Black Friday Haul 2016

It’s almost Boxing Day (and the sales that come with it) and it’s only now that I’m bringing you my Black Friday haul.

Blame it on Alibris Marketplace really. I bought two more books during Cyber Monday. I think my order was shipped some time around December 7 or 8… it’s already the 19th and for a package coming from GA to CA? Man, my Book Depository order from the UK was faster. And oh, no tracking number. It’s paid shipping but no tracking number. If only I wasn’t so desperate for a physical copy of Parasite Eve by Hideaki Sena. I hope it comes today or tomorrow. It would suck to have such high hopes, waiting for such a long time only to have to ask for a refund. So there’s the long-winded explanation for the delay.

So these are my Black Friday purchases made from three online stores: Barnes & Noble, Book Outlet, and Better World Books. I split them into three stacks: Japanese fiction, military, and pretty covers.

And my collection of Japanese fiction grows ever bigger. I need to dedicate a month or at least a book every month for these books. I’ve heard about “Japanese June” on booktube but I don’t think they’ve continued it this year. Next year? 😉

  • Revenge by Yoko Ogawa (Book Outlet)
  • The Housekeeper and the Professor by Yoko Ogawa (Better World Books)
  • Junji Ito’s Cat Diary: Yon and Mu by Junji Ito (Book Outlet) – I already read this and it’s hilarious!
  • The Tokyo Zodiac Murders by Soji Shimada (Book Outlet)
  • Loop by Koji Suzuki (Better World Books)
  • Paradise by Koji Suzuki (Better World Books)
  • Promenade of the Gods by Koji Suzuki (Better World Books)
  • Under the Midnight Sun by Keigo Higashino (Barnes & Noble)

It’s crazy how many Keigo Higashino books I have and I’ve only read one so far. And I’ve since completed the Ring series; I received Birthday from Better World Books during their Cyber Monday promotion. I may start Ring tonight and hopefully finish it before the year ends.

Here’s my military stack. As you know, Generation Kill by Evan Wright is one of my very favorite books of all-time. I’ve made it my mission to have it in every cover in existence. I’m waiting on one more to complete my collection. I hope. We’ll see. And United States of Japan by Peter Tieryas is something that caught my eye at several bookstores. I had the opportunity to meet the author at one of my conventions but… I don’t know what happened to that. The Generation Kill UK cover was from Better World Books and the other one is from Book Outlet.

And here’s my pretty covers. I’ve lusted over all of these for the longest time. (Although, I kinda wanted the UK version of Uprooted too.) I sort of collect special Jane Eyre (Charlotte Bronte) covers. This is my 6th copy. My 2nd of Emma (Jane Austen) and this is the 200th anniversary annotated edition. Uprooted by Naomi Novik is something that intrigued me since it came out. It has mixed reviews at best but the good reviews have made me curious enough to finally pick it up. The classic books are from Book Outlet while I used a Barnes & Noble coupon for the 3rd one.

Whew. And all these arrived at the same time. Thus the use of the Book Outlet paper as props. I really hope that one last book comes in today or tomorrow. Then that’s gonna be it for my book hauls in 2016. I hope. 😉

3 thoughts on “Black Friday Haul 2016

Thoughts?

