#2RAT | Cozy Reads

read-a-theme

How do you describe a “cozy” read? I am aware of the Cozy Mysteries and have read some when I was a kid… hiding out in the library during graduation rehearsals. Yep! Oh how many Mills & Boone and Cozy Mystery books did I go through before they found out what I was doing. 😄

I had a blast with last month’s 2RAT topic which was “Quick Reads”. I did pretty well; 3.5 books. I eventually finished that point-5 read after the readathon. I had one more book that I hoped to read but I happened to choose such a heavy-hitting novel so I passed the rest of the weekend with graphic novels.

This month’s 2RAT starts September 30, Friday at 6PM and ends October 2, Sunday at 11:59PM wherever you are in the world. I happen to follow PST so hello to you from the West Coast. And the them is COZY READS, hence the first paragraph.

So… what are cozy reads really? From the announcement videos (Captured in Words, Sabine’s Book Nook), they define it as comfy reads for the fall season. Books that you read when you want to hunker down, wrapped in a blanket with no plans to move for a long time, mug of cocoa within arms reach.

*looks out window, checks thermometer*

It’s 34C/ 94F here in California. What “fall”?

Hey, we’re doing it anyway. I may substitute the tea with a trenta cup of black tea lemonade or a large Jamba Juice though. Even in colder months, I’m not a fan of drinking hot stuff when reading. I sometimes make tea and then forget about it until it’s all tepid and cold. Hee!

Anyway, when I think of cozy reads, I immediately think of long reads. Those 500+ pages tomes that suck you in and you find yourself lost in its pages. Metaphorically being wrapped in the world, blanket or no blanket. I’m already reading something like that, Mistborn by Brandon Sanderson, but I’m merely halfway through it. Although, I am determined to finish it by the end of the month, it’ll overlap with the first hours of 2RAT… assuming I don’t get inspired and finish it today or tomorrow. I blame Trails of Cold Steel 2. And a reading slump… ish. Excuses.

I’ve said this before and I’ll say it again, I don’t do TBRs well. I’m a mood reader and even if I try to make a TBR, chances are I’ll read something that is not on that list. So I’m not 100% sure what book or books to read for this readathon but here are a couple that I have in mind. I’m only including books that I physically own. I have a 20+ book haul for this month – a huge chunk of that is my birthday book haul – on top of my other unreads so I have so many to choose from! If I don’t finish Mistborn by the start of 2RAT, I’ll put that down and then start with my pick of the weekend. I might just read one book this time around.

  • Jane Eyre by Charlotte Bronte. I got a new edition. I’ve yet to read that one.
  • Another by Yukito Ayatsuji. It’s a Japanese horror thriller that was made into one of my favorite anime. Yeah, it’s not yet very Halloween-y but Japanese novels tend to completely envelop the reader into the book’s world.
  • Station Eleven by Emily St. John Mandel. I’ve been wanting to read this for a while now. It’s not too long of a read so perfect for a weekend? We’ll see.

Which one should I go for? You tell me. Hopefully, I can get to any one of them. And hopefully, I make a dent on the remaining pages of my current read.

What’s on your October TBR? What books do you consider as “cozy” reads? Recommend me some titles!

6 thoughts on “#2RAT | Cozy Reads

  1. They all sound really interesting 😛 Start with Another (since you sort of already know the plot from the anime – might be a good book to sink into the Read-a-ton with) also, if you liked another you should Check out Cossette no Shouzou (Le Portrait de Petit Cossette in english) – it has quite a similar feel (even if the plot is completely different 😛 ) only 3 episodes though

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: WRAP-UP | SEPTEMBER 2016 + #2RAT | Shelf Pickings

Thoughts?

