The Coffee Book Tag

imageedit_2_3393946401

I’m such a nerd. I first saw this tag a few months ago and wrote it down – on paper – and answered it. On paper. Color-coded and all that. I then attached this scrap of paper to my journal and stayed there. Until today. Months later.

I wanted to wait until I order a Starbucks coffee in the new special edition cups but I don’t really get hot drinks from Starbucks. Except chai tea latte. I don’t feel like a hot drink lately. I’m more of a trenta black tea lemonade sweetened. Or the good ol’ green tea frappuccino, no whip. Yeah, just those three.

Anyway, I get coffee from work. I have a Keurig mini. Needless to say, I love coffee.

BLACK: A Series that’s Tough to Get Into but has Hardcore Fans
Any fandom with a lot of hardcore fans are tough to get into, to be honest. Especially if it’s a long series and you’re going into it after it’s over and social media is already chock full of spoilers, fanart, and fanfiction. Anything Sarah J. Maas and Cassandra Clare. I tried many times to start their books but either the fans turn me off or it just wasn’t for me.

PEPPERMINT MOCHA: A Book that Gets More Popular During the Winter or a Festive Time of the Year
Horror novels. Yep, festive for Halloween. I can rear horror novels any time of the year but for others that are unfamiliar with the genre, they choose October-November to try them out. And Harry Potter is always popular but I find more and more people talking about them around the fall or winter. Maybe it’s when people are snuggling in with something they’re familiar with.

HOT CHOCOLATE: A Favorite Children’s Book
As a kid, I loved fairytale collections. As an adult, my favorite children’s book is The Hobbit by JRR Tolkien.

DOUBLE SHOT OF ESPRESSO: A Book that Kept You On the Edge of Your Seat from Start to Finish
I have two. Months ago, it was just Morning Star by Pierce Brown. Now, I’m adding Eon and Eona by Alison Goodman to that list.

STARBUCKS: A Book You See Everywhere
It used to be Rainbow Rowell everything. But now, I think it’s VE Schwab everything. Not that I’m complaining. 😉

OOPS! I ACCIDENTALY GOT DECAF: A Book You Were Expecting More From
Easy. Broken Monsters by Lauren Beukes. Such a disappointed.

THE PERFECT BLEND: Name a Book or Series that was Better and Sweet, but Ultimately Satisfying
The first thing that comes to mind is the Red Rising trilogy by Pierce Brown. The first book was tough to get through but I continued on with the series anyway. Golden Son totally changed my opinion. Morning Star completely and utterly destroyed me.

GREEN TEA: Name a Book or Series that is Quietly Beautiful
I first put in The Night Circus as my answer. But now, it’s Another by Yukito Ayatsuji. It’s a Japanese horror novel that is creepy and atmospheric and just so beautiful. There’s no shock or jump scares. It just tells the story in a steady pace and it’s just so beautiful.

CHAI TEA: Name a Book or Series that Makes You Dream of Far Off Places
Outlander by Diana Gabaldon. I mean, have you seen the TV series? Scotland is a beautiful place.

So what’s your favorite drink? What do you usually order at Starbucks or Coffee Bean or those kinds of places? Jamba Juice, maybe? Let me know so I can try them too.

4 thoughts on “The Coffee Book Tag

  1. It depends on my mood but I either order an iced caramel macchiato, a green tea frap or a java chip frap. Mostly leaning more towards iced coffee instead of fraps bc they’re more desert-like. I had such a hard time getting into SJM books as well. I’ve read 3 so far and they’re ok… I’m still going to continue on with the series though. Just not as fast as everyone else haha.

    Liked by 1 person

    • With SJM books, I’ve read a lot of super positive reviews. I mean, the following is pretty insane, so many loyal fans. But there’s also a LOT of so-so reactions. And for some reason, those resonate with me more. Idk, I might read her work eventually but not really feeling it right now.

      Oooh, I’m pretty picky with iced coffee. I like it super sweet so I’d rather make it myself. I remember trying the franken-frappe something or other from Starbucks last year and it tasted like java mocha with chocolate chips in it. XD

      Liked by 1 person

      • I’m a part of the “so-so”club lol. There are parts I love about it and parts that I hate. I definitely have to be in the mood for her writing.
        Ah I can’t handle my coffee too sweet! I like to have a little bit of bitterness in there. That’s why I normally just get fraps as desserts lol

        Liked by 1 person

Thoughts?

