TOP TEN TUESDAYS | Yeah… no.

Happy Revenge of the 5th! (Did I say that right? LOL.) Anyway, yesterday was May 4th so May the 4th be With You.

This week’s Top Ten Tuesday , we’re listing down the Ten Books I Will Probably Never Read.

How about 90% of my ever expanding TBR pile? 😉 I mean, how can you keep up with it? If I take it seriously, I can read a book or two a week but I can add books to my TBR list with just a click of a mouse. I haven’t seen near as many books as some of you have. I’m not a huge fan of YA and know next to nothing about what’s going on in that part of the literary world. I only know of YA authors and their books once Hollywood gets a hold on them. And New Adult? No, sir. That’s one whole genre that I know I don’t like. (I thought YA teens are whiny… get to your mid-20s and you’re still whiny? Sit the hell down and think about your life.)

Upon reading some blog entries, I sense that this could easily go into the “hater” end, both for the book and author. I’m not really into the whole author scene and those books that I “dislike” or “hate”, I’ve already read. So maybe a list of books that I Will Probably Never Read Again? I’ve seen a couple of bloggers do that. But that’s another beast all together.

Also, a handful of titles in other people’s lists, I already read. The Fault In Our Stars, Fifty Shades, OutlanderJames Frey books, A Song of Ice and Fire, The Millennium Trilogy, The Lord of the Rings, a bunch of Classics… that is pretty much my reading list. I mean, I don’t love them all but at least I read them. Yeah, you can say that I buckle easily with pop culture pressure but I got good reads out of them.

So how would you know that you’re not going to like a book without reading it? The cover? The blurb? The previous works of that author? Truth is, we’ll never know. To me, it all comes down to how much time I have to dedicate to reading. And all the points I listed above lol. Screen adaptations have nothing to do with this decision.

1. Anything John Green. Don’t get me wrong, I love his online content. I can’t tell you how many hours I’ve killed watching Crash Course. But after TFIOS, I realized that I can’t with his writing style. That kind of “this is how you must think and feel”, condescending tone works in instruction but not when you’re trying to extract an emotion from readers. I know more of his books are coming out as movies but I’m not interested in watching them. Hell, the only reason that I’m watching TFIOS down the road is Lotte Verbeek. (I’m actually surprised at how many bloggers list TFIOS in their entries. I thought I was the only one who wasn’t feeling it.)

2. Anything Jodi Picoult. Oh dear, I’m sensing a pattern here. My Sister’s Keeper absolutely angered me. It’s a complete waste of time for the reader and the characters in the story. It’s unfair but that one book soured me for every other one of her works. In fact, I did try to read another one… and boy, I felt the same things. No, thank you.

3. The Selection Series by Kiera Cass. I’ve never even picked up this book. I mean, the covers are in trend of what YA cover art is – a random female model in an awkward pose – but it fits the premise of the books. But I remember when this first came out in 2012, I think, the reviews that I came across were so negative. A lot of them were from opinion blogs, not like us little book bloggers, you see. So I got scared. As much as a lot of site reviews are off the roof positive, I can’t get those initial negative reviews out of my head.

4. Walking Disaster by Jamie McGuire. I won an ARC for Beautiful Disaster. Little did I know that this will end up as one of the “best” examples of New Adult fiction. Read my full review about it. I called it from the moment I read it that it was no way a Young Adult novel.

5. Les Miserables by Victor Hugo. Let’s face it. I may know the musical inside and out but the book is just too much.

6. Anything Charlaine Harris. It’s amazing how I managed to get through 5 of the Sookie Stackhouse books. Back then when I loved everything True Blood, I scored a lot of the books during the Borders closing sale. I liked the first two or three but as I progressed through the series, the writing – both for the books and TV show – went down the hill and onto hell itself.

7. Books by YouTube people. Nothing against them. You wrote a book, congratulations. (I’m pretty sure you had someone to help you write 99% of it.) But to me, it’s enough that I waste my time watching you, listening to what you have to say on video. There’s a good number of beauty gurus that I stumble upon have awful grammar and can’t pronounce product names well. I know that’s beside the point but that turns me off so much. Then they go off and write a book about their life, experiences, and tips on how to live a life worth vlogging. Nope.

8. Pretty Little Liars series by Sara Shepard. I never got around to even reading the blurb. I saw an episode of the TV series and it was so fake and I laughed at how ridiculous it was. Watching a serious YouTuber dedicate 20 some minutes to talking about this series of books and shows like it changed her life… I mean. Again, this genre is not my thing so stop recommending this to me.

9. The Jason Bourne books written by Eric Van Lustbader. The Bourne Legacy put me to sleep. Literally. I started reading this then seven pages later, I’m dozing off. Every time. I wanted to read that (because Jeremy Renner) but if I am to read any Jason Bourne books, I’ll stick with the Robert Ludlum ones.

10. Blame this on hype but… anything Rainbow Rowell. I know. Eleanor & Park and Fangirl both sound like good books, and I’m sure they are but they have fallen victim to the hype machine. So many people have talked about it that I’ve become jaded towards them. I’ve come across signed copies that I wanted to snatch up but I knew in my heart of hearts that I will never get around to reading them. I’ve listened to young girls and friends my age and older gush about these books and my reaction to that is, “meh. You never liked my reading list so why should I trust yours?” And it’s true. That has happened (a friend would recommend me one of her favorites and insult my taste in books in one breath).

I’ve said all these. However, I will never say never to JK Rowling‘s non-Harry Potter work. I’m willing to give them a shot no matter how many. Actually, never say never, period. Who knows.

2 thoughts on “TOP TEN TUESDAYS | Yeah… no.

  1. I thought YA teens are whiny… get to your mid-20s and you’re still whiny? Sit the hell down and think about your life. That’s how I kind of figured the “new adult” genre would be, so I’ve totally avoided it and I’m glad for it. I agree with not reading anything by John Green (I’m so over YA, I only caught the very tail end of YA getting popular before I aged out). Les Mis also made my list, but for a slightly different reason: I’ve seen the musical because my sister was in it (as Eponine!) but I didn’t really like it…the production was AMAZING, especially for a high school, but I hate sad things and I found it hard to follow. I did buy the novel a few years ago, thinking that maybe I’d like it better in book form, but there are so many other things that I want to read *more* that I just don’t think I’ll ever get around to it.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: TOP TEN TUESDAYS | The Last 5 Years | Reading Good Books

Thoughts?

