MUSING MONDAYS | New Releases

What time is it really? I lost track.

Musing

  • I’m currently reading…
  • Up next I think I’ll read…
  • I bought the following book(s) in the past week…
  • I’m super excited to tell you about (book/author/bookish-news)…
  • I’m really upset by (book/author/bookish-news)…
  • I can’t wait to get a copy of…
  • I wish I could read ___, but…
  • I blogged about ____ this past week…

My answers to both prompts are the same two books:

Who says I don’t buy new releases? 😉

I read Illuminae by Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff last month. It was in one of my Book Outlet impulse hauls. Then after that, I read Wolf By Wolf by Ryan Graudin. I loved both of them. Coincidentally, their sequels recently came out. I preordered Blood for Blood. Barnes & Noble waited for the November 1 book birthday before sending both of these out to me. Hey, I opted for free shipping. What can you do?

I just finished Zoo by Otsuichi and frankly, I don’t want to talk or think about that right now. That collection of short stories was freaky as hell and it definitely played on my worst fears. It’s true that I don’t get scared easy but this definitely did. In between stories, I managed to finish two volumes of the Gekkan Shoujo, Nozaki-kun manga by Izumi Tsubaki. It’s an ongoing manga but the anime is completed and I absolutely loved it. I’m definitely more a manga girl than graphic novels.

For this week’s random question: Do you prefer fast-paced novels, or slow, descriptive novels?

If you can find a balance between the two, I’ll take that. In general, I prefer fast books. Super detailed books tend to be chunky and very wordy. But that’s not bad, don’t get me wrong. The whole Parasitology trilogy by Mira Grant wasn’t fast nor slow. It went by steadily and it worked for the subject matter. It had science talk and I thought the slower pace benefited the story. There are also books with such detail, from what the character is wearing to the single leaf blowing across the surface of the abandoned swimming pool. I love that it sets the mood but do we really need all those? And when it comes to fast paced novels, just don’t leave anything out. All in moderation.

Thoughts?

