TOP TEN TUESDAYS | FIVE STARS!

I’m still feeling the after effects of WonderCon weekend. Boy, I’m getting old. 😄

TopTenTues

This week’s Top Ten Tuesday , we’re listing down the 10 Of My Most Recent 5 Star Reads (Or Ten Of The Best Books I’ve Read Recently if you don’t 5 star stuff…or you could do 5 of my latest five star reads & five of my most disappointing or 1 star reads) .

I don’t give five stars that often. I’m like that one teacher/professor who refuses to give a perfect score just because. I always find something that is worth deducting one star. Or it’s 4.5 but I’m stubborn and denies a book that rounded up star. Eh, quirks… we all have them.

So I only have 5 for you. I can do 10 but that’ll take me almost a year back. This list is going back to November 2015. I happen to have all 5 in print form but no spine photo for you guys. I was rearranging my shelves last night and it slipped my mind. This list is going to be in the order I read them.

  1. Warren the 13th and The All-Seeing Eye by Tania del Rio, illustrated by Will Staehle.
    I am acquainted with the author and I got my copy signed before the official release date. It is a quirky middle grade book about Warren, a boy who is taking care of his family’s hotel. I didn’t give this five stars because I know the author personally. I really did like it. I don’t read a lot of middle grade or books with illustrations (although I somewhat collect them) and I enjoyed this one a lot. Because of this, I’ve started to look into middle grade literature. It’s a good story and amazing art. Go check it out!
  2. The Fairest of them All by Carolyn Turgeon.
    I was just so surprised at how much I enjoyed this Rapunzel retelling. One would think it’s going to be a light read but no… I was shocked at how graphic it is and man, I loved it a lot. Now, I’m afraid that this might spoil me for other retellings. I know not all of them come as violent as this one. One of my favorite classes in university was my Children’s Lit class and I love destroying childhoods with what I learned in that class. 😄
  3. Legend by Marie Lu.
    This was a fast read. Either it’s short or I was sucked in completely by the pace and story. Why did I wait so long to read this book? Now, I have all three sitting on my shelf. I will definitely get to them before the year ends. I heard they also go down the road most YA trilogies go through – awesome first book and wtf conclusion – but I’m willing to stick with it. A lot of people have told me that this trilogy is one of the better ones.
  4. Morning Star by Pierce Brown.
    I could not give this book the five stars fast enough. My eyes flew across the pages so fast because I couldn’t wait to read what happened next. I loved everything about this book, from the author to what a perfect series ender it is. I love it so much that I pledged $100 for original art signed by Mr. Brown and the artist/illustrator. I love it so much that I bought a signed copy of Morning Star (because he didn’t go to Vromans on this tour; he went to Book Soup instead and that’s far from where I live). I love it so much that I bought hardcover copies of the two previous books. It’s not Harry Potter level of love but close. He’s on my auto-buy list.
  5. A Darker Shade of Magic by V.E. Schwab.
    I was reading another book when WonderCon announced that they will have a VE Schwab panel and signing. I don’t know what came into me but I dropped that other book and immediately picked up ADSOM. I spent the next day at the Universal Studios Hollywood waiting for a friend and for the Wizarding World of Harry Potter to open to public. I read a good chunk of this book with the majestic Hogwarts castle behind me. I inhaled this story. I was so immersed. Granted, it was a bit predictable but the writing was so beautiful, I didn’t mind that one bit. And V.E. Schwab is a delight!

By the way, the cover art for ADSOM and the illustrations in Warren the 13th are both by Will Staehle.

The instructions also included the option for 5 disappointing reads but I have even less of that. 2015 was an awful reading year for me and so far in 2016, I enjoyed all the books I’ve read. I pick them carefully. 😉

13 thoughts on “TOP TEN TUESDAYS | FIVE STARS!

  1. So many awesome books on your list, these are ones I have either loved myself or am desperate to read. I absolutely LOVED Morning Star, it was such an amazing end to the series and I wanted to give it a million stars. Pierce Brown gave me everything I wanted from the finale and so much more too. I am definitely going to be adding some of these to my already endless TBR, so thanks for the awesome recommendations!!! 🙂 Here’s my most recent five star reads, if you want to check them out 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I haven’t read any of these but I think I have a copy of the Marie Lu book and also I have a VESchwab book waiting to be read. Can’t wait to get to Morning Start and I’m definitely intrigued by that fairy tale retelling. Must go and add that to the list!
    Lynn 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    • My digital copy of “Legend” sat in my Kindle for yeeeaaaars before I went ahead and read it. I think I read it in one sitting. And VE Schwab is just a master with words.

      Like

    • I thought that too. But it really lived up to the hype. 🙂 I wasn’t too sure with the first book in the Red Rising trilogy but I am soooooo glad I gave it a chance. I got better and better with each book.

      Like

  3. I’m so relieved that MORNING STAR was such a good ending and I can’t wait to read his next series and hope there will be a few returning characters!

    I always hear so many good things about ADSOM and everybody seems to love the Schwab books in general but I still haven’t read one of her books, shame on me… But I’ve got VICIOUS already on my TBR pile and am going to read it this month! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • YES! I’m glad that his next trilogy will be in the same universe. I would love to see cameos from Red Rising. 🙂

      If not for WonderCon, I don’t think I’ll get on the VE Schwab train as fast as I did. And I’m glad it happened. ADSOM was such a reading experience. I hope you have a good time with it too.

      Like

Thoughts?

