New Year Resolutions Book Tag

Can you tell that I love these tags? I can dedicate a blog for all of them but where the fun in that? 😉

imageedit_2_3393946401

This is another fun one from Thrice Read. I love these resolutions posts and videos even though we’re halfway through January already. And I know, I keep on saying that I’m not much for TBR lists so this is my way of going around that. Listing down as many books as many times may actually have me want to read them. And oh man, 2016 was a good book-buying year for me. And that’s not counting my digital books.

So really, I’m doing this more for me. LMAO! But please see it also as a recommendations post. I hope it inspires you to read the books you already have. If you’ve read any of these, please feel free to push me to read them.

Feel free to do this yourself. Let’s all try to have an awesome reading year!


AUTHOR YOU’D LIKE TO READ (THAT YOU’VE NEVER READ BEFORE)

How much time do you have? A good chunk of my TBR is from new-to-me authors. I have whole series from new-to-me authors. But if I have to choose, I would love to check out the works of Leigh Bardugo and Maggie Stiefvater. Blame it on the overly YA saturated book tube. I keep hearing about Six of Crows and The Raven Cycle but to be honest with you, I’ve only ever held these books in my hands. I never read the blurbs nor flipped to page 69. Yup, I know absolutely nothing about the books by these women but gosh dang, I’m curious to read them.

A BOOK YOU’D LIKE TO READ

Again, how much time do you have? I sure don’t have much. These books take priority though: The Devil of Nanking by Mo Hayder (I even bought a better copy of this book because the first one I got was a beat up mass market paperback), And then There Were None by Agatha Christie, and Grotesque by Natsuo Kirino (I actually plan to buy that signed copy that I found at a used bookstore near me).

A CLASSIC YOU’D LIKE TO READ

No… it’s not Jane Eyre this time. I have to go with Sense and Sensibility by Jane Austen. It’s been too long since I last read this book. I’m still waiting for a pretty edition to come my way.

A BOOK YOU’D LIKE TO RE-READ

This is a sure thing. Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone by JK Rowling. This book is turning 20 this year. Can you imagine that? How old were you when you first read this book?

A BOOK YOU’VE HAD FOR AGES AND WANT TO READ

Battle Royale by Koushun Takami. I think this was my first Japanese fiction book. I got the older translation. I may pick up the new one after I read this one just to compare.

20161220_222230.jpg

A BIG BOOK YOU’D LIKE TO READ

In the Name of the Wind by Patrick Rothfuss. If reading Brandon Sanderson late last year proved anything, it’s that I can read epic fantasy easily. I actually do love this genre. I do have a copy of this book but it’s a very well-loved mass market paperback. I’m on the hunt for a trade paperback… or a pretty cover.

AN AUTHOR YOU PREVIOUSLY READ AND WANT TO READ MORE OF

Definitely Ryan Graudin. After reading the Wolf by Wolf duology, I was so entranced by her writing that I simply wanted more. I do have her novel The Walled City so hopefully, I can get to that this year too.

A BOOK YOU GOT FOR CHRISTMAS AND WOULD LIKE TO READ

American Gods by Neil Gaiman. I didn’t buy the pretty illustrated edition for nothing. I listened to about 25% of this book until I realized that I’ll enjoy this more if I read it. At the same time, the illustrated version was about to come out so I bought it from Book Depository when the price dropped enough.

A SERIES YOU WANT TO READ (START AND FINISH)

I have a handful: Daughter of Smoke and Bone trilogy by Laini TaylorThe Winner’s trilogy by Marie Rutkoski. Anna Dressed in Blood duology by Kendare Blake. The Black Butler manga. Really, I have so many.

A SERIES YOU WANT TO FINISH (THAT YOU’VE ALREADY STARTED)

Definitely the Mistborn trilogy by Brandon Sanderson. At least the first trilogy. And also the Ring series by Koji Suzuki. I finished Spiral yesterday and it was amazing.

DO YOU SET READING GOALS? IF SO, HOW MANY BOOKS DO YOU WANT TO READ IN 2017?

My goal is always 25. I’m 10 books in as of this posting. Thanks to manga. I don’t think that’s cheating at all. 😉


Speaking of manga, do you read manga? What’s your favorite? How about anime?

2 thoughts on “New Year Resolutions Book Tag

  1. Six of Crows. Oh my gosh. You absolutely must read it!! Must must must. 😂 It is hands down one of my absolute favourite reads of all time! Once you read it make sure to tell me what you think haha. 😉 And I agree Ryan Graudin is such a great author! Can’t wait to read what other books she puts out next. ❤️

    Liked by 1 person

Thoughts?

