TOP TEN TUESDAYS | Meeting Authors

I’ve been so dang lucky to live in an area with a popular independent bookstore. Vroman’s Bookstore hosts amazing author events including big names such as James DashnerDiana Gabaldon, and Robin LaFevers. I’ve met a few more via red carpet premieres of screen adaptations such as Charlaine Harris (True Blood/Sookie Stackhouse Mysteries) and Stan Lee of Marvel. And the Barnes & Noble at The Grove is easily accessible too. (If only these events don’t fall on a work day, on a working hour…) I’ve met my share of authors, comic book writers, and literary personalities. And I’m looking forward to meeting so many more.

This week’s Top Ten Tuesday , we’re listing down the Ten Authors I REALLY Want To Meet

Or more? 😉 Dead or alive? Well, I’ll keep my list in the “Alive” category with probably some honorable mentions. When I wrote down my list, it was definitely more than 10. I won’t blather about each and every one of them at length. I’ve already seen lists that look similar to mine. If you’re a fan of these authors, you’d understand why I would very much love to meet them.

1. JK Rowling. Let’s just get this out of the way, okay? Okay.

2. John Green. (See what I did there?) Not because I’m a fan of his written work. I love his online content. If I decide to go to VidCon this year, I might meet him or at least see him in person. But I don’t make online content; I just watch a boatload of them. I love his brother, Hank, too.

3. Tablo. I will meet him face-to-face on May 29. Yes, he’s known as the frontman of the Korean hip-hop group Epik High but Tablo is a brilliant wordsmith. I want him to sign my copy of Pieces of You but it’s an Epik High event. I equally love his groupmates, Mithra Jin and DJ Tukutz.

4. Evan Wright. I almost did meet him. A local library held a Veterans event and I could’ve easily gone but I had work. I decided to be a responsible adult. But I’m sort of regretting it now. When will another opportunity come along? Generation Kill is my favorite non-fiction book and I need his autograph on my very special copy. And since we’re talking about GK, I’d like to put Nathaniel Fick on the same entry. His book One Bullet Away is a MUST READ.

Can you tell how much I love these books?

 

5. Ernest Cline. I’m reading Ready Player One (still, I know!) and yeah, this book came out years ago but I would love to listen to him talk about it and how he came up with it. It’s a nerd’s book. Everything from old coming-of-age movies to hikikomori… only a nerd would know.

6. Japanese light novel author, Isuna Hasekura, and also manga artist, Hiromu Arakawa. Hopefully, I can attend the Isuna Hasekura panel at Anime Expo later this year. I loved Spice & Wolf. And Fullmetal Alchemist (penned by Hiromu Arakawa) ruined me for every anime/manga in the world. I just want to know what happened to Mustang and Hawkeye.

7. Pierce Brown. I’ve grown to love the Red Rising series, as absurd as it can be at times. It’s my Hunger Games. I got invested in the characters and I really am looking forward to the 3rd book in this trilogy. There were opportunities to meet Pierce Brown but I heard about the first one too late and ran out of tickets; the second one was on a work day and since I don’t have a car, taking public transport to and from Book Soup was a no go for me… in the middle of a work day.

8. Stephen King. I sort of bonded with author, James Dashner, over a mutual appreciation of The Stand. I even got a fistbump out of it. 😉 I may no longer be updated with Stephen King’s works lately but I’ve read and enjoyed so many of his books.

9. Michelle Moran. I love her books. A little bit formulaic but I love how she mixes history with fiction.

I’m going to cheat for #10 because this person has already passed on.

10. JRR Tolkien. Do I even have to explain? Well, at least I met a relative of his, Royd Tolkien. That’s the closest that I’ll ever get.

Honorable mentions are the authors that I’ve met before and would want to meet again:

1. Diana Gabaldon. I’ve met her twice and she’s such a blast. I love listening to her talk about her craft and everything that comes with it.

2. James Dashner. He’s awesome. He’s so cool. To see him talk about his work with so much enthusiasm makes me want to read more of his books.

3. Stan Lee. I’ve seen/met this legend so many times. It’s actually rather easy to meet him if you attend conventions and Marvel premieres.

7 thoughts on “TOP TEN TUESDAYS | Meeting Authors

  1. Pingback: MUSING MONDAYS | Special Books | Reading Good Books

Thoughts?

