WRAP-UP | DECEMBER 2016

LE NOUVEL

I’m listening to Subterranean by James Rollins as I finally compose this December wrap-up post. It’s not as interesting as my previous listens but I read enough James Rollins works to follow his formulas. I am enjoying it.

I won’t bore you with any more stuff. I’ve talked about my 2016 reading in previous posts, rounding everything up and picking out my favorites and disappointments. If you so desire, just scroll through them. And thanks!

7cb1938ce9fdc0ecf6e42f96972ba98b010438a9_hq

TOTAL BOOKS READ: 12.

  • One-Punch Man, Volumes 1, 2, and 3 by ONE. Oh man, this is a RIOT. I love both the anime and this manga. I’m glad that the anime stayed true to the source material. Every character and every scenario is hilarious. When I first heard of this, I thought it was ridiculous because Saitama beats everyone with a single punch. Where’s the fun in that? Well, everything is fun in this manga/anime! I rated volumes 1 & 2, 5 stars and volume 3, 4 stars.
  • Junji Ito’s Cat Diary: Yon & Mu by Junji Ito. Imagine a horror manga artist writing a comedic memoir about his wife’s cats. The story is actually heartwarming but the art is so funny. It’s the effect of scary faces as reactions to funny moments. 5/5 stars.
  • Prodigy: Graphic Novel by Marie Lu. I read this as catch up before reading the final book in the trilogy. I like that they have this. And I enjoyed this more than I did the 2nd book. I felt that it needed the visuals to tell the story better. It’s your typical second book where there’s nothing but action but no conclusion. They went everywhere and I appreciated seeing that instead of just reading it. 4/5 stars.
  • Deception Point by Dan Brown (audio). I loved this so much. It had me on the edge of my seat almost the entire time. I planned to read all of Dan Brown’s work but I just couldn’t find the time. I saw the audio version was available on Hoopla so after the not-so favorable experience with A Study in Scarlet, I went with a writing style I am familiar with. And loved it. 5/5 stars.
  • Gekkan Shoujo, Nozaki-kun, Volume 7 by Izumi Tsubaki. I admit, I’m reading the fan translated scans. Sorry. But I just have to have my Hori-senpai fix. This volume doesn’t follow the anime anymore but I still found parts of it funny. Not as good as the previous volumes though. 3/5 stars.
  • Sandstorm by James Rollins (audio). I finally got to this! This is the first book in the Sigma Force series. I now read from book 1 to 5. Here I go with my 5s again. This is one of my favorite series but this first book doesn’t have Grayson Pierce so… yeah, I would’ve liked it more if he’s in it. 4/5 stars.
  • Champion by Marie Lu. I finished a series that I started in 2016! The ending alone deserves these 5 stars. It destroyed me. I cannot wait for the graphic novel version to complete my collection.
  • Ring by Koji Suzuki. You guys have no idea what lengths I went to just to complete this series. And this book is so worth that effort. It’s slightly different than the events in the movies but still creepy with that signature deadpan style that I find in a lot of Japanese fiction. 5/5 star.
  • sweetness & lightning, Volumes 1 &2 by Gido Amagakure. Tsumugi is my favorite child. Shinobu is my new favorite girl’s name. I watched this on Crunchyroll in December and fell instantly in love! It’s about a single father and his adorable little girl and food. Watch it. Read it. Love it. 4/5 stars for both.

STATS:

  • about 2075 pages, not counting the audiobooks
  • about 30 hours of audio
  • 1 finished series
  • 1 graphic novel; 7 manga

I originally wanted to finish The Final Empire by Brandon Sanderson before 2017 but things got so busy. I did finish it already and my Favorites of 2016 would’ve looked so different had I finished that on time. 😉

And now, for my purchases. I didn’t think I bought a lot but I had enough to fill a page:

wp-1483463013371.jpg

The Will to Keep Winning by Daigo Umehara is actually a November purchase. I forgot to put it on there. The e-ARC of The Bone Witch by Rin Chupeco is from NetGalley and it comes out in March. The author is Filipino so I figured, I should go and support her work. The Hobbit: 50th Anniversary Edition by JRR Tolkien is the gold-bound edition that comes with a slip cover. I scored that at a used bookstore for $12. TWELVE. DOLLARS. And yes, it’s there… American Gods illustrated edition by Neil Gaiman, Daniel Egneus. It’s such a huge and intimidating book but I already love it.

If you don’t already know, Generation Kill by Evan Wright is one of my all-time favorites. I am trying to collect all covers and I think I have one more to complete the collection. Come through, Abebooks.

And it’s done!

3 thoughts on “WRAP-UP | DECEMBER 2016

Thoughts?

