MUSING MONDAYS | What did you do?

I haven’t done one of these in a while. I’ve been a-haulin’ left and right that a Mailbox Monday was a more appropriate meme to do. Well, I have yet another haul for you this time too but I like today’s random question so here we are!

Musing

  • I’m currently reading…
  • Up next I think I’ll read…
  • I bought the following book(s) in the past week…
  • I’m super excited to tell you about (book/author/bookish-news)…
  • I’m really upset by (book/author/bookish-news)…
  • I can’t wait to get a copy of…
  • I wish I could read ___, but…
  • I blogged about ____ this past week…

I finished The Wrath and the Dawn by Renee Ahdieh last week. I started on Amy & Roger’s Epic Detour by Morgan Matson right away. I got a chapter in. I do like it and I will finish it within the season, hopefully. However, I couldn’t get the story of The Wrath and the Dawn out of my head. Sooooooo… I dropped Amy & Roger’s and immediately picked up The Rose and the Dagger, the sequel to Miss Ahdieh’s book. I’m a little over halfway done. Right now, I think I like the first book more. Eh, I don’t know… I’m having trouble taking the events of the 2nd book seriously.

As I type this out, my copy of This Savage Song by Victoria Schwab is waiting for me at my house. I think I’m reading that next. I actually planned to finish The Rose and the Dagger yesterday but I was side-tracked by Psycho-Pass and Legend of Heroes: Trails of Cold Steel. Maybe tonight or tomorrow night? I have to do that soon if I want to make a dent on This Savage Song before EVO 2016 weekend. If not, then I’ll postpone that to next week. I’ll be bringing my SGT4N to Las Vegas with me instead of a physical book.

Okay, I bought The Windup Girl by Paolo Bacigalupi last Friday at Goodwill. The rest are from Book Outlet. On my last haul, I have Girl of Nightmares by Kendare Blake. Literally a day after I made my order, they had the first book in the duology, Anna Dressed in Blood, on sale. I wanted to make the most out of the $3.99 shipping so I picked up a boxed set, Mistborn by Brandon Sanderson. I figured, hey… $5 for three used books. Nope, when it got to me, it was brand new and sealed. Surprise! 🙂

For this week’s random question: Name a book that was turned into a movie, and completely desecrated (in your opinion).

The Scorch Trials by James Dashner.

I’ve never been so angry at a book and movie. Especially the movie. The book isn’t that good to begin with. The movie was even worse than that. I feel so sorry for Mr. Dashner. I like him and his enthusiasm when the first movie came out. I just feel so bad when the 2nd movie was a totally different story than the book.

3 thoughts on “MUSING MONDAYS | What did you do?

    • It was like watching a totally different story. I felt so bad for James Dashner. After watching it, it made sense why Kihong Lee was lukewarm when he talked about the movie in the panel I attended.

      Liked by 1 person

Thoughts?

