TOP TEN TUESDAYS | Nice To Meet You

It’s time to roll out the year-end tags, memes, and prompts. I’m loving it!

TopTenTues

This week’s Top Ten Tuesday, we’re listing down the Top Ten New-To-Me Authors I Read For The First Time In 2016.

I’ve read 70 books as of yesterday. More than 50% of that list are from authors who are new to me. Some of them, I’ve read multiple titles. I’ve heard of them before but 2016 was the year when I finally checked them out. I mean, if they’re hyped, there’s got to be a reason why, right? While I’ve not jumped to every bandwagon out there – I’ve yet to read Sarah J. Maas, Laini Taylor, Rainbow Rowell, and so many more – I discovered a good number of new-to-me authors this year. It was kind of tough narrowing it down to just ten so maybe there are honorable mentions later? We’ll see.

(I got a Book Outlet box yesterday so I decided to make use out of the brown paper. Yeah, here I am trying to be artsy LOL.)

  • Kristin Cashore – I chanced on a copy of Graceling at my local thrift store and decided to pick it up. I liked it and then the next thing I know, I own the whole trilogy. I’ve yet to read Bitterblue and I found Fire rather lacking but I enjoy her writing style so much. It is fantasy but it is easy to follow and it’s very creative.
  • Jonathan Maberry – This started out as a cover-buy but now, I have all 4 in the Rot & Ruin series (missing the short story collection but that’s fine). And oh man, I enjoyed this more than I would ever The Walking Dead. I love how he writes horror and gore without it being disgusting. I mean, disgusting is okay too but Rot & Ruin came across as a story of “people in a zombie book” rather than a “zombie book with people in it”.
  • Marie Lu – I see her Instagram feed and I realize that I always miss the opportunity of meeting her on the street by a day. I was at the Wizarding World of Harry Potter and Little Tokyo a day before she posts that she’s there too. That aside, I only have to read Champion to finish that trilogy. I loved Legend; I thought it was straight to the point action. I pulled this out of my double stacked shelves so that I could read it before the month/year ends.
  • Graeme Simsion – I instantly fell in love with The Rosie Project from the moment I saw the Australian edition cover. Then I inhale-read it. While I see the US cover of The Rosie Effect a lot, I want a cover that matches. Book Depository has my back, for sure. I love how the author writes the main character’s voice. It’s so unassuming and quite funny. It’s very subtle and flowing. His writing made me so happy.
  • Keigo Higashino – I have six of this man’s books. SIX. I don’t know what it is but when I read that Song Minho was talking about him, I looked him up and bought one book, The Devotion of Suspect X. It’s a mystery thriller but you know the Japanese does things their way, right? And I like that way. I’ve since read other Japanese mystery thrillers but I like Higashino-san the most.
  • V.E. Schwab –  I’m sure she’s on a lot of people’s lists. She easily shot up my favorite authors and auto-buy list. Really. Right now, I prefer her adult novels than the YA. I love Vicious so much. Hopefully, I can squeeze in A Gathering of Shadows by the end of the year but if not, January 2017. Her world building is so rich and solid. Her characters are so well-thought out. I loved listening to her thought process when writing and how she updates her twitter followers with her progress. If there’s one thing I’m thankful for this 2016, it’s being introduced to her works.
  • Ryan Graudin – I inhaled Wolf by Wolf. And Blood for Blood. I actually stopped myself from reading that for two days because I was so scared of what was going to happen in the end. The vibe reminded me of how I loved The Book Thief. That’s the kind of YA historical fiction that I can get behind. More, please.
  • Alison Goodman – Oh goodness, Eon is one of the best things I’ve ever read this year. Eona too. I don’t know what possessed me to buy this before knowing what it is about but whatever that is… thank you. Alison Goodman knows how to incorporate other cultures without appropriation. I thank her for Lady Dela forever.
  • Otsuichi – I read Zoo and it traumatized me. Even translated it had that effect on me. I think that’s reason enough to put him on this list.
  • Ryu Murakami – Yep, I like this Murakami. He writes such twisted and fucked up stories and I love every single one of them that I read. They are so addicting. And he wrote the source material of one of my favorite horror movies, Audition. I dare you to read that.

Surely, I’ve read more books from new to me authors this year. While I do love Confessions by Kanae Minato, I do hope there are more of her books translated to English. Amie Kaufman also comes to mind but then again, she co-wrote Illuminae and Gemina with Jay Kristoff. I have to read something that she wrote on her own. Recommendations?

2016 has been a year of new things. I hope to continue reading more from these authors and discover new names next year.

2 thoughts on “TOP TEN TUESDAYS | Nice To Meet You

  1. We both have V.E. Schwab on our lists! I still need to catch up with the rest of her backlist. I’m so glad to see Kristin Cashore in your list because I loved her writing, I’m a big fan of both Graceling and Fire (sorry to hear the latter didn’t work for you). I also found The Rosie Project hilarious when I read it but I don’t plan to pick up the sequel, I liked where the first book ended.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I actually did like Fire… if it were a standalone. I struggled with the first chapters of Bitterblue that’s why I put it down after 3-4 chapters.

      Like

Thoughts?

