The Reader Confessions Tag

I haven’t done tags in a while. Well, no one’s really tagging me on anything. But I’ve been watching/reading a lot of them. It’s always fun for me to see what other people’s picks are, what their tastes are life. I also see that as reading recommendations. I’ve picked up a couple of titles from tags like this and I hope I paid it forward.

Although this one tag is not really about what I read but HOW I read. I find it fascinating that people have different quirks when reading. It’s not simply just sitting down on a special chair or your bed or on the floor. I know I have my own habits and irrational “rules” when it comes to my books. So here are some of them.

(I don’t know who started this tag; I just found it on Thrice Read while blog hopping. It’s 11 questions. Not too bad.)

tumblr_inline_mquvzn6e7Y1qz4rgp

1. HAVE YOU EVER DAMAGED A BOOK?
Not intentionally but just general wear and tear. I wasn’t very kind to my copies of A Darker Shade of Magic and Vicious, both by VE Schwab because I put those in my purse and took it everywhere. They are paperback copies and the edges of the spine and cover pages got beat up a bit. But I’m not buying another copy… they were eventually signed by Miss Schwab at WonderCon 2016.

2. HAVE YOU EVER DAMAGED A BORROWED BOOK?
No. And you want to know why? Because I never borrow books. Even from the library. I don’t like reading books that are not mine. Again, why? Because I’m afraid of damaging them.

3. HOW LONG DOES IT TAKE YOU TO READ A BOOK?
3-5 days, average. I would like to think I’m a fast reader. I’m definitely faster than a lot of my friends but I’m nothing compared to you experienced book bloggers and/or booktubers. The most I’ve read lately is 5 books while I’ve seen other go up to 20 in a month! How?! I wish I could do that but between work and the commute, 5 will have to do.

4. BOOKS YOU HAVEN’T FINISHED
I assume these are books that I started but didn’t continue instead of unread books. I haven’t DNF’d anything since Pride and Prejudice and Zombies by Seth Grahame-Smith. But once I DNF a book, I don’t see myself coming back to it. Ever.

5. HYPED/POPULAR BOOKS YOU DIDN’T LIKE
The Fault In Our Stars by John Green. Dang, I disliked this book so much. It soured me for any other John Green book. I’ll stay with his online content.

6. IS THERE A BOOK YOU WOULDN’T TELL ANYONE YOU WERE READING?
Honestly, no. I told people I read Fifty Shades of Grey. If you can do that and be okay with people judging you, you’ll be fine with anything. You just have to be confident that even though you read trash like that, you have better books on your shelf to be read, a better taste in your literature. 😉

7. HOW MANY BOOKS DO YOU OWN
My “own” shelf on Goodreads say 118 but that’s only recent acquisitions. That list doesn’t include the multiple copies I have of Harry Potter and The Lord of the Rings, not to mention the stuff I go before getting a GoodReads account.

8. ARE YOU A FAST/SLOW READER?
Fast. It depends on the book. I’m a very moody reader also. There are times when I devour a book in one sitting but there were times when I spent months reading one book. XD

9. DO YOU LIKE TO BUDDY READ?
No. I don’t want to be pressured. I do like talking about books though. But I’ve encountered some people who read too much into stuff. Sometimes, the words on the page are just that… words on a page. And besides, I’ve yet to find someone with the exact reading tastes as me lol.

10. DO YOU READ BETTER IN YOUR HEAD/OUT LOUD?
In my head. But if it’s loud around me, I might read it out loud just to get back on track. I certainly absorb more when I’m silent.

11. IF YOU WERE ONLY ALLOWED TO OWN ONE BOOK, WHAT WOULD IT BE AND WHY?
One physical book? Hmm, probably Outlander by Diana Gabaldon. Yup. Every time I re-read this, I discover something new.

I’m not tagging anyone. Do feel free to do this tag on your own blog. Please link back if you do. I’d love to read your responses!

2 thoughts on “The Reader Confessions Tag

  1. Pingback: The Reader Confessions Tag! – Having Tea While Reading

Thoughts?

