MAILBOX MONDAY (MUSINGS) #10 | No Book-Buying Ban

Gasp! I’m blogging from my house? This is… so foreign to me. XD

Happy Labor Day to those who celebrate. I personally dread it because that means I have to go back to hel- I mean, work – tomorrow. I needed this weekend. I need more of this weekend. A lot has happened in the past week; most of it bad but I live for the little good things that made me smile even for just a second.

This is another two-in-one. It’s been a while since the last one and I have a lot to talk about!

Musing

  • I’m currently reading…
  • Up next I think I’ll read…
  • I bought the following book(s) in the past week…
  • I’m super excited to tell you about (book/author/bookish-news)…
  • I’m really upset by (book/author/bookish-news)…
  • I can’t wait to get a copy of…
  • I wish I could read ___, but…
  • I blogged about ____ this past week…

I’m back to reading Snow Like Ashes by Sara Raasch. And I think I figured out what is bothering me about it hence the sort of slump I’m experiencing with it. The writing. It sounds so… simple? Amateurish? No, not really that but I feel like the writing is inconsistent, as if written by a kid. But then again, the author did mention that she started the draft when she was 12 years old or something. I don’t know, don’t quote me on that. I am enjoying the story but the writing is so off-putting. It’s like reading a middle-grade Graceling.

Over the weekend, I participated and completed my first readathon. It’s the Read-A-Theme Read-A-Thon. I was able to read three “Quick Reads”, the theme of the month, two comic compilations and one novel. I was halfway through a third graphic novel but I sort of DNF’d because I wasn’t enjoying it and I had somewhere else to go before I was able to finish it. Still up in the air if I’m counting that to my 2016 numbers. But I did finish Saga Volumes 2 and 3 as well as Audition by Ryu Murakami. Yep, that’s my 3rd Ryu Murakami book this year. That’s 503 pages so almost like one long novel. I’m glad I participated and look forward to joining this readathon again next year!

Last Friday was an especially tough day for me so I decided to go on a little book shopping at my local Goodwill. You know, a couple of dollars for good books won’t hurt. So I ended up with Station Eleven by Emily St. John Mandel and of course, another copy of Jane Eyre by Charlotte Bronte. Then, I beelined to Vroman’s Bookstore for more feel-better vibes. I wasn’t planning on buying anything there; I just wanted inspiration. But then I saw Calamity by Brandon Sanderson. Signed. Special edition. Discounted. I wanted to buy this fromBook Outlet every single time I see it but it sells out so fast. But sometimes, coughing up $$ for books isn’t such a bad thing after all.

Also, I didn’t realize until I took this photo that the three books I picked up last Friday were all shades of purple. Is this in homage to my poor bruised soul? Here’s to hoping this week is a better one.

For this week’s random question: Name your best-loved character from a fiction book.

Peeta Mellark. I don’t know what it is about him but I will defend him to the ends of the earth. I will protect him from Gale fans, from haters, Snow, Johanna, and even Katniss Everdeen herself.

And now, to the good stuff!

MAILBOX MONDAY #10 | Let the Birthday Month Book-Buying Begin!

It’s my birthday month. So I’m giving myself permission to buy everything I want. Yes, even lifting the makeup buying ban (although I’ve been on it for so long that I kind of lost the desire to purchase makeup lmao). But I will practice restraint. Although, I’m not making any promises.

A little backstory on this haul. I actually received this on August 31. Technically, this should be an August haul. But all photos and GoodReads editing were done on September 1st so it counts as a September loot. I know that doesn’t make sense hahaha.

From left to right beside the adorable Book Outlet bear:

  • And Then There Were None by Agatha Christie. I finally have this book! I wanted to include this on my readathon TBR but I wanted to savor reading this.
  • Novice by Taran Matharu. This is an ARC I got at the One Dollar Bookstore. I know, I know… you’re not supposed to sell ARCs but hey, it’s there for a dollar and I’ve
    been eyeing this at Book Outlet for the longest time.
  • Suffer the Children by Craig DiLouie. I’ve scouted this book from Barnes and Noble. And from Amazon Kindle. I finally caved and got it from Book Outlet.
  • A Natural History of Dragons, The Tropic of Serpents, and Voyage of the Basilisk by Marie Brennan. And one of them came signed! I hope to eventually read and complete this series. We all say that but how many of us actually do it. XD
  • The Sacred Lies of Minnow Bly by Stephanie Oakes. I heard from a booktuber that this book was mentioned as a good piece of some kind of fiction. I can’t remember it now but I am very intrigued with the topic.
  • These Shallow Graves by Jennifer Donnelly. A sort of cover buy but I’ve been clicking on this book every time I made a Book Outlet order. I finally got it.
  • The Way of Kings and Words of Radiance by Brandon Sanderson. When I’ll get to them, I have no stinkin’ idea. How many books do I have from this man now? Nine. How many read? None. Remedy that. SOON.

So there you go. It’s pretty epic. 2016 has been very good to my reading life so far. Hopefully, I can keep this up. I’ve been book journaling again (more on that in another post). I’m trying to post more reviews and participate in more tags. Joining a readathon is a step towards the right direction. And this blog is growing! Thank you so much, everyone. 🙂

I hope all of you have an awesome rest of the week!

3 thoughts on “MAILBOX MONDAY (MUSINGS) #10 | No Book-Buying Ban

  1. Sometimes we just have to treat ourselves. When I was unemployed I bought some stuff I probably shouldn’t have…just needed the pick me up. It served its purpose and I found a job eventually.

    I like Peeta too. Gale never did much for me.

    Enjoy your haul and keep reading away. I’m not getting much accomplished in that department, but to everything there is a season.

    http://thebookconnectionccm.blogspot.com/2016/09/musing-mondays-sep-5.html

    Like

Thoughts?

