2017 Better World Books Reading Challenge

I thought I wasn’t going to do a reading challenge this year but this seemed right up my alley.

I did 27 out of 40 in my 2016 Pop Sugar Reading Challenge. I think I did okay. I didn’t really pay it any mind. Then I realized that I didn’t really stick with it because instead of putting down titles and making it a point to read them to fulfill the conditions, I was trying to see if the books that I’ve been reading fit the bill. So it’s the other way around.

I’m not much for TBRs but this year, I want to actually challenge myself. So I checked out all the reading challenges out there – Book Riot, Pop Sugar, etc. – and decided to go with the Better World Books 2017 Reading Challenge. I’ve been a customer of this online bookseller for quite a while and I love the deals that I’ve gotten from them. Last year, I think I purchased a total of 36 books from them. And as a bonus, they match your purchase with a donation. Buy one book, they donate one book to an organization. Isn’t that a nice gesture.

This challenge has 25 items. Having put my Goodreads main goal to 25, this is perfect! Of course, I’ll try to read beyond that number but if I could complete this 25-item challenge, then that takes care of my Goodreads goal as well.

  1. A food memoir. The Fortune Cookie Chronicles by Jennifer 8. Lee. (I’m a sucker for Chinese food, what can I say?)
  2. A collection of short stories. Birthday by Koji Suzuki. (Technically the 4th book in the Ringu series.)
  3. A young adult novel. Caraval by Stephanie Garber.
  4. A book with a color in the title. Black Butler manga by Yana Toboso.
  5. A book that’s more than 100 years old. Jane Eyre by Charlotte Bronte (Of course.)
  6. A book you picked based on its cover. Furthermore by Tahereh Mafi.
  7. A book set in a place you want to visit. A Gathering of Shadows by VE Schwab. (London.)
  8. A book based on a fairytale. A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas.
  9. A National Book Award winner. Challenger Deep by Neal Shusterman.
  10. A book that takes place in a forest. Area X: The Southern Reach Trilogy by Jeff VanderMeer. (I have the bind-up.)
  11. A romance that takes place during travel. I kind of want to re-read Outlander or any of the books in that series.
  12. A book under 200 pages. The Will to Keep Winning by Daigo Umehara. (192 pages.)
  13. A book over 400 pages. The Final Empire by Brandon Sanderson. (647 pages.)
  14. A banned book. Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone by JK Rowling. (2017 marks the 20th anniversary of its release. TWENTIETH.)
  15. A nonfiction book about nature. I’m taking suggestions!
  16. A fantasy novel. Uprooted by Naomi Novik.
  17. A book by a person of color. The Star-Touched Queen by Roshani Chokshi. (half-Indian, half-Filipina)
  18. A book by a female writer. Shadow and Bone by Leigh Bardugo.
  19. A book of poetry. Not much for poetry but I’m taking suggestions.
  20. A book set in Asia. Train Man by Hitori Nakano. (Japan)
  21. A book about immigrants. Anya’s Ghost by Vera Brosgol.
  22. A book about a historical event. Maus by Art Spiegelman.
  23. A book with a child narrator. The Scandalous Sisterhood of Prickwillow Place by Julie Berry.
  24. A book translated from another languange. Spiral by Koji Suzuki.
  25. A book that’s been adapted into a movie (Bonus: Watch the movie and compare). Battle Royale  by Koushun Takami.

I would also like to add that with the exception of two books (as of 1/6/2017) and those without titles yet (obviously), I have copies of these books in my possession whether they’re physical or digital. So in a way, this list is a “true” TBR! Yay, me! I will try not to change this list much but like I said, any of my Japanese fiction books can substitute for a couple of these items. We’ll see. This looks like a pretty solid list right now.

If you have any suggestions, please let me know. Also, I would like to see your challenge picks. Let’s cheer each other on!

One thought on “2017 Better World Books Reading Challenge

  1. Pingback: WRAP-UP | JANUARY 2017 | Shelf Pickings

Thoughts?

