MUSING MONDAYS | I need a vacation!

But unfortunately, I can’t do that yet. Almost everyone in our office took vacation leave and we’re left with just the skeleton crew. Sigh. I’ll eventually get my turn. Probably some time in the fall. A trip back to NYC is so long overdue.

Musing Mondays is a weekly meme that asks you to choose one of the following prompts to answer:

* I’m currently reading…
* Up next I think I’ll read…
* I bought the following book(s) in the past week…
* I’m super excited to tell you about (book/author/bookish-news)…
* I’m really upset by (book/author/bookish-news)…
* I can’t wait to get a copy of…
* I wish I could read ___, but…
* I blogged about ____ this past week…

I’ve been so behind on everything. Anime Expo sapped out all my energy that it took me a solid week to recover. I know! I’m getting old. 😦 I still have to do a blog post on that even through it’s almost two weeks late. SDCC just wrapped up and in a perfect world, I’ll be making a post about that and not for something that happened two weeks ago. I fail so hard as a blogger. I’m too lazy.

And with that, I’ve decided to challenge myself by reading Kushiel’s Dart by Jacqueline Carey. It’s a brick. It’s a part of a trilogy within a trilogy. I’m reading it on my e-reader and with an actual book. I haven’t made a dent on it yet. My brother said he finished the trilogy within a week so… it’s doable? Then again, he didn’t have anything to do back then whilst I… am lazy and busy at the same time. Oh wish me luck. I mean, it’s been great so far; first 100 pages are kind of slow but I like the mythology behind it. I’m sticking around, definitely.

For this week’s random question: What book (or books) would you take with you on vacation? Why?

I’ve taken a military non-fiction memoir on a Florida trip before. One Bullet Away by Nathaniel Fick. I finished it by the trip’s end. But then again, I read that once every year if I could. Now that I have a couple of e-readers, I can take a lot more books with me. But the question is… do I read on vacation?

The short answer to that is no. Let me be frank, why would I bury my nose in a book when I’m going to a place where I’ve never been before and there are so many things to see? When I go to the beach, I swim and get wet. Not read under the baking hot sun. When I go hiking, I take pictures and resting times are for actual resting. When I go back to the Philippines, I plan to get some reading done but I go back every couple of YEARS, two-three weeks per trip; there’s just so much to do. As much as I would love to read on a long plane ride, it’s awkward to be the only one with their lights on. I’d rather check out the entertainment system.

Reading is a part of my trip planning but more often than not, I don’t get to do it when I’m on the actual trip. I can go through a book easy on my daily commute because I see that scenery every single day. But if I’m going through a new adventure, I’d rather record it – in digital or in writing – than read about some other far off place.

2 thoughts on “MUSING MONDAYS | I need a vacation!

  1. I actually agree with you. I think I would only take books along if there’s a lot of travel involved with nothing else to do. And maybe only one long one rather than a bunch of them.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I brought “Dragonfly in Amber” by Diana Gabaldon with me on a trip to Korea and Philippines last year. I didn’t even break 100 pages after 3 weeks of travel. Fail lol!

      Like

Thoughts?

