TOP TEN TUESDAYS | Mom and Me

I thought this was yet another week that I’m going to skip but I somehow found inspiration while checking out other people’s posts. Last week kicked me in the butt so hard and I didn’t post anything on this blog at all. I did finish a couple of books so at least I’m still reading. Just… not posting. I must do better.

This week’s Top Ten Tuesday is a Mother’s Day-related freebie.

Best and worst literary/fictional mothers are done to death. I kind of do want to make an anime edition of it because I’ve never come across a “good” book mom apart from Molly Weasley. Every book family is rubbish, it seems like. Absent. Negligent. And at times, poorly written. I’m sure there are good ones out there but I haven’t read very many.

But my mom is cool. She likes pretty much the same things that I like because I got it all from her. She was the first one out of our household to watch Mythbusters. Many years after, my brother and I were able to meet Adam Savage and Jamie Hyneman. I took her to the premiere of Thor 2: The Dark World and there she met Jeremy Renner and Chris Hemsworth. She was with me when Orlando Bloom got his Star on the Hollywood Walk of Fame. She went with me to the LA leg of the BIGBANG MADE Tour. She’s been to the Wizarding World of Harry Potter in Florida twice! Heck, I haven’t even seen Diagon Alley yet because when I went there, they literally just opened a week prior. We’ve been to IMATS twice; she even hung around for a while at WonderCon 2015. Aside from high fantasy, she accepted every book recommendation I gave her. And she gave me the first book recommendation that I absolutely loved. I dare you to find a cooler mom.

So here is a list of books that both my mom and I enjoyed. (She’s actually read all of the Divergent and The Maze Runner trilogies and kindly steered me away from the final books. Many thanks.)

  1. Nancy Drew: The Ringmaster’s Secret by Carolyn Keene. It’s actually all of the Nancy Drew Mysteries but this one stands out the most because I remember my mom specifically singling this out whenever we go to the bookstore to buy one. And she’s right. Out of all the Nancy Drew books that I’ve read, this is one of my favorites.
  2. Ready Player One by Ernest Cline. I was so excited when I read this. I knew my mom was going to like this too with all the 80s and pop culture references.
  3. Confession by Kanae Minato. I recommended this to anyone and everyone who will listen. My mom listened and liked it. At first, she was a bit apprehensive because it is a slow start. But she pushed through and ended up liking it.
  4. Legend trilogy by Marie Lu. She actually marathoned the physical books. She also is interested to see the graphic novels to see what the characters look like. I’m pretty sure once I read The Young Elites I’m going to pass it on to her too.
  5. Deception Point by Dan Brown. Any Dan Brown book actually. She’s read all of his work. I have not. Yet.
  6. Wolf by Wolf duology by Ryan Graudin. This is another one that I literally placed in her hands. She was intrigued by the alternate history and how it’s a rather grown up YA story. She also read this back-to-back.
  7. Parasitology trilogy by Mira Grant. My mom has misplaced the dust jacket for the 3rd book, Chimera. While I was reading that, she kept on bugging me to speed up so she could read it too.
  8. The Strain (Book 1) by Guillermo del Toro. We’ve only read the first book and she’s asking me for copies of the rest of the series.
  9. The Millennium Trilogy by Stieg Larsson. This is what I call a “family book”. My mom, brother, and I all read this trilogy. We would even talk about it in depth.
  10. Harry Potter series by JK Rowling. I mean. Do I really need to explain this?

I’m sorry it’s such a rushed entry. Things are still hectic at work. But here’s my ten. Except for one, these books are my recommendations to my mom. While she ignited this love of reading in me, I supplied her the books – both physical and digital on her own Samsung Galaxy Tab 4 Nook.

How about you? Do you recommend books to your mom? What does she think about them? 🙂

5 thoughts on “TOP TEN TUESDAYS | Mom and Me

  1. Isn’t it great to have a mom who is into the same interests as you are and reads the same books?! My mom is the same, we’re very close and we pass books back and forth, visited the Wizarding World of Harry Potter together in February for the first time, and went to New York to see Hamilton together. I did a similar list of the top 10 books my mom and I both loved for mother’s day here: https://spotlightonstories.wordpress.com/2017/05/14/top-books-both-mom-and-i-loved/

    Liked by 1 person

    • Aw, that’s so sweet. Yeah, I used to take my mom to musicals too. The times I took her to American Idiot and Avenue Q were so special. And yes, WWHP is one of our favorite places. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Thoughts?

