MONDAY IS BOOK HAUL DAY | Nancy Drew and Hardy Boys

Happy Spring Forward Monday. Where did 2AM go? (If you’re a K-pop fan, I’m sorry if that hurt a little bit.)

As you know, it’s my life’s goal to collect all Grosset & Dunlap editions of Nancy Drew and Hardy Boys. I already have quite the collection acquired from thrift shops, both physical and online. All the books I got this week are ND and HB. Just how many? Well… 😉

I actually have enough stuff for both Monday tags. For MUSING MONDAYS, I’m currently reading Fire by Kristin Cashore because I have the whole trilogy and I want to get that off my series completion list of 2016. The review for Graceling is stumping me so much so you’ll have to do with these blog fillers until I get that review out of my system.

Over the weekend, I went to the OC Marketplace Swap Meet. I was happy with my large bag of kettle corn but not too far from the food, I spotted a booth selling books – 3 for $5 hardback and 2 for $3 paperback. And the first crate I saw… was an array of blue spines. Hardy Boys Mysteries. I was doomed. XD

This beautiful spread… all for $30. $2.50 per book. The bookseller asked, “Is this all for you or a gift?” I showed him my handwritten list and he seemed impressed. Hah. I first bought six on my first go-around the swap meet. Then as I sat down to enjoy my kettle corn, I decided that it was too good of a deal to pass up. I borrowed $20 from my mom (because they don’t accept cash and I didn’t have much on me) and went back. I saw later that he had Nancy Drew titles in his truck too… but not as many as the Hardy Boys titles.

I just love these books. I’ll have closer pics of the titles at the end of the post.

For this week’s random question: Approximately how many books do you usually read per week? Per month?

Lately, I’ve been good. I haven’t been this consistent in years. I’m averaging 1 to 1.5 books per week. I’m happy about that. I’m nearly halfway through my GoodReads goal of 25 books in 2016. It’ll stay that number even if I (will surely) surpass it.

As for the second Monday tag…

MAILBOX MONDAY #4 | Thanks, Better World Books!

This baby was waiting for me when I got back from the swap meet. Yes, Saturday was overflowing with NDxHB goodness.

Better World Books had a sale… on top of their already crazy inexpensive prices. I had fun picking out which ten titles to get. This was $26.15 for everything. So far, every NDxHB book I’ve gotten is under $3. Not bad!

The books – yes, THE BOOKS THEMSELVES (well, not really but hey) – sent me a fun thank you note:

Hello Catrina,

(Your book(s) asked to write you a personal note – it seemed unusual, but who are we to say no?)

Holy canasta! It’s me… it’s me! I can’t believe it is actually me! You could have picked any of over 2 million books but you picked me! I’ve got to get packed! How is the weather where you live? Will I need a dust jacket? I can’t believe I’m leaving Mishawaka, Indiana already – the friendly people, the Hummer plant, the Linebacker Lounge – so many memories. I don’t have much time to say goodbye to everyone, but it’s time to see the world!

I can’t wait to meet you! You sound like such a well read person. Although, I have to say, it sure has taken you a while! I don’t mean to sound ungrateful, but how would you like to spend five months sandwiched between Jane Eyre (drama queen) and Fundamentals of Thermodynamics (pyromaniac)? At least Jane was an upgrade from that stupid book on brewing beer. How many times did the ol’ brewmaster have one too many and topple off our shelf at 2am?

I know the trip to meet you will be long and fraught with peril, but after the close calls I’ve had, I’m ready for anything (besides, some of my best friends are suspense novels). Just five months ago, I thought I was a goner. My owner was moving and couldn’t take me with her. I was sure I was landfill bait until I ended up in a Better World Books book drive bin. Thanks to your socially conscious book shopping, I’ve found a new home. Even better, your bookbuying dollars are helping kids read from Brazil to Botswana.

I actually don’t mind Jane’s drama but whatevs lol. Isn’t that sweet? (^^,)

I’ll show you guys an updated list once I re-do it and clean it up.

Please do note that I collect these titles. These are not one of those posts where “She hauls all these but I bet you she’ll never read them” kind of things. I’ve already read a good number of these titles. And yes, I will get to them eventually. I might not be this year or the next. Mind you, I’ll be reading these in order. On top of collecting these and my regular reads, that’s no fast or easy task.

(I may already have The Mystery at Lilac Inn somewhere in my childhood home in the Philippines but until I go back and check, I’m not sure.)

 

14 thoughts on “MONDAY IS BOOK HAUL DAY | Nancy Drew and Hardy Boys

    • I was! I could’ve gotten them all if I had enough cash. XD

      “The Miniaturist” was in my 2015 Pop Sugar Challenge. Sadly, I wasn’t able to get to it.

      Like

  1. The Nancy Drew titles sure bring back memories. Mostly because I bought them myself, one at a time, the day after any babysitting job. I remember they cost $1.25 each at the time (late 60s early 70s). I have a few left that I’ll pass on to grandchildren at some point. Congrats on a great buy!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Aw, that’s a nice memory. 🙂 Yes, my first copies were my mom’s and some other older cousins. These books really started me out on this reading journey and hopefully, I can pass them on to my own children if ever…

      Like

  2. Great find! I had the entire collection of original Nancy Drew’s. They were my pride and job and well read. Then my mother gave them away to a garage sale. To this day I never let her hear the end of it. I might start collecting again also.

    Liked by 1 person

Thoughts?

