WRAP-UP | APRIL 2017

When did this happen? It’s already May. That means, it’s two months until Anime Expo. I have to start prepping.

(Yes, it shows you where my priorities lie. Not sorry lol.)

I thought I read more this month but I guess 10 is still a good number. I didn’t listen to any audio books because I wanted to go back to listening to podcasts. And boy, S-Town is pretty good. I’m not entirely sure I understand what’s going on but it’s so compelling. I want more podcasts like this one. Of course, I still listen to Sword & Scale but I’m current with it and I don’t re-listen to every single episode. I find so few podcasts keep my attention on my morning commute. These are some of them.

Maybe I’ll go back to audio books again this month. I’m looking at a few new TV shows that I might either follow or binge-watch. I plan to watch American Gods and The Handmaid’s Tale but ideally, I would want to read them first. I guess I should say, “I want to read them too”. I also have a bunch of anime that I would like to watch – and those are almost always marathons. Then again, I have a handful of books that I can’t wait to read. We’ll see. I always have manga to pad my numbers. 😉

TOTAL BOOKS READ: 10.

  • Black Butler, Volumes 7-9 by Yana Toboso. These go further into the Book of Circus arc and a bit into where the Double Charles characters come in. I have Volumes 7 & 8 five stars while Volume 9 got three. Volume 9 was rather wordy but it presented a direct adaptation to anime and was performed live by the Japanese voice actors.
  • As Red As Blood by Salla Simukka. This was my Blogging for Books read. I have a full review of it so I won’t talk about it much here. 3.5/5 stars.
  • Shadow & Bone by Leigh Bardugo. I decided to marathon read this trilogy this month because I ordered the Six of Crows duology boxed set together with a pre-order set to arrive late April. I was super excited to finally experience this well-loved YA fantasy trilogy… only to be disappointed. I was not impressed one bit. I liked the side characters more than the main ones. The magic system didn’t make sense. I was promised Russian but all I got were Russian names. 3.5/5 stars.
  • Siege & Storm by Leigh Bardugo. But I soldiered on. I actually liked this a bit more than the first book. Mal is an awful character. I get brooding but he was just annoying. I wanted to like him but I found him immature and rather self-centered. But I did like him the most in this book. He was a bit sassy and witty… but still bitter. 4/5 stars.
  • One-Punch Man, Volume 6 by ONE. Still hilarious, still one of my favorite manga. This volume’s storyline is adapted towards the end of the anime. It’s the one with the aliens attacking the planet and none of the S-rank heroes could beat it. Saitama is such a wonderful character.
  • Ruin & Rising by Leigh Bardugo. The only thing that can redeem this trilogy for me is a whole spin-off series about Nikolai. Nothing happened until the final 1/4 of the book and even that was predictable and it felt forced. Alina had three guys to choose from. I mean, she did like all three of them. She kissed all three of them and liked it. And she ended up with my least favorite choice. Boo. Overall, this trilogy wasn’t what I expected. I’m thinking of unhauling these books… I do have them digitally anyway. 3/5 stars.
  • Champion: Graphic Novel by Marie Lu, Leigh Dragoon, and Kaari. I love these graphic novel adaptations. It condenses the book without losing anything. However, I wanted to see a specific part of the book drawn into a comic but it wasn’t there. Oh well, the ending more than made up for it. 4/5 stars.
  • Amour Amour by Krista and Becca Ritchie. Yes, a New Adult novel. I first heard about this from Sam of Thoughts on Tomes. She mentioned “Russian” and I was sold. Blame Yuri!!! ON ICE but I think that helped with my enjoyment of this book. I loved this. I got super engrossed with the story, Thora’s struggle to reach her dreams, to get there on her own, and finding love. Nikolai is not your typical alpha male… he started out like Otabek – brooding and emotionless. But towards the end, he would cry openly, express emotion, and smile… like Viktor! I got attached to one minor character, Luka. I’m so glad that he’s the protagonist in the second book, Infini. 4.5/5 stars.

STATS:

  • 2761 pages
  • 5 manga/graphic novel and 5 novels

I thought I wasn’t going to buy many books this month. But then I saw some “want very much” books on Book Outlet so I put in an order for two books. A week after, they had a sale so I put in another order. Then my pre-orders came in. And April 29 was Indie Bookstore Day. A bunch of free books joined in. I ended up with 16 new acquisitions.

