#T5W | Did Not Finish

This week, we’re talking about five books I did not finish.

118368

DNF.

Life is too short to read a “bad” book. There is nothing wrong in DNF-ing a book. I don’t have very many books in this category. I usually tough it out until I couldn’t anymore. Looking back now, that’s time wasted on a book that I didn’t enjoy. Oh well.

But I didn’t hesitate with these titles. I actually have six. One is an honorable mention but I’ll put it in anyway.

  1. The Cuckoo’s Calling by Robert Galbraith. It pains me to have a JK Rowling book in this list. But that just goes to show that I’m a fair reader. While I love Harry Potter to high heavens, I just can’t get through her other works. I tried my hardest but my interest is just not there.
  2. The Casual Vacancy by JK Rowling. Yep, another one. I’m sorry. I even bought this book on the day of release. September 27, 2012. Almost four years later, I still haven’t gone beyond Chapter 7. And I have no idea what this book is about anymore. It still sits in my shelves. But I don’t think I’ll ever read it.
  3. Pride and Prejudice and Zombies by Seth Grahame-Smith. Again! I love Grahame-Smith’s Vampire Hunter books. I wanted to read this one before the movie came out. I actually have the Quirkbooks interactive ebook app. I got about a fourth of the way through but… it was just boring. I didn’t have the right level of suspension of disbelief to buy that Darcy and Elizabeth are skilled in western and eastern fighting arts. Whut? I’ll stick with the original, thank you very much.
  4. Horns by Joe Hill. I wanted to read this because Daniel Radcliffe was in the movie adaptation. Joe Hill proved to be as detail-oriented and tedious as his dad, Stephen King. I just prefer his dad’s style a bit more.
  5. The Bourne Legacy by Eric Van Lustbader. Another book that I wanted to read because of the film. This time, Jeremy Renner. Sigh. I never believed people when they said that “books make me sleep” until I came across this book. I fall into physical sleepiness with just two pages. And I gave this a fair chance. I got about halfway through. Until I just couldn’t. I was falling asleep on the train. And it was so different from the movie. I’ll take the film.

And for my honorable mention:

  • The 5th Wave by Rick Yancey. I didn’t include this on the main list because I gave up on this pretty early. Like… twnety pages in early. To some of you, that sounds so unfair but like with people, there are books that you just know that you will not like. The main character’s voice irritated me instantly. It turned me off right away.

Remember what I said about Life After Life? When a book tells you that it’s time to DNF, listen.

5 thoughts on “#T5W | Did Not Finish

Thoughts?

