2015 End of Year Book Survey

I’m joining the bandwagon in the rush to publish “end of year” blog posts. They’re everywhere! I have two blogs, a Facebook account, and an Instagram. I do have Tumblr but I only cross-post on there. I can barely keep up! Here’s one for books.

2015 wasn’t my best reading year. I’ll be the first to admit that. I did reach my goal of 25 but that’s with a little bit of cheating: a bunch of shorter books, a mad dash towards the end. I didn’t even get to re-read my usuals: Jane Eyre, Generation Kill, The Hobbit. Shocking. But 2015 in general was incredible. So many exciting things happened. Concerts, conventions, anime, travel… maybe that’s why reading was put on the side. Even with a challenge list for reference, I didn’t do all that well. Will 2016 be different? I’m going to try. 

This survey is from Perpetual Page Turner Jamie. She made this years ago and it blossomed into a well-loved survey. I’ve never done it before so here we are. See you in the other side!

2015 READING STATS

Number Of Books You Read: 26
Number of Re-Reads: 1
Genre You Read The Most From: a tie between dystopian and mystery/thriller

BEST IN BOOKS

1. Best Book You Read In 2015? Ready Player One by Ernest Cline.
2. Book You Were Excited About & Thought You Were Going To Love More But Didn’t? The Scorch Trials by James Dashner. Even the movie was disappointing. What the hell happened?
3. Most surprising (in a good way or bad way) book you read?  The Fairest of Them All by Carolyn Turgeon. Surprised in a good way because I had no expectations and I ended up liking it a lot.
4. Book You “Pushed” The Most People To Read (And They Did)? Ready Player One. I will recommend it to anyone that would listen.
5. Best series you started in 2015? Best Sequel of 2015? Best Series Ender of 2015? Started: Parasite by Mira Grant. Sequel: The Last American Vampire by Seth Grahame-Smith. Ender: Library of Souls by Ransom Riggs.
6. Favorite new author you discovered in 2015? Mira Grant. The 2nd book in her Parasitology series is already en route to my house.
7. Best book from a genre you don’t typically read/was out of your comfort zone? Short stories. But I made an exception with Pieces of You by Tablo.
8. Most action-packed/thrilling/unputdownable book of the year? Ready Player One. I have a feeling you’ll see this title a lot.
9. Book You Read In 2015 That You Are Most Likely To Re-Read Next Year? I try not to re-read if I can help it. But since I’m working my way through the Nancy Drew and Hardy Boys books, one or two of those maybe.
10. Favorite cover of a book you read in 2015? Tampa by Alissa Nutting.
11. Most memorable character of 2015? No one really stood out to me. If we’re talking about characters, ask me about movies.
12. Most beautifully written book read in 2015? I don’t know about “beautiful” but Golden Son by Pierce Brown had some pretty poetic quotes.
13. Most Thought-Provoking/ Life-Changing Book of 2015? I had other life-changing stuff in my life this year. And they aren’t books.
14. Book you can’t believe you waited UNTIL 2015 to finally read? All together now… Ready Player One!
15. Favorite Passage/Quote From A Book You Read In 2015? “What a beautiful day to go to Hell.” From Library of Souls.
16.Shortest & Longest Book You Read In 2015? Shortest: Lover’s Muse by Amanda Meadows. Longest: Insurgent by Veronica Roth. Huh?
 17. Book That Shocked You The Most? A toss up between Insurgent and The Scorch Trials. I was shocked at how badly I wanted to DNF both books. Sad.
18. OTP OF THE YEAR (you will go down with this ship!) No one. My OTP of the year is not in books. Look up: Running Man Monday Couple.
19. Favorite Non-Romantic Relationship Of The Year? The Scorch Trials’ Minho with the rest of the Gladers.
20. Favorite Book You Read in 2015 From An Author You’ve Read Previously. The Last American Vampire.
21. Best Book You Read In 2015 That You Read Based SOLELY On A Recommendation From Somebody Else/Peer Pressure. It’s not really peer pressure. I know the author and I got an early copy at one of the conventions I attended. Warren the 13th and the All-Seeing Eye by Tania del Rio.
22. Newest fictional crush from a book you read in 2015? Minho from The Scorch Trials, I guess? He was the only one (and Newt) who made that book and movie worthwhile.
23. Best 2015 debut you read? I don’t think I read a 2015 debut author this year.
24. Best Worldbuilding/Most Vivid Setting You Read This Year? Ready Player One. Yes, it’s still technically planet Earth but everything else about it was different and new.
25. Book That Put A Smile On Your Face/Was The Most FUN To Read? Warren the 13th and the All-Seeing Eye. It’s a middle-grade illustrated book.
26. Book That Made You Cry Or Nearly Cry in 2015? None. Ask me about anime, then we can talk.
27. Hidden Gem Of The Year? I don’t know. Most of the stuff I read this year were pretty popular.
28. Book That Crushed Your Soul? The Scorch Trials. I had such high hopes. Crushed.
29. Most Unique Book You Read In 2015? The Fairest of them All. A fairytale retelling that was pretty good and I actually liked.
30. Book That Made You The Most Mad (doesn’t necessarily mean you didn’t like it)? Illusionarium by Heather DixonI was out for blood on that one.

