#T5W | Summer Reads

This week, we’re talking about five summer reads.

118368

I should have you know that Summer is my least favorite season. I like it chilly and windy. I’ll take snow even… over humidity and the overall heat. Yes, this is coming from someone raised in a tropical country.

Also, I don’t really follow reading “seasons”. You don’t see me set a TBR because I’m more of a mood reader than a planner. When I buy books, I don’t put them in my TBR. It’s the other way around, now that I think of it. I add titles to my TBR then buy them when a good deal comes my way. Anyone else do that?

Anyway, here are 5 books that either reminds me of a carefree summer or I plan to actually read in the summer months. I’m traveling during the first half of June but I’ll be back in time for June 20… the official start of summer.

  1. Amy & Roger’s Epic Detour by Morgan Matson.
    I’m not a huge fan of YA contemporary but I made an exception for this one when I heard that it has playlists. PLAYLISTS! This is probably the most YA contemporary that I’ll get. I’m actually planning to bring this with me on my trip overseas at the end of the month.
  2. A Gathering of Shadows by VE Schwab.
    My 2016 is the year of VE Schwab. I plan to read all of her books (still thinking on that guardian angel one) before the end of the year. I absolutely loved A Darker Shade of Magic and I cannot wait to get to this one. I do have The Near Witch and The Archived series but this is near the top of my imaginary TBR.
  3. You by Caroline Kepnes.
    Ever since hearing about this book on booktube, I wanted to have it. It’s part of my monster order from Book Outlet and checking the tracking information, it’s supposed to come today! I wanted to read this so badly that I almost bought it full price. Almost. 😉
  4. Bitterblue by Kristin Cashore.
    The final book in the Graceling Realm trilogy. I powered through Fire to get to this. But when I started reading it, I gave up after the first two or three chapters. I don’t know what happened but at that time, I just wasn’t feeling it. Maybe now that I’ve read other books, I’ll finally get this series off my list.
  5. The Rosie Project by Graeme Simsion.
    Guess what. I’m already reading it! I bought it on a whim last Friday because I was meeting my brother somewhere and I knew I had about a 2-hour wait. I didn’t have a book so I swung by my local Goodwill and an Australian edition was right there along with the American one. Of course I had to go Aussie! It’s light and funny and quirky. I’m liking it so far.

I originally planned to put Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell too but… I don’t know, guys. I kind of don’t want to read it. I’m afraid it’s going to be too cute and cheesy, too YA contemporary for my tastes. I do have a hardcover copy of it that I got for $0.75 and a nice #bookstagram photo of it LOL.

I’m interested to see what you guys have in your lists!

5 thoughts on “#T5W | Summer Reads

  1. Pingback: #T5W | Summer 2017 Reads | Shelf Pickings

Thoughts?

