TOP TEN TUESDAYS | Booktube Made Me

… buy it.

… read it.

TopTenTues

This week’s Top Ten Tuesday , we’re listing down All About Books You Read Because of Recommendation.

I’ve always wanted to do this topic. But every time a Freebie week comes around, I forget all about it. XD I put it down on my journal last night as a future blog topic and then I checked TTT. Yes, the time has come.

I haven’t been watching booktube in a while. I’m more of the beauty community member. But I’ve been watching more and more book-related videos and channels. I love watching hauls and wrap-ups. Bookish discussions are way deeper than I expected. The booktube community definitely inspired me to broaden my horizons and explore more genres. Basically, just read more. I love reading blogs too but I can put a booktube video in the background and the next thing I know, I have 14 books in my Book Outlet cart.

Speaking of Book Outlet, I wouldn’t have discovered this site if not for booktube. The same with Brandon Sanderson books. I’ve been out of touch with the Fantasy genre for some time but now I think I have… 10 of his books? 😉 Yup. My TBR pile grew because of booktube and Book Outlet. And I’ve read more physical books because of it. So, thank yous all around.

These first five books are the ones that I’ve READ because of booktube. Then the next five (6-10) will be books that I BOUGHT because of booktube but haven’t read them yet. I have physical copies of them though.

  1. Saga graphic novels by Brian K. Vaughan and Fiona Staples. I’m fairly new to graphic novels and I’m glad that my reintroduction to the genre is through Saga. I first heard about this at length from Problems of a Book Nerd. The I started seeing it on other videos, all praises. So I decided to check it out. I had to physically stop myself from speeding through all published collections.
  2. Broken Monsters by Lauren Beukes. I ended up not liking this book but I first heard about it on booktube. I forgot which one but I remember being super intrigued upon hearing the premise. I took a chance but alas, it wasn’t what I thought it would be.
  3. Lexicon by Max Barry. Thanks to Rincey Reads for this recommendation. Well, not really a recommendation. I saw her unbox this and I immediately checked it out. It’s an amazing, suspenseful read.
  4. Liesl and Po by Lauren Oliver. And every middle-grade book on my Goodreads TBR. Richard Denney of Books and Bullshit is one awesome booktuber. Don’t let the curse word in his channel name deter you; he has a ton of middle-great recommendations.
  5. Wolf by Wolf by Ryan Graudin. I clearly remember getting this recommendation from Peruse Project. When she mentioned something about the Nazis winning the war and there’s a motorcycle race, I was sold. In fact, I’m reading this right now.
  6. Prisoner of Night and Fog by Anne Blankman. This is another Nazi-era book. I love these. I first heard about this from Hails Hearts NYC. Actually, I’ve only heard it from her channel.
  7. The Sacred Lies of Minnow Bly by Stephanie Oakes. I’ve been seeing this book a lot on Book Outlet but it was alliesugar‘s video that finally pushed me to buy it.
  8. Lock In by John Scalzi. I cannot remember who it was specifically but I know it’s a guy on booktube. Heh.
  9. And I Darken by Kiersten White. There’s no shortage of YA-centric booktubers. It could be any one of them. But when I heard that premise, I so wanted to read this book.
  10. You by Caroline Kepnes. It was a mystery/thriller recommendation video. And then I started seeing it everywhere lol.

I’m sure there’s more. But these stood out to me the most. Do check out the booktubers that I linked on this post. Who is your favorite? What kind of booktube video is your favorite?

2 thoughts on “TOP TEN TUESDAYS | Booktube Made Me

  1. Pingback: We’ve been nominated… The Versatile Blogger award :D + Three Truths and a Lie Tag answers ;) – Closet Readers

Thoughts?

