#T5W | TV Show Adaptation Wishlist

This week, we are talking about Books You Want To See As TV Shows.

118368

The three things that I love to do on my free time are: read (duh), watch TV (Hulu Plus, thank you), and watch my brother play Japanese RPG games (Trails of Cold Steel has dethroned Final Fantasy 8 as my favorite JRPG of life). Sometimes all at the same time. You can replace TV with a Youtube video or some concert on DVD but I love TV. There was a time when I was juggling 10 shows in a week. I’m a notorious series collector, especially when that show’s finished its run. (CSI will always be my all-time favorite.)

With the recent news that the final Divergent movie is to be a TV movie instead, it got me thinking. There are some books that are better adapted as movies than movies, and vice-versa. I’ve since quit the Divergent trilogy so I might not even see that in whatever form it comes in. But there are books that I do want to see adapted to screen. Whether they be TV or film, it depends on the material.

I know that A Darker Shade of Magic is already in development for TV. I heard it from VE Schwab herself. As far as I heard, Red Rising by Pierce Brown is possibly being turned into a movie. Yeah, I can see that. That book – the whole trilogy, really – is better consumed in one go. I read people include Legend by Marie Lu in their lists but that book flew by so fast that it might not have enough material for even a 4-episode mini series. And as you know, Outlander by Diana Gabaldon is already a TV show… and what a glorious dream come true that is to old and new fans.

So here’s my wish list. I’m still in the middle of marathoning American Horror Story and waiting for Lucifer Season 2 to come back and The Strain Season 3 episodes to show up on Hulu so I don’t mind waiting for these adaptations. Just do it well, Hollywood. I beg of you.

  • The Parasitology trilogy by Mira Grant. Think of The Strain meets The Walking Dead. I can see it being like that. This trilogy is a terrifying yet fascinating look into the near future where the worms that we fear and stay away from are used to improve the quality of human life… until they develop a mind of their own. It’s a slow and steady burn like The Walking Dead with the adventure that The Strain has to offer. And oh, I just want to see Daniel Henney as possibly Nathan Kim. *wink*
  • Broken Monsters by Lauren Beukes. I have to say, I did not like this book. But it had its moments. While I love reading mystery novels, I prefer watching police procedurals vs mystery/thrillers. So rather than this being a show on its own, I would love it to be a Criminal Minds episode instead. Or at least one of those two-part season finale, season premiere kind of thing they used to do back in the day. Maybe if they decide to keep Criminal Minds: Beyond Borders going longer. The ritualistic killings in this book is perfect for an international setting. (Yup, and more Daniel Henney LOL.)
  • This Savage Song by Victoria Schwab. This book reads like one season of a TV show. Each chapter feels like a different episode and I could totally see it work as a TV series. I’m not usually a fan of young adult-ish themes on TV but this has potential. It’s not cutesy and I can see it having production value.
  • Captive Prince by CS Pacat. If there’s something that I learned from watching, following, and loving Spartacus and Outlander, the Starz Network is not one to shy from risque and controversial subjects and aesthetics. This books has themes of BSDM, m/m relationships, nudity, sex… it could very well be something like Spartacus. I think I would enjoy that more than reading about it.
  • Escape from Furnace series by Alexander Gordon Smith. I’ve only read the first book but I have all five. I picture this as a potential season of American Horror Story. I don’t hear a lot of people talking about this book series but I liked the first book and am determined to get through the rest.

There you go. What are you currently watching? I’m just trying to keep my head up lately. But hey, I’m open to suggestions… for distractions.

2 thoughts on “#T5W | TV Show Adaptation Wishlist

Thoughts?

