TOP TEN TUESDAYS | Books in a Series

 

People are starting to say goodbye to summer but we will have 100-degree temparatures this whole week. And they say Southern California has “perfect weather”. I’m a autumn/winter kind of girl and this excessive heat is not doing it for me.

TopTenTues

This week’s Top Ten Tuesday , we’re listing down the Top Ten Finished Series I Have YET to Finish.

I’ve talked about series and trilogies in my blog here and there. I’m not sure if I’m a fan of it but it’s the direction the community is going. Series ensure the author a ready fanbase and even if the book turns out to be crap, they will “auto-buy” it regardless. I don’t have a lot of series hanging because I just don’t want to start something that I don’t think I can finish. But I do have some… especially those that roped me in because of hype.

  1. Fifty Shades by EL James. I’ve read the first and second books consecutively. When I got to the third book immediately after finishing the second, I completely lost interest. I’ve since read better erotica books and who knows… I might revisit this trainwreck one of these days.
  2. His Fair Assassins by Robin LaFevers. I have all three books. In actual book form. Signed. I will definitely get to it because it’s one of my favorite series!
  3. Divergent Trilogy by Veronica Roth. Specifically, Allegiant. I will get to it when the movie comes out.
  4. The Maze Runner Trilogy by James Dashner. Again, movie. I’m currently reading The Scorch Trials because, movie.
  5. Sky Chasers by Amy Kathleen Ryan. I reviewed an ARC for the first one Glow and loved it. Ever since, I kept track of that series. I have the other books in my TBR but I add on to that pile faster than I take off from it.
  6. The Madman’s Daughter series by Megan Shepherd. I loved the first book. It’s creepy and gothic… I need to find time to read the next books in the trilogy.
  7. The Strain trilogy by Guillermo del Toro. I know I said I’m done with vampires but I make an exception with this.
  8. Dollanganger series by VC Andrews. I’m considering just those immediately following the events of Flowers in the Attic.  I think there are 4-5 in that series? It’s a very disturbing and yet compelling piece of literature.
  9. The Ender Quintet by Orson Scott Card. Ender’s Game is one of my favorites the year that I read it. It’s so advanced for it time and the twist in the end was so worth the slow start.
  10. Howl’s Moving Castle by Diana Wynne Jones. It’s different from the movie – which I prefer, gasp – but I still liked the book. My brother has the whole series so I might snatch it off him one of these days.

 

One thought on “TOP TEN TUESDAYS | Books in a Series

  1. I am so curious about The Strain — I tried to watch the series and wanted to like it but sadly didn’t 😦

    Like

Thoughts?

