MUSING MONDAYS | Special Books

Hello, Monday! 🙂 I have a question for you, are you excited for Mondays? I kinda am. I know a lot of people don’t like it, especially if you had an awesome weekend. But even if I did have an awesome weekend, I look forward to Mondays. For one, Mostly Walking is on at 7PM. And when it’s not, well I’ll find something to do. (I’m currently working through American Horror Story.)

I don’t know. Mondays stand for something new. A new work/school week… moving forward. And oh, Mondays bring thing lovely meme as well:

Musing Mondays is a weekly meme that asks you to choose one of the following prompts to answer:

* I’m currently reading…
* Up next I think I’ll read…
* I bought the following book(s) in the past week…
* I’m super excited to tell you about (book/author/bookish-news)…
* I’m really upset by (book/author/bookish-news)…
* I can’t wait to get a copy of…
* I wish I could read ___, but…
* I blogged about ____ this past week…

Probably Dracula the Un-dead by Dacre Stoker. I bought it last week, just like my previous entry said. But I don’t know. I’ve been busy with AHS and planning to start another anime. Unfortunately, I end up sacrificing my reading time. I usually pick up speed when I’m nearing the end of a book but I’m a slow starter. Sigh. We’ll see.

For this week’s random question: What types of “special” books do you own? For example, do you have any really old books? Any collections based on your interests (eg. architecture, etc)?

I’m a collector. The difference between that and a “hoarder” are very blurred (LOL), at least according to the people around me. I do have a lot of books but there are a couple of “collections” that have a special place in my shelves.

1. Military books especially Generation Kill by Evan Wright and One Bullet Away by Nathaniel Fick. I have multiple copies of both books. Different covers. Different formats. For GK I have: trade paperback, HBO TV tie-in cover that is signed by several of the actors and one of the actual Marines in the book, Mass Paperback tie-in cover, audio book, and eBook. For OBA: a signed hardcover, UK hardcover, audiobook CDs, eBook, and trade paperback copy that is filled with highlights and notes. I’m eyeing a signed hardcover copy of GK, as if I don’t have enough copies lol. And on top of that, I think I have all the other titles mentioned by Nate Fick in his book. 😉

[I saw that a 1st Edition hardbound of Generation Kill signed by Evan Wright and Lee Tergesen goes for about $150. I wonder how much mine will go. LOL as if I’m going to let it go!]

2. Jane Eyre by Charlotte Bronte. It’s a life dream to collect as many covers of Jane Eyre as possible. A large scale execution of this project is not yet feasible as of now but I have a couple that I love to look at and re-read. After all, I read this book once every year so maybe a copy per year? Maybe.

3. I do have a handful of signed books. Some of them, I bought already signed and a good number I had signed in person. Case in point, Diana Gabaldon. I have 5 signed books but I bought 3 already signed. I’m picky with the physical books that I buy. The last time I bought a full priced book, it was for a Robin LaFevers signing. I don’t actually collect signed books; I just notice that the number of signed books in my shelf is growing. Since I attend a lot of events with celebrity sightings, I make it a point that IFF I have something signed, it’s something special. Like when I met Viggo Mortensen. I have every Lord of the Rings DVD format in existence but I had him sign his own book. (I have two. Had I known that he’ll be very gracious to sign stuff for the audience, I would’ve brought both.) I had Alexander Skarsgard sign my special Generation Kill copy at a True Blood red carpet premiere. And I want Tablo to sign my copy of Pieces of You instead of an Epik High CD but… eh, idk.

So yeah, I guess you can call it a “growing collection”, don’t you think?

4 thoughts on “MUSING MONDAYS | Special Books

Thoughts?

