. I just need to find that push to finally re-read it.

A Court of Mist and Fury by Sarah J. Maas. And I guess I’ll put A Court of Wings and Ruin on here too. I have both books. I waited for ACOMAF to be released in paperback to match my copy of ACOTAR. As for ACOWAR, I was sucked in by Target having an exclusive edition on their shelves. One of my weakness is any kind of signed whatever from the author may it be a book plate, a printed signature, or in this case, a stamped signature on the naked book. I’m not the biggest fan of ACOTAR but from what I heard, the next two books are way better. So no better time to marathon read these two.

Chain Mail: Addicted to You by Hiroshi Ishizaki. The title sounds like some cheesy New Adult-y novel. But this is a Japanese horror thriller. Yep. I don’t really know what it is about since the GoodReads blurb is a mere sentence or two. Really, this could be a placeholder for any of the Japanese fiction I have in my possession. I just picked this because while I was rearranging the literal stack of books by the foot of my bed, I saw this. I almost forgot I had it so I decided to include this book here. Who knows, maybe I will read it.

The Kiss of Deception by Mary E. Pearson. And with this, binge read the rest of the series. I have this in digital and I actually wanted to read this last week. But I decided to go with Daughter of Smoke and Bone instead since I have physical copies of the whole trilogy. But I still want to read this as soon as possible. I’ve always been intrigued by the first book’s premise. I’ve heard nothing but good things about this book and trilogy.

Bad Romeo by Leisa Rayven. I have have physical copies of the whole trilogy. Two of them, I got in a haul last year. And the third one was graciously gifted to me. Actually, any New Adult read would do. I just chose this for this purpose because I have the whole trilogy in paperback. But it could be anything. Hopefully, I will find the drive to finish Infini or some other steamy NA I recently added to my TBR.


Summer is still a couple of weeks away. I’m still trying to work on my Spring TBR (4 out of 10, I keep getting distracted by other books). But I’m sure I’ll get to these eventually, summer or not.

Thoughts?

