MAILBOX MONDAY (MUSINGS) #7 | Book Outlet’s Mothers Day Sale

Fourteen books for $30, excluding shipping (which was $9.99). It was a grueling eight hours of carefully crafting the perfect shopping cart with the best deals and best reads. But I did it. Although I did miss out on the Snow Like Ashes deal that came out the very next day. However, I still did enjoy what I got and cannot wait to get into them.

Last week, these beautiful babies finally came in the mail. I finally got that iconic Book Outlet brown paper. It’s so exciting to get book mail and this is the most exciting I’ve been so far. I should have one more coming up before I go on vacation. Yes! I’m going on vacation and I’m gonna need books to accompany me on this long ass plane ride. Feel free to scour through my book hauls and let me know what you think I should bring.

As the title suggests, this is another two-meme post. Let’s get into it!

Musing

  • I’m currently reading…
  • Up next I think I’ll read…
  • I bought the following book(s) in the past week…
  • I’m super excited to tell you about (book/author/bookish-news)…
  • I’m really upset by (book/author/bookish-news)…
  • I can’t wait to get a copy of…
  • I wish I could read ___, but…
  • I blogged about ____ this past week…

I am currently reading Confessions by Kanae Minato. It’s a bit less than 300 pages, translated into English, and is so engaging and easy to read. It’s about a retiring school teacher giving one final lecture to her homeroom class. And in that class sits her daughter’s murderer. This was that one book in my Book Outlet order that pushed me over $35 towards that $5 off. My first read from that stack. And oh, I started reading it at Little Tokyo. Heh.

It’s a short read so I’m hoping to finish it today or tomorrow, depending on how busy I get. I still haven’t packed for my vacation and there are a ton of stuff to settle at work and at home. I’ll be bringing my SGT4N with me as well as a physical book or two. What should I bring?

For this week’s random question: Name a book you thought you wouldn’t like, but ended up loving.

It would be my latest finished read: The Rosie Project by Graeme Simsion. I’m not much for contemporary and I picked this up on a complete whim. I found myself breezing through it and I’m completely in love with the story. I’m dream casting Colin Firth as Don Tillman.

And now, on to the haul.

MAILBOX MONDAY #7 | Thank you, Book Outlet!

Ain’t that pretty. So many books! And still so many on my wishlist. 😄

From left to right:

  • Malice by Keigo Higashino. I fully blame Song Minho for this new-to-me author. The Devotion of Suspect X was such a fascinating read. I cannot wait to read more. I own another one from this author, Naoko, that I bought full price.
  • The Scandalous Sisterhood of Prickwillow Place by Julie Berry. I’m dipping more and more into middle grade. I’m starting to appreciate the easier read without sacrificing complex storylines and rich characters.
  • Days of Blood & Starlight by Laini Taylor. I bought the first book at the One Dollar Bookstore. I’ve always wanted to start this series ever since I received sample chapters of Daughter of Smoke and Bone years ago.
  • Escape from Furnace series: Lockdown, Solitary, Death Sentence, Fugitives, Execution by Alexander Gordon Smith. This was a total cover buy. Kind of like Rot and Ruin by Jonathan Maberry. I picked it up without knowing what it’s about and I ended up totally loving it. I hope the latter happens with this series too. They’re fairly short reads and they look so interesting. By the way, my supposedly Scratch/Dent copy of Lockdown came signed. 😉
  • Confessions by Kanae Minato. I already talked about it above. I’m still on my Japanese authors kick.
  • The Winner’s Curse by Marie Rutkoski. Another series that I want to get into.
  • You by Caroline Kepnes. Finally! This was a booktube buy. I almost bought this full price but I finally found a price that agreed with me.
  • Dangerous Girls by Abigail Haas. This was a “scour through Book Outlet” find. I also wanted to get the sequel, Dangerous Boys, but it wasn’t there. Next time. I’m pretty sure I have more than enough books to keep me occupied.
  • 13 Treasures by Michelle Harrison. This was a recommendation from Richard Denney. I also picked up Liesl & Po and The Cavendish Home for Boys and Girls as per his recommendation.
  • Nancy Drew Mysteries: The Hidden Staircase by Carolyn Keene. Of course, I can’t pass up on a new cover. I don’t have this book yet so I picked it up.

Whew, that’s quite a list! Have you read any of them? I think I’ll be going on a book-buying-ban for a while. Vacation and July’s conventions will sap everything out from my resources lol. And I think it’s about time I make a dent on this ever growing stack of newly acquired tomes.

 

2 thoughts on “MAILBOX MONDAY (MUSINGS) #7 | Book Outlet’s Mothers Day Sale

  1. I enjoyed The Rosie Project…the second book was underwhelming for me.

    I am a big fan of Nancy Drew, but haven’t read those books since I was a pre-teen. I do have three of the books on my shelf.

    Thanks for visiting my blog.

    Like

  2. Pingback: MAILBOX MONDAY #8 | Book Outlet’s Summer Sale | Shelf Pickings

Thoughts?

