Review: KOREATOWN: A Cookbook by Matt Rodbard and Deuki Hong

KOREATOWN: A Cookbook

고맙습니다, Blogging For Books website for this copy.

I love Korean cuisine. Like its country of origin, it’s full of different flavors, colors, textures, and even tradition. Kimchi is the first thing that enters one’s mind when Korean food is mentioned. That or all-you-can-eat KBBQ. If you’re into the whole Hallyu – Korean wave – thing, you might be familiar with more. (Together with my guiltiest pleasures, K-pop and K-drama.)

A lot of Korean food is spicy and that’s not really my cup of tea. But I have a couple of non-spicy favorites – japchae, white radish kimchi, bibimbap, KBBQ, and patbingsu. Their street food is pretty awesome too. I once said that the only time I’ll eat a red hot spicy kimchi is while in Korea. I’ve done that. No regrets. I’m glad that Los Angeles has a great Koreatown with a lot of KBBQ places. There was a time when my friends and I came by once a week, a different place every time. It’s not the healthiest thing in the world but anything is good food and good friends, is great.

I first heard about this book from Seoul Sausage, one of my favorite food trucks in Los Angeles. They won the 3rd season of Food Network’s The Great Food Truck Race. You have to try their Lil Osaka if you have the chance. Anyway, I saw this on their Instagram and immediately, I knew I wanted to get it.

The photos are stunning. The photographer really captured the richness of Korean food presentation. They’re almost good enough to eat! The recipes are easy to follow. Although some of the ingredients are going to be harder to find in the average American supermarket. Some suggestions for alternatives maybe? I wanted to give a few dishes a go before reviewing and so far, so good. Sure, I don’t have 100% of the ingredients but hey, it tasted the same.

The stories make this book more than a cookbook. It’s not only from Koreans, Korean-Americans. From foodies also! If they can’t make Korean food sound good, I don’t know what will.

If you have the chance, do sample some Korean food. If you’re lucky to have a Korean restaurant near you, by all means, drop by for dinner with a shot of soju. If not, well, pick this book up and make your own Korean feast!

Rating: 4/5.

Thoughts?