BLOGGING/BOOKISH LIFE

1. New favorite book blog you discovered in 2015? I admit, I don’t make the rounds as much as some of you. If I like a post on a blog, I follow it or like the post. None in particular.
2. Favorite review that you wrote in 2015? Illusionarium. It was a rant and it felt good to let it all out.
3. Best discussion/non-review post you had on your blog? I love all my weekly meme posts! They’re pretty much useless filler but I enjoy doing them.
4. Best event that you participated in (author signings, festivals, virtual events, memes, etc.)? I went to my fair share of conventions. At Comikaze, I attended a book worlds panel and picked up some of the panelists’ books. I had them signed too.
5. Best moment of bookish/blogging life in 2015? Whenever I could get a review out was a good day.
6. Most challenging thing about blogging or your reading life this year? Just finding time to do it. I got better at it towards the end of the year but it still wasn’t enough. 2015 was just all over the place.
7. Most Popular Post This Year On Your Blog (whether it be by comments or views)? I’m not really about that. If one person reads it, I’m good.
8. Post You Wished Got A Little More Love? See above.
9. Best bookish discovery (book related sites, book stores, etc.)? I rediscovered reading physical books. Yeah, I sort of forgot how much I enjoyed them. For a while, I preferred the convenience of a digital read. But then I suddenly read 4 physical books back-to-back. It was an awesome feeling.
10.  Did you complete any reading challenges or goals that you had set for yourself at the beginning of this year? I read 26 out of my goal of 25. That’s my achievement.

LOOKING AHEAD

1. One Book You Didn’t Get To In 2015 But Will Be Your Number 1 Priority in 2016? A lot. I planned to read so many movers and bestsellers but I settled with easier and shorter reads. Not saying they’re no good. I just wanted to read more of those popular books.
2. Book You Are Most Anticipating For 2016 (non-debut)? Morning Star, the 3rd and final book in the Red Rising trilogy by Pierce Brown.
3. 2016 Debut You Are Most Anticipating? I’m not updated in the literary world.
4. Series Ending/A Sequel You Are Most Anticipating in 2016? Same,  Morning Star.
5. One Thing You Hope To Accomplish Or Do In Your Reading/Blogging Life In 2016? Just to read more in general. I will still put my target to 25 books for 2016 but I’m not restricting myself to that.
6. A 2016 Release You’ve Already Read & Recommend To Everyone: I don’t know, what do you recommend? 😉

Here’s to an amazing 2016, not just in the book world but in real life as well. My 2015 was incredible. You can see that better in my other blog. You can see a glimpse of it in my Instagram feed. I’m so thankful. Positive vibes onwards to the next year!

Thoughts?