  • Dark Matter by Blake Crouch – Blogging For Books. I received the paperback edition ahead the May 2 release. This book is going to be read very, very soon.
  • City of Miracles by Robert Jackson Bennett – Library Thing Early Reviewers, ARC. This is the 3rd book in The Divine Cities trilogy. I’ve been seeing these books around for a while. This book prompted two more purchases, the first and second books, obviously. I prefer reading high fantasy as physical books. This book is also being release May 2nd.
  • Six of Crows and Crooked Kingdom by Leigh Bardugo boxed set – Barnes & Noble. I ordered this together with a pre-order months ago. I finished The Grisha trilogy on the day that this arrived. Many say that this duology is way better than the trilogy so I have high hopes.
  • The Circle by Dave Eggers – Book Outlet. I needed another book so I can make the most out of the $4.99 minimum shipping at Book Outlet. I ended up getting the Canadian edition.
  • The Handmaid’s Tale by Margaret Atwood – Book Outlet. I bought this with the above item. I got the pretty Emblem edition with the scrabble tiles. I would love to read this especially with the series on Hulu. I’ve been wanting to read this since I was in high school. I think I may have an older copy somewhere in the mess I call “room”.
  • The Breakdown by BA Paris – ARC from the publisher. I was surprised to receive this. I also got an ARC of Behind Closed Doors. This book has a July 18th release date.
  • Norse Mythology by Neil Gaiman – Vroman’s Bookstore Hasting’s Ranch. I now have the limited edition made available only on Indie Bookstore Day. Yes, I made a trip down to the nearest Vroman’s Bookstore just to get this book. And use my 30% off coupon.
  • Penance by Kanae Minato – Vroman’s Bookstore Hastings Ranch. You guys know how much I loved Confessions. I’m so glad there’s another translated book from this author. And thus, my Japanese fiction continues to grow.
  • Champion: Graphic Novel by Marie Lu, Leigh Dragoon, and Kaari – Barnes & Noble. This was the pre-order that I mentioned above. Coincidentally, I met both authors at a signing on the same night. I read this on the day I received it.
  • City of Blades by Robert Jackson Bennett – Book Outlet. This is book 2 in The Divine Cities trilogy. I have book 1 on the way from another seller.
  • Every Heart a Doorway by Seanan Maguire – Book Outlet. I caved. I saw this for a good price and noticed that the quantity is going down every time I refresh so I bought it right away.
  • Persuasion by Jane Austen – Book Outlet. I bought the Penguin Classics Deluxe edition. I’m a sucker for pretty covers.
  • Radiance by Catherynne M. Valente – Book Outlet. I’ve been seeing this book for a while. I actually want her other book, Deathless but what the heck.
  • The Graveyard Apartment by Mariko Koike – Book Outlet. When I see a Japanese fiction book on Book Outlet, I get it. This sounds so interesting.
  • Justice Buried by Hilary Thompson – Kindle store. This is the first book in the Strabright trilogy. I don’t know what this is about but it was free on Kindle. I don’t know why I went ahead and got it. But no loss if I end up not reading it.

Guess what… it’s gonna be… you know the rest. 😉

 

5 thoughts on “WRAP-UP | APRIL 2017

    • Sigh. I couldn’t believe how hyped this trilogy was… still is. By the time I was about to finish the 3rd book, I still wasn’t getting it. Now I’m hesitant to continue with this universe. A lot of people said they loved Six of Crows but those same people said the same thing about The Grisha trilogy and look where that led me.

      Liked by 1 person

  1. I had been considering adding Shadow & Bone to my (already too long) TBR, but after your review I might just skip it… As for Persuasion, I am rather new to your blog so I don’t know what other Jane Austen works you’ve read, but this one I found almost dull compared to some of the others… I am curious to see what you think!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yeah, The Grisha trilogy was such a disappointment. I don’t even get why it is so well-loved. Maybe at the time they came out, it was something new to the scene. I expected so much more. 😦

      Hmm, I think I have read Persuasion already. But a looooooong time ago. I can’t even remember much of it though. Haha, so I think it merits a re-read then.

      Like

Thoughts?

