MUSING MONDAYS | Next!

Nope! It’s not a haul this time. 😉

Musing

Musing Mondays is a weekly meme that asks you to choose one of the following prompts to answer:
* I’m currently reading…
* Up next I think I’ll read…
* I bought the following book(s) in the past week…
* I’m super excited to tell you about (book/author/bookish-news)…
* I’m really upset by (book/author/bookish-news)…
* I can’t wait to get a copy of…
* I wish I could read ___, but…
* I blogged about ____ this past week…

Don’t get too excited though. It’s not some huge breaking news in the literary world. It’s bookish news with a more personal nature.

I’ve finally decided to do a book purge. I am getting rid of some of my books.

*gasp*

I know. It’s been a long time coming. I knew that I had to do this someday but I’ve been putting it off for so long. That time is now. I was attempting to organize one of my bookshelves last night. I had a slew of new acquisitions, as you know well, and I wanted to put them on my shelf. I couldn’t fit them all. I pulled out some, I put some back in. In the end, I just didn’t have enough space. I looked through the books and I realized – no, I accepted – that some of them, I will never read anyway. Not that I don’t like them; I know that I will not get to them.

It’s tough for me to let go of books. Of anything, really. I even kept Funko Pop boxes until I got annoyed and threw all of them away in one go. The boxes, I mean. For books, it’s different. I have a certain attachment even to those that I’ve never even cracked open. But like with the boxes, I got fed up. It’s time.

What am I going to do to them? Don’t worry. I’m not throwing them away. My aunt in Manila has a used bookshop and a good chunk of my books will be shipped to her. I know I can also donate to Goodwill. But I’d much rather send it there. I’m not selling them either. Most of the books I have, I got for free from giveaways or ARC from publishers. As a rule, I refuse to sell ARCs. After I give them away, that other party can do whatever they want with it.

It’s going to be a long (and painful lol) process but I’m determined to do it. I have to make space for my DVDs and books that I actually want to read.

Let me know of your book purge experience. What did you do to them? How many did you unhauled?

For this week’s random question: How do you choose which books you read?

I just finished reading Eleanor by Jason Gurley. Without missing a beat, I started Graceling by Kristin Cashore. No reason. It was just the first book I saw after shelving Eleanor.

Sometimes, I do it that way. Other times, I follow a reading plan. I have two reading plans right now: the 2016 Pop Sugar Reading Challenge and a NetGalley schedule. These reading plans are not absolute. In fact, I try to fit my impulse selections in the Pop Sugar Challenge. That way, I don’t get in a reading slump. Or ideally, that’s the plan.

Thoughts?

