2016 MID-YEAR BOOK FREAKOUT TAG

MID-YEAR

It’s already July! This year is going by so fast. I’ve successfully fulfilled my 2016 reading goal of 25 books. I actually finished reading 26 books by the end of June. To this date, I have 27 books read. That’s more than the total number of books I read in 2015! I guess I can say that this is shaping up to be a great reading year for me.

I’ve seen this tag floating around on booktube and the blogging community and I figured I should do it too. No one tagged me – I don’t have many friends lol – but I’m tagging all of you. Tags like these help me widen my reading horizons so please link back if you decide to do this tag as well. I’m interested to see what you guys read.

1. Best Book You’ve Read Yet in 2016
A Darker Shade of Magic by VE Schwab. That was a struggle. I was choosing among 3 books – two from the same author and the other… is my answer to #2. In the end, I’m settling with this one. I picked this up on a whim because the author was going to WonderCon 2016. I didn’t know much about it but I was so compelled to read it. I inhaled this book so fast. I love it so much.

2. Best Sequel You’ve Read So Far in 2016
Morning Star by Pierce Brown. This was everything. EVERYTHING. This trilogy has a rocky start but it got so much better in the end. I have no doubt that I will re-read this whole series in the future.

3. New Release You Haven’t Read Yet But Want To
I have three. The Rose and the Dagger by Renee Ahdieh, I’m already reading this. The Star-Touched Queen by Roshani Chokshi, I’ve heard nothing but great things about this book. And And I Darken by Kiersten White, a gender-bender Vlad the Impaler? I’m all for it.

4. Most Anticipated Release for the Second Half of the Year
It’s already released when this post goes up. This Savage Song by Victoria Schwab. I pre-ordered a signed copy so I’m waiting on that to arrive.

5. Biggest Disappointment
I Hunt Killers by Barry Lyga. It has a great premise – son of a serial killer trying to stop his own father. But for some reason, all of his decisions were questionable, the whole thing was very predictable, and there was a lot of filler. I unhauled the book as fast as I hauled it.

6. Biggest Surprise
Rot & Ruin by Jonathan Maberry. I bought books 1-3 on a whim during a Book Outlet sale. It was a total cover buy. Oh man, I stayed up until 3AM just so I can read… one… more… chapter. This was crazy good and I can’t wait to finish the whole series!

7. Favorite New Author
VE Schwab. Victoria Schwab. I met her at WonderCon 2016. I devoured A Darker Shade of Magic and Vicious. I have four other titles from her with another one coming soon. I’m hoping to read all of them by the year’s end. (Her adult books are written under “VE” and the YA ones are “Victoria”.)

8. Newest Fictional Crush
If this included July, my answer would be Khalid from The Wrath and the Dawn by Renee Ahdieh. But for the first half of the year, probably Tom Imura from Rot &Ruin.

9. Newest Favorite Character
I don’t have favorite characters per se… Hm, probably Kell from A Darker Shade of Magic. He’s super cool.

10. Book That Made You Cry
Morning Star! I don’t cry out of sadness. Instead, I shed tears because the book is so gorydamn good.

11. Book That Made You Happy
The Rosie Project by Graeme Simsion. It’s such a feel-good book.

12. Favorite Book to Film Adaptation
To be honest, I’ve not watched that many movies this year. The last one I saw was Captain America: Civil War. Hey, that’s also adapted from comics, a reading material so I guess that’s my answer.

13. Favorite Post You’ve Done This Year
I love my book haul posts! I’ve bought a crapton of books this first half of the year and I love taking photos of them and talking about them.

14. Most Beautiful Book You’ve Bought This Year
Hmm, I don’t know. Of all the books I bought… probably A Darker Shade of Magic and A Gathering of Shadows, cover art by Will Staehle. All the books on my shelves are colored. But the simplicity of these two books are just beautiful.

15. What Books Do You Need to Read by the End of the Year?
All of them? XD Ideally, that’s the plan. But that would mean not going to work or doing other stuff in the next six months. My more tangible goals are:

  • read and own all of VE Schwab’s books released so far.
  • read through all of Rot & Ruin and Escape from Furnace series.
  • finish the Parasitology trilogy – I only have one more book to read.
  • finish more series, in general.
  • read more Japanese fiction.

Please comment with your blog posts/answers. I’d love to read your recommendations. I hope to do this again in December. 🙂

3 thoughts on “2016 MID-YEAR BOOK FREAKOUT TAG

  1. Ah, I enjoy posts like these! I don’t have an answer for everything because I haven’t been reading as much as I want to. I do have an answer for #1: it’s Stephen King’s 11/22/63, which came out in 2011. I love the multilayered narrative dashed with plenty of suspense and, surprisingly for me, some romance.

    P.S. Found you through bloglist.me 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Hi!! 🙂 Thanks for commenting.

      Oh, I went through a major Stephen King phase in high school. I’ve heard a lot of great things about that book, as well as a series on Hulu.

      Like

  2. Pingback: 2017 MID-YEAR BOOK FREAKOUT TAG | Shelf Pickings

Thoughts?

