TOP TEN TUESDAYS | Cate-bait

I met Gary Sinise and Daniel Henney yesterday. I’m still not over it. XD

This week’s Top Ten Tuesday is the Top Ten things that will make me instantly want to read a book.

At first, I had no idea what to put on here. I didn’t think I had “criteria” or “reasons” why I want to read a book. I checked out a few entries and they said “pretty covers”, “sale prices/free”, “interesting blurbs or first sentences”, etc. While I do like all those as well, I see them more as reasons to BUY a book. I never really relied on blurbs and summaries; that’s what GoodReads is for — I do so much “research” before committing to a book. (I do that with every purchase that I make LOL.) And while I prefer pretty covers, it doesn’t influence my want to read a certain book over another. But all those reasons are totally valid. Just… not for me.

Then I sat down and looked through my GoodReads “read” shelf. I noticed I do have a preference. I went through a phase where I bought books in bulk because of all the sales but most of them still sit unread… somewhere in my room (who has enough shelf space anyway). And a lot of my “read” books are purchased pretty recently. So here are my 10 things that will bait me to reading books sooner than others.

  1. Japanese fiction with anime and/or live action adaptation. I have a lot of Japanese fiction. I would love to be able to read all of them but I tend to put priority on those ones with anime adaptations. All of the manga that I read so far have anime versions – and I may have watched the anime before reading the manga or light novel. That’s usually how I hear of manga or light novel anyway. It’s interesting for me to see the drawings come to life on the screen and voiced by my favorite voice over actors.
  2. Anything recommended/mentioned on the Sword & Scale podcast. True Crime is one of my favorite genres but sadly, I don’t read nearly enough of it. I’ve taken some recommendations from this incredible true crime podcast and have enjoyed some of them. I’m tempted to have a “Sword & Scale book club/shelf” because of all the interesting titles mentioned in several episodes.
  3. Finished duologies and trilogies. I’m almost done with my marathon of The Grisha Trilogy. I’m not a follower of new releases. I actually prefer reading older series. The best way to read duologies is to read it back-to-back. It feels like one whole story. And I think I may have to do the same with the other trilogies that I own but have not started yet. I quite enjoyed it this way.
  4. RUSSIA! I blame the great and fictional Viktor Nikiforov of Yuri!!! ON ICE for this renewed interest in anything Russian. I went through a binge-watch of Russian-themed espionage films back in the day. Now, I’m looking to books as well. Thus, The Grisha Trilogy marathon.
  5. Mixed media content. I breezed through Illuminae and Gemina. I read Train Man in one day. These kinds of books fly by fast and they’re a good thing to mix up one’s reading experience. Rather than block words on a page, these have pictures and new ways to enjoy a story.
  6. Sci-fi/mystery adventure thrillers. Along the lines of James Rollins and Dan Brown. The latter’s Robert Langdon series is an auto-buy for me. James Rollins’ adventures are just so good. Formulaic as they might come, they’re still so enjoyable – especially on audio! Actually, I will read anything from either of these authors.
  7. World War II / Holocaust. Except Anne Frank’s diary. In high school, I read every Holocaust-related book that I could get my hands on. Fictionalized or historical, lemme at it.  Prisoner of Night and Fog by Anne Blankman sat so very high on  my wishlist last year. I prioritized Wolf by Wolf by Ryan Graudin over so many other things because it was set in a world where the Axis Powers won. That whole era is so fascinating for me.
  8. A very hyped book on SALE. I’m talking about free to $1.99 at the most. I felt this especially with Vassa In the Night by Sarah Porter. (And again, Russia.) I got my copy for less than 99cents because it was green tag day at Goodwill and this had a green tag on it. I remember this was so hyped back when it was released. And when I got home, I wanted to start it so badly. But Shadow and Bone called out to me. (Russian, again.)
  9. Anything by VE Schwab, Marie Lu, and Pierce Brown. Welcome to my list of auto-buy authors. I will ready anything they put out. Even poetry. And I don’t care for poetry. I have dropped everything to read Morning Star when it came out. I purposefully didn’t start another book before I got my hands on A Conjuring of Light. I will make time to read these authors’ works.
  10. Fantasy, in general. I will more likely to read fantasy than contemporary.

But being the mood reader that I am, I will read whatever the hell I want whenever the hell I want it. XD

6 thoughts on “TOP TEN TUESDAYS | Cate-bait

  1. Finished trilogy yes! I love finding a finished trilogy that looks amazing it’s so satisfying to be able to binge read and not wait a whole year for the next installment 😀 Auto buy authors are the best if there was an option which was just let them direct debit me when they release a book I’d go for it I mean I pre-order so many months before I nearly forget I’ve done it 😄 Great list most of these were on mine to 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yeah, I’m not much for new releases or debuts but I have a list of auto-buy authors that I either pre-order or I buy the book upon release. 🙂

      There’s so many finished series out there. I just have to pick a good one.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I love reading older series, too! I tend to forget pretty much everything in the first book if the sequel takes a long time to come out, so I usually wait for all the books released before doing a marathon read 😀

    And WWII fiction is an auto-read for me, too! 🙂 Have you read The Nightingale by Kristin Hannah?

    Liked by 1 person

    • I was late on the YA train. When Twilight and the like came out, I wasn’t feeling it. I think that was my Holocaust/Borgias phase lol. So now, I’m finding more and more YA books that I like and luckily, a lot of them are finished series.

      No, not yet. But it’s on my TBR. Eventually, I’ll get to it. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      • Haha, and that turned out to be a good thing, since you didn’t have to wait a long time for the other books’ releases. I think I got into YA series around the Hunger Games period. But I haven’t read Twilight either…

        Yay! Hope you enjoy it!!

        Liked by 1 person

Thoughts?

