MAILBOX MONDAY (MUSINGS) #5 | 12 Books

It’s another book haul. Are you sick of it yet? Because I’m not.

This is another two-for-one post. I have enough for both memes. They can overlap every time I get books in the mail. I enjoy both and am happy to do both. This falls right in the middle of the two because I did get 11 books in the mail and bought one more at last weekend’s WonderCon. Man, the post for that at my other blog… that’s gonna take a while. And I also have bookish news that will have its own post. At WonderCon, I met V.E. Schwab and it was one of the best author events and interactions ever. So watch out for that.

Musing

  • I’m currently reading…
  • Up next I think I’ll read…
  • I bought the following book(s) in the past week…
  • I’m super excited to tell you about (book/author/bookish-news)…
  • I’m really upset by (book/author/bookish-news)…
  • I can’t wait to get a copy of…
  • I wish I could read ___, but…
  • I blogged about ____ this past week…

I’ve decided to go on a mini Graceling marathon and read Bitterblue by Kristin Cashore. I recently finished Fire before my WonderCon adventure. I started a bit of A Wrath and the Dawn by Renee Ahdieh but I wasn’t in the mood yet. I was too excited on my train rides to the convention center to care for anything else. And I was pumped for the V.E. Schwab panel. When I got home yesterday, I saw Bitterblue and had the urge to finish the series. So I’ll be reading that.

Speaking of V.E. Schwab… she’s awesome. Her panel was so much fun. And her book, A Darker Shade of Magic is amazing. I inhaled that book. OMG, it was just so good. I was so happy to know that she’s also a leftie. And a Slytherin! The sequel to ADSOM, A Gathering of Shadows, is part of my book mail haul and it came signed. At WonderCon, I bought Vicious and brought ADSOM with me so I could get them signed. Therefore, all my V.E. Schwab books are signed! 😉

At her panel, she shared that ADSOM was sold as a TV series instead of a movie. And she’s done writing the pilot! She also said that the network gave her creative control; sort of like what Starz did with Outlander by Diana Gabaldon. I like that there’s a possibility of it being a TV series vs a movie because that way, the world can be explored more and stuff can be explained clearly. Condensing a whole intricate universe into two hours doesn’t work for everything.

For this week’s random question: Make a plea for your favorite book.

It’s Jane Eyre. Just read it. 

There’s a retelling just released called Jane Steele by Lyndsay Faye. She has a signing at Vromans Pasadena today. I want to go but I’m too tired from WonderCon weekend. Do I really need another book? But… but… it’s a signing! Y’all know how much I love a signed book. I have to be strong. Sigh. I guess sleep and rest wins over a book signing. And besides, I have more books at home waiting to be read.

As for the namesake of this blog post…

MAILBOX MONDAY #5 | Somebody stop me!

I’m a sucker for free shipping. If I order something online, I want free shipping. Yes, online used book shopping gives me awesome deals but my aversion to paid shipping is counteractive to that. Spend more just so I won’t have to pay $4 to $9 for shipping. Yep. My brain, folks.

Two Fridays ago, I was stuck at work, bored and stressed out. I sought relief from the best place I knew… shopping. My makeup no-buy is effectively lessening my need to buy new colorful things and that urge shifted to books. Hey, a $7 lipstick can by 3-7 pieces of book, yakno.

I stumbled across this zombie series called Rot & Ruin by Jonathan Maberry. I ended up buying the first three books. This was what brought on this book buying binge. I bought from three places. I even had a table cross-referencing prices and shipping costs. Yes, I’m a nerd like that. Book Outlet had great deals but no free shipping so I decided to make most out of the $3.99 shipping for two books. I also looked at my trusty Thrift Books. Spend $10 and get free shipping. Last but not the lease, Better World Books where everything is free shipping. And they had a promo, save 40% on 4+ used books. I got one book from each website… among others.

A Gathering of Shadows, I got on Barnes and Noble already signed. Hey, I had a 15% off coupon and the signed edition was just $17 something. I bought a couple of bookmarks to get to $25 and free shipping. I’ve become so creative. And yes, it takes me HOURS to complete a bookish shopping list. I’m cheap. Let’s face that fact lol.

It took a whole week to get to me. The bookmarks… B&N, you’re insane. All four of them came separately. In boxes. Boxes the same size as a hardcover book. Whut? Why? You can just send it to me in a manila envelope. Or a regular white. What a waste. And oh, none of the used books came in a box. They were all in those padded packets and the orange Thrift Books packaging. I was looking forward to that infamous Book Outlet brown paper but alas, on a bigger order maybe?

Here’s what I got… as if you can’t already read from the photo.

BARNES AND NOBLE:
* A Gathering of Shadows by V.E. Schwab – signed first edition

WONDERCON 2016:
Vicious by V.E. Schwab – signed by author at event

BETTER WORLD BOOKS:
* Rot & Ruin by Jonathan Maberry
* The Madman’s Daughter by Megan Shepherd – I read and reviewed this already. I enjoyed it a lot and decided to get a copy together with the rest of the trilogy. I got the UK edition for $3.99.
Her Dark Curiosity by Megan Shepherd
A Cold Legacy by Megan Shepherd

BOOK OUTLET:
Dust & Decay by Jonathan Maberry
I Hunt Killers by Barry Lyga – what a concept! I’m excited to check this out.

THRIFT BOOKS:
Flesh & Bone by Jonathan Maberry
The Last American Vampire by Seth Grahame-Smith – sequel to Abraham Lincoln, Vampire Hunter. I read this already and loved it more than the first one. No review because I have trouble reviewing favorites.
The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern – another absolute favorite.
Lexicon by Max Barry – again, a favorite. I must re-read this!

Still with me? Thank you!

I have a book-buying problem. But I think my purchases/expenses from WonderCon 2016 put a slight halt to that. 😉

12 thoughts on “MAILBOX MONDAY (MUSINGS) #5 | 12 Books

  1. Wow….nice stack of books.

    ENJOY!!

    As for my favorite book…..it keeps changing over the years, but my very first favorite was Shadow of The Wind by Carlos Ruiz Zafon. And thenThe Thirteenth Tale by Diane Setterfield. And we can’t forget Rebecca by Daphne du Maurier.

    Oldies but goodies.

    Elizabeth
    Silver’s Reviews
    My Mailbox Monday

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: TOP TEN TUESDAYS | Impulse Buys | Shelf Pickings

Thoughts?

