TOP TEN TUESDAYS | Read! Sing!

How did you guys spend your Valentine’s/President’s Day weekend? I just read. Morning Star by Pierce Brown can do that to you. I had to stop with about 50 pages to go because I had to sleep. Yes, I’m weak. I needed sleep to function. But damn you, Pierce au Andromedus!

This week is about music and books. Two of my favorite things in the entire universe. My taste in books are more “normal” than my taste in music, I think. I mean, I don’t mind people looking at my GoodReads or my actual shelves but my iTunes? I think only 20% of that is English songs and about half of that are Show Tunes. I don’t let anyone borrow my iPod unless they want to check out my podcasts. Yep, an overwhelming number of songs on my playlists – across all devices and streaming sites – are K-pop or anime soundtracks. I have gotten weird looks on those rare times I’ve let people play with my iPod. ^_^

Lately, whenever my mom asks me about music on the radio, I tell her, “If it’s in English, I don’t know it.” And it’s true. I was watching the Grammy Award yesterday and I didn’t know most of the newer songs they played. Nor a lot of the artists. It’s the radio’s fault. They overplay so much that everything starts to sound the same. And frankly, I don’t really like a good lot of what I hear on today’s radio. Thank goodness for Pandora and Spotify. I can listen to those free of charge and put my monies to my K-pop.

TopTenTues

This week’s Top Ten Tuesday , we’re listing down the 10 songs I wish that were books!

Let me take this also as an opportunity to introduce you guys to what I like to listen to. Mainly K-pop, show tunes, and older stuff. Hopefully, you’ll see something you like. Music is like a little story on its own. Pair it with music videos then you’ll have a mini movie to go with it. But hey, I still imagine another story that can go with the song. Click on the titles to listen to the songs.

1. Bohemian Rhapsody by Queen.
Do I even need to explain this? We did this as an interpretive dance piece in grade school. This has been turned into a musical, We Will Rock You, together with other Queen songs. Galileo is the main character, Scaramouche as the female lead. So it can totally be written in novel form. With all the retellings and adaptation, I don’t see why not.

2. Fear by Song Minho and Taeyang.
K-pop. K-hiphop, even. This is one of the most powerful songs of 2015. MINO tells of his struggles not only in his career but his feelings about his family. It’s so personal. Taeyang’s vocals pull more emotion into the song. If this were to be a book, let it be MINO’s autobiography. You don’t have to understand Korean to be moved by this song.

When I didn’t wanna see anything
The reason I forced my eyes to open wide
Is because I was just scared
It’s because I was suddenly scared
When I didn’t wanna say anything
The reason I raised my voice
There is no other reason
It’s because I’m afraid, I’m afraid

3. At Seventeen by Janis Ian.
Coming-of-age. Teen angst. Body issues. Contemporary young adult material.

4. Fudepen / Borupen by Houkago Tea Time (K-On!).
A Japanese anime OST. I’m currently learning the words to this song in preparation for Anime Expo open mic. This is basically a “notice me senpai” situation. But she’s singing to her writing instruments. It has contemporary YA feelz of a young girl writing to her crush. It’s so cute.

All right, I’m gonna write smoothly with all my love
So that me and you can be connected by happiness when you’ve received it
I’m showing you my dreams as my characters dance around
Hang in there, calligraphy pen, you’ve made it this far
I’m totally serious

5. Fan by Epik High.
Another K-pop song. One of my all-time favorites. This is another “notice me senpai” situation but on steroids. Obsessive fan behavior if you will. It’s a very chilling song. Perfect to adapt as a thriller.

You are my star, I’m your number one fan.
Baby please, take my hand.

6. Let’s Not Fall in Love by Big Bang.
Yup, K-pop. The only song in the MADE series that I’ve not seen performed live. Bummer. It has a NA/chick lit vibe going on for it but from a guy’s perspective. It’s pretty cheesy but it’s cute. And they sound better in Korean. 😉

Let’s not fall in love, we don’t know each other very well yet
Actually, I’m a little scared, I’m sorry
Let’s not make promises, you never know when tomorrow comes
But I really mean it when I say I like you

7. Jesus of Suburbia by Green Day.
Actually, the whole American Idiot album. After all, it was made into a Broadway musical. From the first song to the last, it’s definitely a story. American Idiot on Broadway left a HUGE impact in my life. I was so into it personally, emotionally. I’ve met so many great people through the show. I actually wrote fan fiction based on the show so I guess it applies to the songs/album as well…?

8. Yanghwa Bridge by Zion T.
Mainly because I want to share this beautiful song with all of you. It is an emotional song about a man’s devotion to his family. Go take a listen with or without translations.

Every morning, he’d leave me candy and ramen
My dad would end his shifts at dawn
I remember the young me, always waiting for his pocket
Mom, dad, my two older sisters
I was the baby of the family, the cutie
I remember those days
I remember

9. Two Cigarettes in an Ashtray by Patsy Cline.
I love singing this song. (Yes, I sing. And play guitar too.) I first heard this from Grand Theft Auto: San Andreas. Yep, I know. LMAO. It reminds me of the noir-y kind of tone. Probably a dark thriller, a wronged woman seeking revenge.

I watched her take him from me
And his love is no longer my own
Now they are gone
And I sit alone
And watch one cigarette burn away

10. 200% by Akdong Musician.
I’ll end this list with a feel-good song. I love all of Akdong Musician’s songs. ALL OF THEM. This one in particular is my favorite. It’s a cute lovey-dovey kind of story line. The chorus goes, “It must be L-O-V-E, 200% sure of that. I want you, really, I mean, really.” So cute!

Yay, I made it to ten. I hope you check out these songs. Let me know what you think of them!

3 thoughts on “TOP TEN TUESDAYS | Read! Sing!

    • Right?! It’s pretty dark. What I love about K-pop music videos is that it tells the story of the song – at least more directly than Western music videos. (That’s a poor sentence, I’m sorry lol.)

      Like

Thoughts?

