TOP TEN TUESDAYS | Best of 2015

I’ve been horribly MIA. On both blogs, actually. What’s new, right? But I went on an extended weekend to San Francisco about two weeks ago for the Playstation Experience and Capcom Cup 2015. Still haven’t blogged about that but if you follow me on Instagram, there’s a widget to the right, you’ll be more updated on what I’ve been up to lately. The holiday season is not my favorite apart from the change to cooler weather. I like being all bundled up but yeah… personal issues.

One bit of good news though, I bought my WonderCon 2016 badges already! Whoo!

TopTenTues

This week’s Top Ten Tuesday , we’re listing down the Top Ten Best Books I Read In 2015 (you can do it by only 2015 releases,  overall , by genre (top ten fantasy books I read in 2015), etc. however you choose to make your BEST list).

I read 26 out of my goal of 25. Not that impressive. But in 2015, I’ve done so many other things… and re-discovered Anime and TV Show Marathons via Hulu Plus. I did manage one last push during my San Francisco trip but even that was mostly spent watching professional fighting game players battle it out. I don’t know, maybe I’m a bad reader but hey, at least I did get some reading done. Not as much as you guys but it’s something.

Here’s my Top 5. Then I’ll list every single book and probably say something about them too. In no particular order:

  1. Ready Player One by Ernest Cline. Every nerd should read this. Not just gamer nerds, as the title would suggest… every nerd. Even if you’re just into anime, there’s something in this for you. The world building was amazing and the flow of the story felt like playing or watching through a role-playing game. Reading this book is an adventure everyone should take.
  2. Parasite by Mira Grant. Wow. I even enjoyed the jargon. It was that good. Or I’m just a huge nerd. 😄 It’s sci-fi yet felt so realistic. I’m looking forward to reading the next two books in the trilogy.
  3. The Last American Vampire by Seth Grahame-Smith. I didn’t even know this was being done until the day it was released. I picked it up right away and no surprised, I loved it. I absolutely loved the first one. The second one, even more. I like Henry more than Abe and I’m glad that this book is about him. The author did an awesome job weaving history with fiction. Along the lines of Ransom Riggs‘ Miss Peregrine books, there were photos to go with the story.
  4. Golden Son by Pierce Brown. This book/series has polarizing reviews. I’m the same. There are some parts that I think are ridiculous but there are also parts that I think are genius. The first book had more ridiculous but the second one was action-packed, it made more sense, and it was just so good. Book three is coming up very soon.
  5. Dark Triumph by Robin LaFevers. My His Fair Assassin books are signed and personalized. This series has assassin nuns and that should be enough to hook you in. I did like the first book more than this one but it’s still good. I’ll read book 3 next year.

Okay. That’s top 5. That wasn’t so hard. Just 26 books to choose from. 2015 was a good year overall but not so much for books. It picked up towards the end of the year but I admit, I cheated a bit by reading shorter books, those random indie erotica novels. I did enjoy them but still. I wish my numbers are better though. Oh well, there’s always next year.

Here are the rest of the books that I read this year:

  • Stepbrother Dearest by Penelope Ward
  • Pieces of You by Tablo (I love Tablo. I met him twice this year and that was 2 more times that I could ever imagine. He is brilliant both with words and life.)
  • The Ringmaster’s Secret by Carolyn Keene (This is my favorite Nancy Drew book. Bar none.)
  • Insurgent by Veronica Roth (Er. I’m not a fan. But I have no choice but to see this trilogy through.)
  • Rebel Queen by Michelle Moran
  • The Tycoon’s Revenge by Melody Anne
  • Lover’s Muse by Amanda Meadows
  • The Tower Treasure by Franklin Dixon (I’ve decided to read that entire Hardy Boys series.)
  • Beautiful Stranger by Hedonist Six
  • Dracula the Un-dead by Dacre Stoker (wtf. WTF was this book.)
  • Illusionarium by Heather Dixon (No. Just, no.)
  • The House on the Cliff by Franklin Dixon
  • Tampa by Alissa Nutting
  • The Yearning by Kate Belle
  • The Scorch Trials by James Dashner (The biggest disappointment of the year.)
  • The Girl in the Spider’s Web by David Lagercrantz
  • Library of Souls by Ransom Riggs
  • Warren the 13th and the All-Seeing Eye by Tania Del Rio, Wil Staehle
  • The Fairest of Them All by Carolyn Turgeon
  • Miss Peregrine’s  Home for Peculiar Children graphic novel
  • CSI: Double Dealer by Max Allan Collins
3 thoughts on “TOP TEN TUESDAYS | Best of 2015

  1. Great picks! I just added a few of them to my TBR for 2016! I see Ready Player One everywhere but I just haven’t picked it up yet. I don’t know why. Maybe in 2016 I will finally get to it. Looks like you had a great year of reading. 🙂
    Laura
    My Top Ten Tuesday

    Like

Thoughts?

