MAILBOX MONDAY #9 | HARDCOVERS

It’s August already. Wow.

I’m still recovering from KCON 2016 LA weekend. I’m still listening to Davichi and Me Gustas Tu by GFRIEND is still burrowing its way through my head. I can’t believe I met TURBO and there was the highlight of my weekend.

Amid all that, a package from my beloved Book Outlet came. It seems that every time I order, it always arrives on Saturday. So here I am with a Mailbox Monday. (Do they have “blogger friends” also? I mean, the amount of books I order from them is ridiculous. Or oh, read-iculously good!)

I told myself that I wasn’t going to order anything else until the next $5 off sale comes around. But when Illuminae by Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff went on sale together with some other titles in my wishlist, I… just had to.

I had to act fast because a book that popular doesn’t last long on inventory. When I saw it, it has 20 left. I almost picked it up at full price so many times. I’ve heard good and bad things about it and I figured, the experience would not be the same if I were to read it digitally. Now that I have a physical copy for less than $10, I can’t wait to get to it.

To make most out of the shipping, I also picked up Shadow Scale by Rachel Hartman. I recently hauled Seraphina, the previous book in this series so I figured, I might as well pick this one up. Then I also saw The Library at Mount Char by Scott Hawkins. I saw this on a mystery/thriller list and it’s been on my wishlist for quite a while. Finally, Broken Monsters by Lauren Beukes. Another booktube recommendation; when you hear a book about a murder where a boy’s body is sewn on to a deer, you pick it the eff up.

What a surprise to see all four of them are in EXCELLENT condition and in hardcover! I haven’t checked if any of them are First Edition printing (they are!) but hey, when you get hardcover for cheap, you take it. I will definitely read Illuminae soon.

I wonder when my next Book Outlet haul is going to be. Will I go on a no-buy this August? Is it worth it to do that when September is my birthday month and for sure, I’ll be book shopping then? 😄

19 thoughts on “MAILBOX MONDAY #9 | HARDCOVERS

Thoughts?

