TOP TEN TUESDAYS | REWIND

I got so many ideas from that past topics spreadsheet, I might not wait for another throwback or freebie week to make another top ten list!

TopTenTues

This week’s Top Ten Tuesday , we’re listing down the Ten Books I Loved But Never Wrote A Review For.

If you follow me on Goodreads (please do if you haven’t already), you know that I do finish reading books but I don’t review them right away. Or at all. If I’m a mood reader, I’m an even moodier reviewer. I rate as soon as I turn that last page over but as for penning reviews, I either word vomit immediately or I sit down and think about it. I don’t always take notes but there are times when I’m in the perfect mood for it.

But more often than not, I don’t review books that I love. I can’t review my Favorites without being biased. You can see that in my reviews of Golden Son and Morning Star by Pierce Brown. And I actually made notes while reading these books, writing reviews for them as soon as I finished them. And still, I was raving and gushing. But that doesn’t mean I love writing bad reviews. 😉

Heck, I’m just a lazy reviewer in general. If I could fill this blog with tags and memes, I’d do that but variety is the spice of life. I will try to not make this list a mini-review extravaganza but I can’t make any promises. I love all these books and I can talk them to the ground if someone would let me. And who knows, maybe someday I’ll write a full review on them.

  1. Confessions by Kanae Minato. How many times has this title been #1 on my list? Enough to let you know that this is an absolute favorite. From the moment I read the blurb to the final word on the page, winner! I cannot recommend this enough.
  2. Lexicon by Max Barry. This was one of the first recommendations I got from the booktube community. I remember Rincey Reads getting this from a book subscription service and for some reason, it stuck with me without knowing anything about it. Years later, I bought a physical copy and is in the running for a reread.
  3. Ready Player One by Ernest Cline. I figured if I were to review this, I will be filling it with so many nerd references that it’s not going to make sense to the average reader. I connected with this book so much; it spoke to all the nerdy parts of me. If you like video games, anime, Japanese culture, sci-fi, and all that goodness, read this. You will thank me later.
  4. Parasitology and Symbiont by Mira Grant. I’ve yet to read the final book, Chimera, but I have it and will get to it before the year ends. I picked up the first book purely out of free shipping necessity and frankly, it was the best book in that haul. Now, I’m obsessed with this trilogy. I want my own Nathan Kim. I might review this whole series instead of per book.
  5. Rot & Ruin by Jonathan Maberry. This was originally a cover-buy. I now own four books in this series, the 5th one is a collection of stories so I’m sort of not counting it as part of the series proper. Man, I should’ve marathoned this series when I started it. Now, I have to figure out when to read the rest in between other books. If you like The Walking Dead, this one is for you.
  6. The Last American Vampire by Seth Grahame-Smith. I reviewed the first book, I liked it. I read this one when it came out and loved it even more. I fully meant to write a full review but I got lazy. That’s the story with a lot of these.
  7. A Darker Shade of Magic and Vicious by VE Schwab. I decided to put them together because they’re by the same author and I have pretty much the same reasons for not reviewing them. I was speechless at how inventive, imaginative, and engaging these books were. The world-building and language… stunning. After reading these two, I went on a hunt for Miss Schwab’s other book. I could put This Savage Song here as well but I… don’t know. I don’t love that as much as I love these two books.
  8. Outlander by Diana Gabaldon. I’ve read until half of the 5th book. Obviously, books 2-4 are on this list too. I feel that in order to review those, I have to set a foundation, something to continue, something to compare them to. I don’t think I’ll ever put down in words my feelings for Outlander. It was such an eye-opener when I read it, totally worth the time and effort.
  9. Nancy Drew and Hardy Boys books. There’s so many and as much as I love them, they will eventually look the same after a couple of books. But I love them nonetheless. I am in the quest of not only collecting all of them but also reading them in order. I have my favorites but no, I won’t be reviewing them any time soon. I have one though, The Ringmaster’s Secret. That made the exception because it’s one of my all-time faves and if you read the review, it’s not really about the book itself. It’s more of a general overview for every Nancy Drew book.
  10. My all-time favorites: Jane Eyre by Charlotte Bronte, Generation Kill by Evan Wright, and The Hobbit by JRR Tolkien. You can’t make me. The fact that I don’t get tired rereading them year after year is proof enough that they’re awesome reads and I love them. You can’t make me write about them.

As mentioned above, apart from #10, I might eventually find the time, energy, and inspiration to write a full review for these books. On the reread maybe? I have good memory. *wink*

11 thoughts on “TOP TEN TUESDAYS | REWIND

    • YES! I do feel that too. Like, the first moments after finishing a book, you’re all happy and you thought it was perfect. But sitting down and thinking about it more, you start seeing flaws and for some books… I just don’t want to think about that. XD

      Liked by 1 person

      • True 🙂 I had two totally different reviewing experiences this month: one I loved but thought about my review for too long and made it almost impossible to write, and another I didn’t love but the more I thought about it the more I appreciated its vision. Funny huh?

        Liked by 1 person

    • I picked ADSOM up on a whim because VE Schwab was having a signing at WonderCon 2016. For some reason, I felt compelled to go to her panel/signing. Best bookish decision ever. 😀

      Like

  1. This is a great topic! I should keep this in mind for the next TTT Rewind because I have missed reviewing some books that I loved. Two of them are A Darker Shade of Magic and A Gathering of Shadows. I guess I just haven’t been in the mood to write reviews about them and I also haven’t managed to find the right words.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I am close to the same way. I rate and mini-review immediately on Goodreads and Amazon, but my full blog reviews are backlogged. I only review books I have GR rated four and five stars, and reviewing loved books is so difficult for me because I don’t want to miss any good points about the book. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Thoughts?

